We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

CancelonUS$182*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$235*
US$182*
Great Deal
US$211*
US$235*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 527: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
 Click to rate
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The biggest dinner in the Highlands is held in the Drumossie, 350 people served efficiently. The service was very high standard. Food was Devine Bedroom was clean fresh Breakfast was fantastic! Couldn't have a bad comment, except for their bar prices they are a wee bit expensive for Inverness!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fbnicol
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From first arriving at this hotel we can't praise the staff enough for their friendly professional attitude. Nothing was too much trouble throughout our three day stay at the Drumossie. The room was large, well appointed and spotlessly clean, and, as the hotel is in a rural setting away from any main road it made for a fantastic quiet nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard G
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for four nights as part of a golf vacation. The hotel was excellent. The location is just outside of town, in a peaceful area among sheep fields. It is quiet, but downtown Inverness is just a short 10 minute drive away for lots of pubs, restaurants and touring. The hotel staff was very hospitable and helpful. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redtide
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've taken groups of university students there several times. It's always a delight -- friendly helpful staff, good rooms, excellent restaurant, and convenient for visiting local attractions, yet far enough out of downtown Inverness to avoid the city crowdedness.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolmmanners
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our first time staying at this hotel and we would certainly recommend it. Unfortunately like the other Macdonald hotel we stayed at in Ullswater, the property has very thin walls so you can hear people talking and watching TV in the next door room so make sure you bring ear plugs! We had dinner in the restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was ok, however the lunch and dinner food wasn't great at all and I expected much better for the price. Just little details like dirty glasses etc as well and the whole place just feels empty. Service was good. But I rated 2 as given its star rating the level of food really marred it for me. My room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wibble12
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this hotel as part of a tour of Scotland. Stayed in room 223 which is located at the end of a wing overlooking the garden, and is very quiet. The food and drink is quite expensive (when booking the DBB package, the £25 allowance will not cover the cost of the meal). Stayed for 4 nights but the dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrisrobbo2013
DrumossieManager, General Manager at Macdonald Drumossie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback via tripadvisor, we are looking into ways in which we can improve the product overall to improve the guest experience. Our dinner allocation is £30 per person and not £25 . Room 223 is one of our junior suite hence the reason of the higher price point Thank you for your comments overall, we...

scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located on the edge of the city so no other options for dinner without a car or taxi. Room was comfortable but the restaurant was lacking in atmosphere and relatively empty. The food was advertised as very good and was ok, nothing special. The waiting staff were obviously bored and were laying for breakfast as we ate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freddielola
DrumossieManager, General Manager at Macdonald Drumossie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback via tripadvisor, we are looking into ways in which we can improve the product overall to improve the guest experience. Our restaurant have been awarded yet again for two red rosette and I'm sorry to hear that you find the food just ok and nothing special . Thank you for your comments overall, we...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel with good facilities. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean and well looked after. Park round the back if you are dropping off stuff for a meeting. Went for breakfast as a non-resident and it cost an eye watering £19.50. Nice place but they over charge!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahmrcj987
DrumossieManager, General Manager at Macdonald Drumossie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback via tripadvisor, we are looking into ways in which we can improve the product overall to improve the guest experience. Our macdonald signature breakfast might sound expensive, however once you experienced this is definitely great value for money Thank you for your comments overall, we hope to welcome you back very soon. best Regards...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel on the outskirts of Inverness. Clean hotel Friendly staff Large grounds well maintained Free parking Nice food but a little over priced in the lounge. Short walk into Inverness but maybe not for the not so fit given the hill top location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee2812
DrumossieManager, General Manager at Macdonald Drumossie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback via tripadvisor, we are looking into ways in which we can improve the product overall to improve the guest experience. Thank you for your comments overall, we hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Zsolt Balogh

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
4.6 km away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.9 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
534 reviews
3.3 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
4.4 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $170 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#11 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Drumossie Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Baltimore, Maryland
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Swansea County, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Drumossie Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 102, ground floor which was TOTAL silence. Great.”
718richardg, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room away from the car park”
Chrisrobbo2013, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the back”
LWtravels20590, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not get a classic double, not worth the money”
sheilak2014, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“1st floor probably be the quietest”
WmB369, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$182* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$211
Booking.comUS$235
HotelQuicklyUS$193
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates