We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Show Prices
#23 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

943 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 906: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Spent 3 nights in this hotel and had a pleasant stay. Ideally located in the city-centre, the hotel is functional, friendly and charges a fair price. A comfortable stay, I would make only one recommendation, WIFI is temperamental to say the very least. I would certainly recommend for couples, friends and families alike.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria L
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found us good value for money. We are soon to get an upgrade to our Wi-Fi system which will see speeds increase by 10 times. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Alan Taylor General...

edinburgh
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We have stayed here a few times in the past and always enjoy this hotel. We had an executive room which was spacious and very comfortable with a sofa to stretch out on as well. Everything we needed was in the room including bottled water and a couple of Tunnocks Tea Cakes - excellent. This hotel is currently upgrading some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pauwed
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and keep returning to the hotel. As you mentioned we are currently refurbishing our rooms and this does include secondary glazing which will greatly help block out the traffic noise that you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you...

Meze, France
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Have just spent four nights here. Ideally situated hotel, lovely staff, good restaurant and lounge bar in cosy atmosphere! Very comfortable rooms, recently refurbished. If in Glasgow, will definitely go back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary F
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to Glasgow and found the hotel very comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Alan Taylor General Manager

Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2015

We recently stayed in Glasgow for five nights. We were pleased to find that the service was excellent and friendly and our room was very clean, well kept and up to date. We could hear street noise, but it did not keep us awake, and I wondered if the other side of the hall might be quieter. Breakfast could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley H
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Shelley, Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to Glasgow. We are currently refurbishing our bedrooms, which does include a secondary glazing unit which will greatly help with the soundproofing of the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to our new look rooms soon! Kind regards, Alan Taylor...

Fochabers, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2015 via mobile

The hotel itself if extremely clean and very quiet when you get to your room, so a very nights sleep! We dined at the restaurant and found it to be very over priced for the little amount you get. Also, the tables are so close together I'm surprised I never heard the people next to me breathing, because I certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicolle C
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Nicolle, Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you had a great night’s sleep. Though I was sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your dining experience. La Bonne Auberge is a French style brasserie and the seating is set in that style. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2015

I arrived at the hotel and was dealt with by the most awful person behind the reception, no smile, no "hello" just a plain old "are you checking in" then took an age to find my reservation despite me having and presenting my paperwork. Finally given a key to what can only be described as a room that looked liked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GSMITH99
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Mr Smith, Thank you for your recent review. I actually believe you stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and I have forwarded them your review to share with the team. I was sorry to read that you wouldn’t return as this is not the level of service that they pride themselves on. Kind regards, Alan Taylor General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2015

I was here on business overnight and what a pleasant surprise it was when I opened the door to my room, in no way did i believe I was in a holiday inn! The room was immaculate and must have been recently renovated as it was in such good condition. I thought I may had just of been a lucky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for including a picture. You were actually in one of our newly refurbished rooms. All our rooms will be refurbished by May. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Alan...

Lochgilphead Scotland
Reviewed 20 January 2015

We choose this hotel because it was so handy for the city centre, train, bus and of course entertainment. The room was on the small side but everything was there and it was clean and fresh. Only complaint was the tiny washbasin. It looked very smart but water tended to go everywhere. Might just have been me a my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rovinrev
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Rev, Thank you for your 5 star review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Alan Taylor General Manager

Reviewed 11 January 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel's location is good. Very close to city center, restaurants, bars and tour bus stops. It's a little old fashioned but the breakfast is very nice. There is a multi-storey car park in front of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahmet B
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Ahmet, Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are commencing a full bedroom refurbishment next week and we look forward to welcoming you back to our new look rooms in the near future. Kind regards, Alan Taylor General Manager

uk
Reviewed 5 January 2015

stayed here for one night last saturday in the Renoir penthouse suite and OMG!!! It was amazing, so pretty, comfy bed and really lovely pillows. Had dinner in La Bonne Auberge restaurant and again this was great. 5 star service and 5 star food, nothing was too much for our waiter Callum, he was so good at his job! Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ffairfield
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review entitled perfect. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our newly refurbished penthouse suite. Thank you for your feedback and I will make sure to share it with the team. I know Callum will chuffed to get a mention. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future....

370 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (141)
Viewed
Modern Double (25)
Viewed
Modern Twin (25)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
2,114 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Price Range: $99 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Billingham, United Kingdom
Solihull, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“most rooms appear to be of good quality but you can upgrade to bigger if required”
 of 5 bubbles StuartR356, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You can upgrade to enjoy a pent house suite”
 of 5 bubbles brucefarquhar2016, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“take a room nearer the back of hotel as front rooms are on main road and can be noisy fro late night revellers”
 of 5 bubbles kenko666, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask if there is a refurbished one.”
 of 5 bubbles C2541LYmargaretm, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were triple glazed and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles LovesAWine, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay