We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
Start your review of Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on a late season Ben Nevis climb based on good reviews on tripadvisor. Wish I had listened to the terrible reviews as they are closer to the truth. The bed I slept on was comfortable enough but I far from got a good sleep because of the stench within the room. I could not describe the smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

Our hostel closed for staff holidays and winter maintenance October 2016 and re-opens February 2017. We have no record of this guest/complaint in our system. We regard this as a Fraudent Review designed to harm our excellent reputation. It also brings TripAdvisor into disrepute.

Essex, UK
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We found the rooms to be quite roomy and cheerful - we even had a view of the Ben Nevis peak from the skylight. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms clean. There is a lot of information about the surrounding area at the hostel, and Jo & Daniel are happy to offer advice on getting about. The public rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HalfCenturian
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our lovely hostel. All the best.

Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Not bad for an overnight stay but overall my feeling was the whole hostel was pretty cramped. Bathrooms need more shelf space so you don't have to put your stuff on the dirty, wet floor. Dorm wasn't bad but my friend's pillow was wet! Seemed like nice people that ran it though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 705westy
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Our stay was only one night but Chase The Wild Goose catered for our every need. Very well set up hostel with helpful friendly staff. It is a little way out of town but a reasonable bus service has a stop nearby. Great value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmesse_959319
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at our hostel. It was lovely to meet you and we are happy you had a good time. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 24 October 2016

Rooms were spacious and beds comfortable. Only one shower working when we were there but that wasn't much of an inconvenience as check out was 10am. Comfortable lounge with plenty of sofas. Large dining area meant my party of 12 were seated together and still room for others who wanted to eat at same time. Great having fridge for guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josie W
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

Great having you and your group to stay. Our all-you-can-eat breakfasts, though simple, are very popular. Hope to see you again.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I stayed in the wild goose hostel this summer after a bit trouble to find it (didnt see the signs in the beginning). The hostel was clean, the dining area looked welcoming with the big windows and the lounge been really cosy. Also there are figurines of geese all over the hostel, quite cute. I was suprised that the showers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taratiger
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

It was lovely having you to stay and it's. Dry nice to know you enjoyed your stay. All the best.

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We were supposed to stay there one night, we were having a car trip through different cities in Scontland. It was the first time for us traveling in Scontland, we took the wrong road by accident and we came there half an hour late. The girl at the reception was rude and she didn't let us in. She just kicked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabrizio S
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

See previous review and response. Utter nonsense from someone who did not stay, or experience our excellent hostel and meet our friendly staff in person. Reviewers such as this are a growing number who threaten to leave poor reviews if they don't reveive a refund when cancelling late or who fail to show during Opening hours.

Reviewed 8 October 2016

Surprised at some of the negative reviews on here. This is a hostel which charges less than £20 a night for a dorm room and breakfast, free wifi and free fantastic views of the ben. Communal areas are clean, tidy and well furnished and the kitchen was spotless. It may be a little out of town but the places of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alasdair C
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind and candid 5 star review and your observations on the negative reviews we have recently received. All the best.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The staff at the establishment are rude, and unhelpful. I would recommend avoiding this establishment on the basis of their poor business practices. I have stayed at many hostels and hotels and have never dealt with one like this; Put simply, you're better off elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross H
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

True to your word, you have followed through on your threat to write us a 'terrible' review if we did not award you a refund if you cancelled with us. We see you left a similar review of the establishment you had cancelled for your previous night in the area. We appreciate all reviews written in good faith. However, yours...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

You get what you pay for, this was good value, toast and tea for breakfast was included, common areas were spacious and clean.2 Nice pubs within waking distance and the locks were interesting to watch.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review Paul. All the best.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3.2 km away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
215 reviews
6.3 km away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
518 reviews
0.1 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
622 reviews
3.2 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You can now enjoy a FREE Breakfast and FREE Wi-Fi at this fantastic hostel near Ben Nevis. Great accommodation for walkers, climbers, backpackers and families. Enjoy a break to the Scottish Highlands. Be inspired by fantastic views of Ben Nevis. Take an evening walk along the banks of the Caledonian Canal and Neptune's Staircase. Above all, share your experiences with like-minded travelers. Quality hostel accommodation sleeping 42. Meals available nearby, with kitchen facilities in-house. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: $30 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chase The Wild Goose Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Chase The Wild Goose Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chase The Wild Goose Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chase The Wild Goose Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take an extension lead for charging phones etc, there aren't many sockets in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyPandy298, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not go.”
 of 5 bubbles P7831RTamyr, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Didn't see any of the other rooms but the Tiree room is an eight berth that can get quite warm in the night.”
 of 5 bubbles clndnlrxtn, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the stairwell.”
 of 5 bubbles J9697EDstevem, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms all seemed about the same.”
 of 5 bubbles Shoregate, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5