We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cuilcheanna House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Cuilcheanna House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cuilcheanna House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Friendly welcome, comfortable room, good breakfast and oh so peaceful. This family run establishment has all that's good about Scotland. Located in a superb setting with its own mature gardens and spectacular views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank balbirnie1954
Levallois-Perret, France
Reviewed 2 June 2016

The place is just amazing and so peacefull even the cows are friendly. Bedrooms are really nice with a fantastic view on the loch , breakfast is good too. You just don't want to leave... This is a real good plan.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vedefienne
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We just stayed one night at Cuilcheanna House on our return journey from Skye and Mull. Would definitely go back and stay longer. It is a beautiful comfortable and interesting property, lovely setting and spotlessly clean. Plenty of parking. The hosts Mary and Kirsty were charming and entertaining. Breakfast was superb. Richard and Jo Hartley-Booth, Cheshire.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhartleybooth
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this feedback for us. We are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope that you will come back again in the future as we need to continue that conversation about Bonnie Prince Charlie and the windows!

Rijeka, Croatia
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Comfortable beds and a tasty breakfast made our stay in Onich pleasant. House was tidy and well maintained, the seaside windows view was stunning and the area was generally breath-taking. Even though I was there with a group of friends, the place also seem good for couples. If ever again in the area, I'm coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deni V
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will welcome you back to Cuilcheanna in the future.

Reviewed 13 April 2016

Well,you can't get better than Cuilcheanna house,it's perfect,rite down to the lovely shortbread biscuits! Just can't fault the lovely Kirsty & Mary,cleanliness,rooms,location all worthy of 5*/6*.the finishing touch was the cheeky cuddle on departure. Book or you've missed a wee gem!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review for us. We are so pleased that you were happy with your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you both again in the near future.

Peterhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here, our room was very clean, a really comfy bed, some lovely nice toiletries and the homemade shortbread in the room was just a treat . The owners were very friendly and welcoming. Our breakfast was very good, there was a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit salad and the cooked breakfast was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cduncan261
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. I am delighted that you had a comfortable stay with us. We made a conscious decision when we took over the business to have a 'peace and quiet' policy in the bedrooms which unfortunately meant no TVs! We do appreciate that this is not to everybody's tastes, however...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We stayed here two separate nights a week apart -- on our first stay the bed was comfortable, hot water plentiful, the views wonderful (on either side) and the breakfast first rate, particularly the homemade marmalade. Given all of this we eagerly returned the following week only to feel as though our host was in fact Jekyll and Hyde; so...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank singleminded
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for us, however I am sorry that you were disappointed with your second night’s stay with us. What I will not apologise for however, are the inaccuracies in your statement. I do find it increasingly frustrating that people are allowed to make personal comments about us, but we are prevented...

U.K.
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We stayed for 4 days from from 17th to 21st August 2015, We had stayed here last year for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed it, we were not disappointed on this trip. The breakfasts are excellent and the home made shortcake which is left in the rooms each day is delicious. The hosts make you very welcome and nothing is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teluk000
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Stayed here for 5 nights as a base for Fort William, was a little disappointed we didn't get a loch view room but the views from the other rooms are quite nice, the 2 women that run the guest house are quite professional and will go out of their way to accommodate you, Kirstie helped us plan a few trips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We stayed her in June 2015 and had a wonderful B & B. The house is lovely as are the owners. The view and the surrounding gardens are just beautiful. Ample parking facility as well. Nice Restaurant close bye. The included Breakfast was well presented and tasted lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob G

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
3.8 km away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
582 reviews
4.8 km away
Alltshellach
Alltshellach
#2 of 2 in North Ballachulish
80 reviews
2.7 km away
Creag Mhor Lodge
Creag Mhor Lodge
#5 of 11 in Ballachulish
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Glendevin
Glendevin
#3 of 7 in Onich
57 reviews
1.8 km away
Corran Bunkhouse
Corran Bunkhouse
#2 of 29 in Fort William
160 reviews
17.1 km away
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
#1 of 1 in Kinlocheil
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country guest house conveniently situated off the A82 between Ben Nevis and Glencoe. Overlooking Loch Linnhe towards Kentallen Bay and the Isle of Mull and nestling in the shadows of Bidean nam Biam and Beinn e Bheithir. There is an abundance of local wildlife and you may be lucky enough to spot roe deer, red squirrels, seals and otters, and of course experience the rich variety of bird life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cuilcheanna House

Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: $127 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuilcheanna House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cuilcheanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuilcheanna House Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cuilcheanna House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
florida
4 months ago
florida
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cuilcheanna House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles 427pats, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Loch view when you book!”
 of 5 bubbles Jsyliz, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with views over the loch”
 of 5 bubbles PatrickR247, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front”
  • The view from our bedroom window
 of 5 bubbles jimsM6390EV, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a South facing room with Views down the loch.”
 of 5 bubbles balbirnie1954, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay