We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Caledonian Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 491: English reviews
CARLISLE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here nov 28 to Dec 2, travelled with shearing coaches,who were absolutely brilliant. The hotel is located on the banks of loch linne and views from the hotel are breathtaking. Rooms are very comfortable, and are cleaned every day. One small complaint is the tv, it is really outdated. The food is superb, both at breakfast and at evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank RIGGARQ
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a lovely end of November 2016 weekend break with my wife.We had an upgraded room which was immaculate with a flatscreen T.V.,a kettle and tea and coffee was provided.The room had a beautiful view over Loch Linnie,as did the restaurant where we were lucky enough to have a designated table by a window.The food was very good with three... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed at the Caledonian Hotel in Fort William having travelled with Shearings. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them as well as they were pleasant and polite on all occasions. The room had Coffee and Tea available, TV. We had a room that looked out over Loch. The restaurant meals were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank mo7660
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Returned home Friday Evening after a 5 day break to Fort William with Shearings. We went as 2 couples i 70's and 80's .Marvelous value. Catering excellent.Rooms warm and tidy. The staff were pleasant,courteous.very helpful. 4 drinks per person per night. Entertainment (4 nights) was first class. Coach driver (Dominic) very informative and helpful.Very scenic part of the world.All in... More 

Helpful?
Thank dorothy553
CANNOCK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed four nights on a Shearings Coach break. I was travelling solo but was amazed to get a room with a double AND single bed in it. Coffee & tea for three people as well, so I was made up. TV was poor but I don't go 350 miles to watch television. The food was excellent & plentiful & the... More 

Helpful?
Thank WIGGYCannock
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at caledonian hotel fort willam recently the staff were magic nothing a bother. food was reasonable.the only thing that bothered me was the outdated tv set.bay inclusive holidays through shearings are absolutely very good value. whether it is a coach tour or self drive.the hotel is based just over two mile from fort william high street but a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Padris
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and also for your lovely comments on our staff. It's great you enjoyed your stay, apart from our old TV. These are being replaced as we have more refurbishment done so will soon be history. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I are now becoming regular travelers with a coach company Caledonian Travel and have found that they give great value for money. This latest trip was for 4 days to Fort William with a day for viewing around Oban. I must say that the journey along Loch lomond and up through the mountains is beyond compare, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank hunkerslider
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, it was lovely to read. Everybody here appreciates your comments and I hope you continue to have many more enjoyable holidays with Caledonian Travel. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we were on a ground floor room television in room was rubbish it should have gone to tip the years ago asked at the desk no spare available also asked if a tv room was on site no was the reply no games room or books to lend and the room was cold radiator not working food was average no... More 

Helpful?
Thank stuart095
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do still have some very old TV's but we are in the process of replacing these, unfortunately we did not have a spare TV to offer you. We don't have a TV room but we do have a selection of games behind the desk and some books to read... More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely Hotel, Clean well appointed rooms, Lovely view of Loch Linnie, Staff friendly & helpful , food was very good, nice Choice, Buffet style Breakfast including Hot Food. Choice of sittings time for Dinner, can recommend .

Helpful?
2 Thank margaret c
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely review. I'll pass all your comments onto everyone. More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A generic hotel that has updated its public areas but not touched the rooms in what felt like years. Our room was quite basic. TV had poor sound and reception. View of service area of hotel (bins etc) and a deserted house from our room. Soap is the only toiletry provided. Lots of "rules" posted everywhere from "exhaust fan will... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeorgetteCanberra
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we will review them and address as necessary. Our public areas were refurbished this year and we will be following this by refurbishing some bedrooms next year. Thank you once again for your comments. More 

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
4.2 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
4.1 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
486 reviews
0.3 km away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
898 reviews
8.0 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
501 reviews
6.6 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated directly opposite Loch Linnhe, you can admire the fantastic views of the beautiful surrounding wooded hills and mountains from this hotel. Along with the dining room and pleasant lounge area, all front facing rooms offer super views of the breathtaking Loch Linnhe. The comfortable lounge and ballroom host entertainment most nights, often with a distinct Scottish flavour which is perfect for unwinding after a day’s sightseeing or exploring. A number of rooms have been recently refurbished to increase the capacity at this popular hotel and there is a convenient lift that serves all floors. At nine miles long and over a mile wide and with Ben Nevis towering above, Loch Linnhe is one of Scotland’s natural treasures. The hotel is also just two miles south of the town centre of Fort William, known as the outdoor capital of Britain, and here you can explore the many small and interesting shops and museums. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Caledonian Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: $86 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Fort William
Caledonian Hotel Fort William
Fort William Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Caledonian Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For a view,choose an even numbered room.”
 of 5 bubbles 623dennisc, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lifts to all floors”
  • View across Loch Linnhe at sunset near to the hotel
 of 5 bubbles WIGGYCannock, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think most rooms faced the loch and the mountains beyond.”
 of 5 bubbles hunkerslider, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“could not recommend a room don't go in room 104”
 of 5 bubbles stuart095, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room facing the loch”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgetteCanberra, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay