We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

726 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 700: English reviews
Dumbarton
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Stayed for 1 night at the Macdonald Highland and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room was nice, clean and adequate for a standard room. Larger rooms were available at an increased price. The meal was excellent and good value on the set menu. I'll probably stay for two nights the next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirren
General M, Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Mirren' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor I am delighted that you had such a lovely stay with us here at the Macdonald Aviemore Resort, your kind comments regarding your room and dining experience are extremely pleasing to read. Thank you for your feedback We hope to welcome you back to the resort...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel on the 23rd December for a nice Boxing Day getaway. Wasn't sure what to expect due to mixed reviews. I arrived after a 6hr drive and had been told on Christmas Day that I had been upgraded due to wanting a bath and the Murdlich was full. On the booking I was told that checkin opened at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craig3558
General M, Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'craig3558' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am very glad to read that you had such a lovely time visiting our resort over the Christmas period. Your kind comments regarding the room, food services and atmosphere we provide are all extremely pleasing. We pride our resort on providing lovely experiences, and...

Reviewed 24 December 2016

Hotel is set in what used to be the Aviemore Centre but is now just a few hotels stuck in what is a mix between wasteland and a car park. The hotel itself at first sight appears nice and indeed my room was very comfortable. My only complaint about the room would be that the curtains have seen better days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
General M, Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Steven S' Thank you for leaving a review here on TripAdvisor I am very sorry that you found our resort to be boring, and that you felt the room could have used a little bit of touching up. We are currently working on the music situation in all of our venues and hope to have this changed as soon...

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Only one restaurant open, which had a very pungent odour which was unbearable, impossible room service and nobody answered the phone at either room service or reception. Definitely not a 4 star experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
General M, Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Sharon W' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am sincerely sorry that you had trouble dining during your visit to the resort, I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team to ensure this situation is avoided in the future. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

been there a few times had two bad trips one was sorted right away other was fire alarms going off in the middle of the night great hotel fire alarm was due to refurbishment but still got woke up three times that night not fun, but if you want a great night try book it for the thunder in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
General M, Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Robert M' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that you had two previous bad experiences with us, with one being due to the fire alarm being activated during the night. But I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during our Thunder in the Glens event...

Peterhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

My wife and I are just back from a two day break at the Highlands Hotel. We were dealt with promptly and courteously when we arrived;make sure you know your check in time before you arrive, it's 4.00pm here which is the latest I have ever had to wait to check into a hotel. Our room number was 2310, lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blootoonboy
General M, Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Blootoonboy' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our check-in procedure at the hotel, although the check-in may be a bit later than in other hotels. I am sorry that your room sat so close to the A9 and that the traffic noise disturbed you...

Glasgow
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary as we were planning a trip to the Highland Wildlife Centre. On arrival check in was quick, and we were asked to pre-authorise a credit card, as everything would be charged to the room to take advantage of the £10 credit applied to our room. At this time we also booked a reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rugbymicky
General M, Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'rugbymicky' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to see that overall you had a pleasant stay with us at the resort, although I sincerely apologise about the issues encountered at dinner. I am sorry that the waiter from the restaurant did not provide the high level of service we pride...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Can't recommend the pool enough for anyone training for an expedition to the poles at the height of their respective winters. Utterly freezing. How ice doesn't form on the surface is a miracle. Horrendous for families though. Left after 20 mins. Rest of the hotel is decent enough. No where near as plush as it thinks it is. But passable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyberstu
General M, Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Cyberstu' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am sincerely sorry that you found our pool to be too cold, and that you found our hotel to not be as pleasant as it thinks it is. It is unfortunate that you had such a negative experience here with us, and for that...

ayr
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I decided to choose the Macdonald resort for a short break to celebrate our 10 year anniversary, on arrival at the Highland hotel we were immediately greeted with a lovely warm and welcoming entrance and the same from the staff on duty on check in. Our room was just perfect, warm well presented and perfect for relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
General M, Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Alan B' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor First of all congratulations on your 10 year anniversary, I am delighted that you chose to spend this occasion with us. It is great to read that you had such a lovely experience whilst staying here, and that you found our staff to be particularly...

The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 November 2016

One of the many hotels in Aviemore, pretending to be luxurious. To get to your room (in the annex opposite to the reception) you have to go through 14 doors, which are not adapted for people who have luggage in their hands. And the doorclosers are very very tightly adjusted. The rooms are reasonably sized but with heavy and large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marja D
General M, Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Marja D' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor We greatly appreciate all feedback that we receive, and aim to improve by listening to our guests, so your comments are welcomed and we will look to improve based on your recommendations. I am sorry that there is no ventilation in the bathrooms, and that...

506 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (403)
Viewed
Accessible Double Room (40)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (39)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (33)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (41)
Viewed
Family Room for Four (43)
Viewed
Family Room for Three (41)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)
Viewed
Tomatin Suite (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
2.4 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.4 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
685 reviews
0.0 km away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,203 reviews
10.6 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
215 reviews
10.3 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travelers. For relaxation there's direct access to the Leisure Arena, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whiskey bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: $142 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel
Hotel Macdonald Highlands
Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Poor Accessibility for Wheelchair Users or People who have difficulties walking”
 of 5 bubbles kristinam98, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Nice to have a view of the Cairngorm mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles Mirren, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A room in a hotel in the village would be preferable as this place is just characterless and boreing.”
 of 5 bubbles B9653NMstevens, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Dont get one at the back of the hotel facing the A9.”
 of 5 bubbles Blootoonboy, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you get a room in the annex, ask for one facing the swimmingpool. Quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 656marjad, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5