We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,102: English reviews
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We had an amazing view of the river Ness and the castle - it was enchanting. The room was large and well furnished, the bed very comfy and the bathroom very nice. Everything worked, including the wifi. I will say we paid a premium for this particular room- three times the current price we see advertised on TripAdvisor. But we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deb L
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Deb L Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am really very sorry you have left so disappointed following your stay with us. Your breakfast fell below our usual standards, there are usually great reports about our breakfast and it is such a shame to read of your experience. I understand my manager has been in...

Santa Ana, California
Reviewed 24 October 2015

We picked this hotel after looking at Tripadvisor and were very happy we did. First impression was the perfect location right on the river and very close to the interesting parts of the city, including an unobstructed view of the castle. Next impression was the really good service. The front desk handled everything perfectly, including managing our bags, giving us...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Christopher W
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christopher W Thank you, what a brilliant review for us all to read! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we know how precious Trip Advisor reviews are and we are very grateful to all our guests who take the time to post their version of their individual experience - and we love reading them! All...

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Philip O
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2015

I stayed here in a single room with a view of the river and castle. Stunning at night. Staff were so friendly and helpful, the pool is a great facility and was warm even first thing in the morning. We booked in for some massages in the spa downstairs which was just heavenly. Breakfast is expensive but for the quality...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Laura W
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Laura W Thanks ever so much for writing your review. It's brilliant and that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your very lovely comments to all the team and the ladies at the spa. We really appreciate your super compliments and it would be great to think we will see you again at the hotel -...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

I was wandering around Inverness on Google streetmap. As you do. Late October and I'm planning a four day break in the Highlands and Islands, I start with some local research. I spotted the Palace hotel on streetmap and thought: 'that looks very elegant'. I called direct to get rates. The receptionist informed me of a special Autumn package, which...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Matoluk
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Matoluk Thank you ever so much! What a splendid review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to change your room too - we have 89 and they are all different shapes and sizes, we always do our best when we can to change the room for any reason - I'm delighted we...

Ayrshire
Reviewed 21 October 2015

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and paid extra for river view, it was a lovely hotel, handy for the town, but what terribly poor food can't believe such a nice hotel had such poor food, they need a new chef and a scottish one at that!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindaayrshire
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear lindaayrshire Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry you were disappointed with the food and please be assured, all of the reviews we receive are used to improve the services we provide. It's great that overall you enjoyed your stay - the view from the front is stunning! Also, we have a super...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

A busy hotel situated by the river, only a few minutes walk from the centre of town. Room was clean, spacious, nicely decorated and our bathroom looked like it had been very newly decorated as it was spotless. Great pool and sauna and steam room facilities. Starbucks coffee in reception. We didn't have breakfast, so can't comment. Staff were helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lauren K
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lauren K Thank you! Your review is so brilliant to read and we are thrilled you had a great time with us. Thank you for recommending the hotel to everyone, that means so much! It would be lovely to welcome you back in the future - I hope you can make it soon! Thanks again and kind regards, Della.

Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

My wife and I stayed four nights at this hotel as part of an organised rail tour of the Scottish Highlands. We had a double en-suite room with a bed big enough to sleep sideways! The room was comfortable and clean with all the facilities one would expect from Best Western. Evening meal menus gave a lot of choice and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank vanguard1950
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear vanguard1950 Thank you ever so much, what a super review! The organised rail holidays are becoming so popular and are fantastic if you want to see the Highlands in comfort without the usual travel stresses! It's been super to read your feedback about the room, the cleanliness, the meals and the pool and we are delighted you enjoyed your...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This was our first time in Inverness. We chose this hotel and it was well worth it. The Hotel deserves to be called a Palace. The room we booked for 2 adults and 3 children was very spacious. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I would like to make a special mention of the night staff member Darren who was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amit R
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Amit R Thank you for posting your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your first visit to Inverness and your stay here at the Palace. The compliments are lovely, and Darren says thank you very much for his personal mention. Thank you for the feedback about the menu choice and I'm sorry that this left you disappointed on...

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We stayed here for five nights on a coach holiday to northern scotland. The whole building was extremely well cleaned and the staff were all friendly and provided superb service. We had breakfast and evening meal each day which was all of high quality and served in a lovely dining room. Overall, we were very impressed with every aspect of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Basil H
Della E, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Basil H Thank you so much for your brilliant review, we are thrilled you had such a great holiday. Your lovely compliments to all the team are very gratefully received, especially with regards to the cleanliness and the meals you had - thank you. You travelled a long way and we are over the moon you enjoyed your break...

478 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (244)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Classic Double (20)
Viewed
Classic Single (26)
Viewed
Family Room (30)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
River View Double (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
5.8 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 33 in Inverness
471 reviews
1.2 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 33 in Inverness
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
3.7 km away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.5 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 33 in Inverness
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $114 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to reception to get information about the car parking options.”
 of 5 bubbles UelT, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 20”
 of 5 bubbles jimfY4153UU, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“always ask for river view room even if need to pay bit more, worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles neilmN1354VM, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“good views at the front but not so good at the back”
 of 5 bubbles 623duncanm, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we really enjoyed the river view from our room!”
 of 5 bubbles Enemark, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay