We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aviemore Youth Hostel

Traveller (14)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (2)
Overview
25 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PR Scotland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
4 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
29
41
23
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
29
41
23
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal areas bed dorm drying room common room kitchen facilities spacious lounge winter skills course min walk per night great facilities quiet location good size stayed here for nights town centre sinks tesco earplugs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and couldn't complain about anything. Price is reasonable for the area. Kitchen and common rooms are kept tidy and the bathrooms are always clean. Staff are also very helpful.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Scott8446
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded 6 days ago

Hi Scott8446 Thanks for the great review and we hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Reviewed November 27, 2018

I stayed here for four nights while walking in the area. I stayed in dorm accommodation and my room was comfortable and clean. The shower was great; warm and you didn't need to keep pressing for water. The kitchen was well appointed and you could...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Christine G
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded November 27, 2018

HI Christine G Thanks for the great review and its great to hear you had a wonderful stay and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan

Reviewed September 26, 2018

I am no stranger to youth hostels, having stayed in them for four decades, and was looking forward to visiting Aviemore hostel for the first time. I wanted a private room (travelling alone on a work trip), and while I baulked a little at £37...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank cg465
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded October 9, 2018

HI cg465 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to see you didn't have an enjoyable experience and will look into the points you have raised with the Aviemore team to see where we can improve our...More

Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Easy to park and had a place to store a bike. Facilities were good - we self catered and had all the things needed. Our room was functional, two single beds (quite narrow) and a set of bunk beds. We all...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Jill R
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded August 16, 2018

Hi Jill R Thanks for the great review and we hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Reviewed August 7, 2018

The youth hostel had everything you needed in terms of the rooms and wash facilities they were all as you would expect from a youth hostel. It is on the edge of Aviemore just 5-10 mins walk from the pubs. All was great except one...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Mark G
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded August 16, 2018

Hi Mark G Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.Im sorry to see on this occasion we haven't met your expectations. We pride ourselves on our customer service in all our hostels and i will discuss with the team at...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Surrounded by woodland, our youth hostel is situated on the boundary of the Cairngorms National Park, a short walk from Aviemore town centre and its bustling nightlife. The youth hostel itself is extremely More peaceful, with great facilities. We are also ideally located for many outdoor activities year-round, such as snowsports, watersports and mountain biking. Most activities take place in the nearby Rothiemurchus Estate or on the Cairngorm mountain range. The area itself is host to a diverse range of wildlife, everything from red squirrels, deer, capercaillie, eagles and arctic hares. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
24
Price range
US$55 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Aviemore Youth Hostel Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
24
Price range
US$55 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Aviemore Youth Hostel Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Photos
Traveller (14)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 nearby hotels
Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
133 reviews
.21 km away
Strathspey Hotel
170 reviews
.35 km away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
243 reviews
.47 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
906 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 67 nearby restaurants
Miele’s Gelateria
29 reviews
.86 km away
Subway
111 reviews
.70 km away
Happy Haggis
541 reviews
.22 km away
Mountain Cafe Aviemore
1,578 reviews
.79 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 70 nearby attractions
Rothiemurchus
802 reviews
1.26 km away
TreeZone Aviemore
254 reviews
1.09 km away
Strathspey Railway
1,219 reviews
.52 km away
Aviemore VisitScotland iCentre
112 reviews
.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marcus P
May 6, 2016|
Answer
Response from HostellingScot | Property representative |
Hi, We provide Continental breakfast at £4.95 per person and packed lunches for £5.50,However we do have a fully equipped self catering kitchen where you can prepare your own food also the town is a few minutes walk away... More
0
Votes
AnimalGirl17979
August 4, 2014|
Answer
Response from HostellingScot | Property representative |
Good Afternoon, Thank you for your query. Aviemore Youth Hostel does provide bedding for all guests as well as a refrigerator in the self-catering kitchen. There is no charge for either of these. Towels are provided free... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Just get a bunk in a shared room. Singles are not worth the price."
cg465
Sep. 26, 2018
Read review
"Twin or quadruple rooms add privacy for couples/small groups without adding much to the price. Bring ear..."
pinkhippy
Jan. 25, 2018
Read review
"winter time best Winter time easier to get twin rooms!!!"
scrumpmanB
Dec. 18, 2016
Read review
"Remember you have to put the sheets on the bed."
JEST66
Sep. 19, 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing