We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very basic room. Old fashioned tv set. Shower - fluctuated between full and a trickle, possibly depending on how many other guests were using theirs at the time. Drinks expensive. Lift only took 4 people at any one time. Many long corridors to find room. The windows in our room were so dirty we didn't really need to close the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaxtaNottm
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor – we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room that you stayed in. It is unfortunate that you didn’t inform us of your concerns during your stay in order to find you a room that would...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is quite old and has seen refurbishments over the years but it is a comfy enough hotel, the rooms are average sized with basic furnishings TV etc. The bathroom is clean and tidy with guest toiletry products provided, however the shower was subject to pressure fluctuations, sometimes the water disappeared altogether. There are two small lifts which claim...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hillcrestroad
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear hillcrestroad Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel accommodating for your needs. Thank you for your feedback on our staff – I am delighted to hear that they were professional and made you feel welcome. Please note that your comments regarding the...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was with a Trafalgar Tour and stayed here in July for 2 nights. Should have realised this was going to be a nightmare hotel from the first instance. The lift only takes 4 people max. My room was down the end of a passage that you had to go through several doors to get to. After going through the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan M
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Susan M Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and had an unpleasant experience. I do wish you would have spoken with us during your stay in order for us to rectify the issue right away and...

sydney
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were warned before alighting from the tour bus, that this wasn't your "Four Seasons' but it would definitely be clean and warm. These would definitely be our trip director's 'famous last words'. The room was dreadful...threadbare carpets, scratched and damaged furniture, threadbare and holey blankets, 1 chair for a 2 person room, sink not fully attached to wall, leaking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chrismSydney
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear chrismSydney Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at our Four Seasons Hotel. We always strive to offer the best service available for out guests, so I am sad to hear that you did not feel this was the case during your...

Markham, Canada
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Rooms are very small and need upgrading. The staff we dealt with were very good, but witnessed some rude behaviour towards other guests in the main building. There was a group of poorly behaved and poorly supervised students there, so maybe they were stressed. The pool was not the best, as it had a low water level. Not sure if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaxjudyStanford
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear MaxjudyStanford Thank you for the time taken to write a review as we always appreciate guest feedback. I am happy to hear that the staff you encountered was welcoming and that you enjoyed the location and breakfast provided. Please be assured that your comments regarding the room have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant department....

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I first thought that someone had made a mistake,the car park was deserted,the reception,public bar area looked like it had been shut down for years.The very aging lift could only take 4 people.Oh My the room,you know that smell you get when something has'nt been aired for a long time,not to mention the worn carpet with holes everywhere. I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmac705
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear bmac705 Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel during your stay – an ongoing investment in the resort will ensure that the we will be able to offer to best possible guest service. Please be assured that all of your comments have...

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Just want to say the staff here are fantastic place is so clean food is great we travelled in group of 6 we all ate well we had a ball drinks are reasonable priced also leisure facilies are great so clean also

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tracey L Thank you for your feedback – it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about the resort and the staff. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future. Gina Macpherson Guest Services Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed here for one night in August. It is one of the hotels in the Macdonald Aviemore Resort. The public areas in the hotel itself are really tired and, at least in the summer, it seems to cater mainly for coach tours. The place was literally deserted when we walked in but we found our way over to central resort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank je22
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Of all the hotels in the resort in Aviemore, the Four Seasons has always been our favourite. It's away from the hub where the screeches and shrieks of noisy children are a constant annoyance. It's slightly 'down at heel' but retains a little style of the place we have visited for over twenty years. A must if you want to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank We_are_Ali_and_Malky
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour - had an ok room - a bit tired looking - some fellow travellers could not access their rooms during the day as management thought we were out for the day. Enjoyed pool. Think hotel needs sprucing up but would stay again,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret G

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
3.3 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
1.3 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.2 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,179 reviews
9.5 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: $129 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Strathspey Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in another hotel in the Aviemore Resort - it will be worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles BronwenD77, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stay away.”
 of 5 bubbles alexadamsa, 23 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The rooms on the back side have a stunning view of the mountain landscape.”
  • Room view
  • Stunning morning
  • Morning haze
 of 5 bubbles canuckshutterbug, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
“4th floor; thru 2 door corridors - and the view was spectacular! and quiet away from the other guests”
 of 5 bubbles debrabM9030WT, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles PeterD808, 2 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay