We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bluesky Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bluesky Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bluesky Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016

staff lie when booking we were told a family room ended up in a dorm with 4 strange men also i was there with my 14 yr old and a cple of male friends 1 that was in his 70s as we had got stranded in glasgow so much for the rule 18 to 35 only i felt very unsafe...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Heather M
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

READ THE HOSTEL DESCRIPTION ! The hostel description clearly states 18 to 35 years of age. no families and no grumpy old people! your review is total lies! and to think we felt sorry for you as you showed up in the rain at 22:30 soaking wet, we felt sorry for you so we let you stay with a minor......

Redding, California
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Bathrooms suck!!!! the showed flood, and it smells. Bed is firm, but the floor has tons of crap on it. Only one outlet for the whole room. No lockers that you can fit a pack in. As long as you are only sleeping for 1 night, and don't need to charge your phone, it's great! Can hear what sounds like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jakeyjakerson
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

Ok! the bathrooms are awesome! they have all just been renovated to a top standard. There is a mop to clean up the showers after you use it but selfish people never clean up after themselves anymore. we clean 1 time a day. its not a 5 star hotel its a 1 star hostel and its the cheapest place in...

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

It's not the best hostel in the world, but it's not the worst. And at £12 a night, you can't really complain. We booked a private room for 3. Beds were in the form of a bunk, with the lower bed a double. Beds were very very creaky, and sheets clean (we hoped), but stained. The room comes with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lalls92
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

ok, i dont understand? you strayed before and hated it, why come back? you say everything was great but still a bad rating?

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with some friends while we visited Glasgow, I've stayed in some pretty bad places, but this was new; couldn't tell who worked here and who was just visiting, the rooms were a mess, there were holes by the beds and unknown substances on the lamp shades. We weren't allowed to bring any drinks into the room, not even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard_Fingers
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

I always love these year later reviews buy people who could have or could not have stayed here. The rooms were a mess... Um hey , your sharing a room with other people, we cant control how people leave their stuff everywhere. If we came in the room in the morning and told you to clean up your mess you...

Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Very fun, laid back hostel. The staff seemed outgoing and knowledgable about the city. Only downside is the lack of fridge space. If you get a chance have a chat with the owner Todd, outragously funny dude.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianBigSky
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks mate! glad you enjoyed!

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights in a mixed dorm. It was a nice stay, the staff was friendly and the facility was clean. They had some great painted doors with different themes. And the facility is expanding which is pretty neat. Also, if you stay on the weekend and ask politely they might let you work off your bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berlyn L
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

thanks mate!

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We were here for one night and it was the cheapest place we could find. Great location near the city center and could easily find where we needed to go. Friendly and lovely staff. Rooms and bathroom facilities were basic. When choosing a bed try and get one with a plug

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcuf146
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

thanks for an honest review by a person who knows what a hostel is!

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016

I had a terrible experience at the hostel. I only booked because it was a cheap hostel not too far out. I arrived and was told that because I was leaving early I would not be able to get my deposit for the key back. They said that I could wake up to give the keys back just before 4,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey R
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

Oh Kelsey, this is just not true... You were told reception closes at 04:00, for an early checkout make arrangements before you go to sleep. If you are creeped out to cross the street I'm not sure how to respond to that. Have a great day

Reviewed 6 April 2016

non-functioning shower, uneven floors, steel frame bunk beds you're sure will collapse, torn wallpaper, cramped rooms, thin walls, dim lighting, and doors without handles. no lockers, or any real security measures.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orlando E
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time out of your day to leave a review Orlando You sound so unhappy but yet YOU CHOSE to extend your stay with us........ As you saw we were rebuilding the showers on the top floor so obviously they weren't working, but there are 2 others on the first floor. There are plenty of lockers in reception,...

Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

The hostel is really good and clean, I had no problem with the bed and there is so many things in the kitchen that everyone can use, the only problem is that they have just 2 showers for all the people in the hostel. Internet works really good, the hostel is located in very good place close to Glasgow's city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vannia C

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
554 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
183 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#65 of 96 in Glasgow
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alba Hostel Glasgow
#17 of 49 in Glasgow
145 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
#3 of 49 in Glasgow
160 reviews
Merchant City
Euro Hostel Glasgow
Euro Hostel Glasgow
#10 of 49 in Glasgow
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
IF YOU ARE NOT A BACKPACKER DONT COME HERE YOU WONT BE HAPPY!!!!! Can i be any clearer than that? . We are a 1 star backpacker hostel in the city centre of Glasgow. We offer basic self catering accommodation at the cheapest price in town! We cater strictly to the 18 to 35 age group. so if you are old and cant climb bunk beds don't come here! If you like to meet people and have a great time you will love it here. We will do our best to make sure you have some fun or we will point you in the right direction to find it! We are 150 meters from the best party street in town. 5 blocks of pubs , bars , casinos, fast food, theatres ect. No children allowed. No grumpy old people allowed. if you are antisocial cheapskate who has to update facebook every 15 seconds because you have no idea ho to communicate AFK and only booked here for the price you will not be happy here. All facilities are shared.All rooms are coed we dont have male or female rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bluesky Hostel

Address: 65 Berkeley Street, Glasgow G3 7DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: $21 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bluesky Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesky Hostel Glasgow, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bluesky Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bluesky Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can, get a private room or one with less people...you sleep a bit better. ;)”
 of 5 bubbles Iaps, 30 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The red room is most crowded so book it wen you are with a bunch if not get the smaler room.”
 of 5 bubbles FreddyE_12, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
“there are two buildings. ask to be on the side of the road where reception is.”
 of 5 bubbles aussiebackpackerdude, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“choose bottom beds and away from the doors and lighting”
 of 5 bubbles prashant_menon, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Obviously the less people in a dorm the more likely you wont get disturbed. I slept pretty well in Room 2. Make sure the window is open during the day though, dorms need ventilation! lol”
 of 5 bubbles MrIanM, 13 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5