We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inverness Youth Hostel

Save
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good38%
  • Average20%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Self-Serve Laundry
Kitchenette
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Inverness Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
33
41
24
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
33
41
24
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorrisons supermarketself catering facilitiessupermarket closebudget staywith en suite bathroomcommunal areasbed roommin walkcooked breakfastexcellent accommodationcity centrefree wifienjoyed my stayrooms are cleantrain stationlejogluggage
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Terrible room overpriced and grumpy staff. We paid over 200 for one night here on the recommendation of a friend. This was for 2 rooms for 7 people. A bit prices for YHA but it's August. In reality the rooms were very poor. Especially large...More

Thank MrAJPage
Response from SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth HostelResponded 9 September 2016

Hi MrAJPage, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,We value all feedback to help us improve the guest experience and will ensure the points you have raised are discussed with the team. Regards Dan

Reviewed 23 August 2016

The SYHA in Inverness is a great example of how to run a large youth hostel in a clean and efficient manner. We had a private room with ensuite facilities and it was fantastic by youth hostel standards. The staff were great, we arrived just...More

Thank OrdinaryJoeandCo
Response from SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth HostelResponded 26 August 2016

Hi OrdinaryJoeandCo, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see your comments and I will ensure these are passed onto our hardworking team and management. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Second stay here and it was good. The beds were rather squeaky but clean which was more important. The en-suite was clean. Great location. Will certainly be return. One of the staff was difficult to understand but we both us patience. Good atmosphere too and...More

Thank Shazmarelda F
Response from SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth HostelResponded 26 August 2016

Hi Shazmarelda F Thanks for the review,We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Reviewed 15 August 2016

If you have booked a hostel you surely know what is awaiting for you. And this one is a fairly good one, a good choice for either solo travelers or families. They have a wonderful kitchen with everything you need to keep your diet healthy...More

Thank ACROSANNA
Response from SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth HostelResponded 22 August 2016

Hi Acrosanna, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you made use of the excellent faciltys,We do ask guests to be respectful of others when opening closing doors and will have a look if...More

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my brother stayed here for one night to see the Loch Ness. It is out of the main city so is in a quiet location (15mins from bus station, 10 from train station) but still has decent links to the loch. They do...More

Thank Charley H
Response from SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth HostelResponded 22 August 2016

Hi Charley H Thanks for reviewing the hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see overall you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$28 - US$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$28 - US$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Inverness Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Ask for a lower floor if wifi is important to you. Signal gets patchy on higher floors."
Read review
"most are dorm rooms but it works well. females are generally separated from males unlike at the city hostel."
Read review
"Try and get a private room if possible"
Read review
"Ground floor is easier if you struggle with luggage (stairs only to second floor)."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing