We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Bank House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyle of Lochalsh
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Old Bank House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Bank House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Saar Area / Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We (that's my wife and our 6 year old daughter) stayed in the Old Bank House for 3 nights during our holiday in Scotland. As we arrived we were very warm welcomed and had the possibilty to choose for our breakfast for the next morning. Everything was as arranged - perfect. Nice large room, shower in it. Sally and Michael... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris1987
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2009

After a fantastic visit last July we returned last minute for one night when the rain defeated our camping plans. We decided to check if the place we'd had such an enjoyable stay in last year was available and, with no prior notice, they found room for us and made us feel very welcome. The room was well presented and... More 

Helpful?
Thank cherrypie81
Barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We spent two nights with this lovely family and we wish we could have stayed for a longer time. We had a very warm welcome and the house was great, very comfortable and very well situated next to the bus and train stations and restaurants. And the breakfast, mmmm... What to say about the family? They are just great! They... More 

Helpful?
Thank Xavi88
Stonehaven
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The location to the Old Bank House was ideal it was close to the train and bus station. Central to several lovely restaurants. The food at the Old Bank House was outstanding; fresh with very generous servings and the selection of food for breakfast was exceptional. Service was excellent and the proprieters couldn't do enough to help and always with... More 

Helpful?
Thank ArielStonehaven
Hessen
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2009

The stay at the old bank house was one of the best of our stay in scotland. The breakfast was one of the best we ever get at our holiday (and we traveled around the whole scotland). The room was clean and the breakfast was fresh cooked very individual. Congratulations to Mike and Sally. Youl'll do a very good job.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fussi71
North Wales
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2009

I have to say that I travel throughout the UK a lot and I have never had the level of service that we received from the owners of the Old Bank House. The location is perfect for holiday makers, travellers and proffesionals, with the train station very close. The rooms are very clean & comfortable with tea and coffee making... More 

Helpful?
Thank ILoveToTravel14
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

What can I say without upsetting anyone? The accommodation was clean, the bed comfortable, our hosts friendly, very friendly. They wanted payment, cash up front. Some story about credit card machine faulty for months, moaning that they were still paying for it but could be bothered to get it fixed…. Room not en-suite but this didn’t seem to matter initially,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank exdragonsden
sallywhite, Owner at The Old Bank House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not have a nice stay with us. We canot identify you? What date did you stay? The chip and pin was not a 'Story' and we have spoken to our Machine provider and drawn their attention to your review regarding the machine. As to the breakfast, what can we say, apart from to... More 

york
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Communication in the first place , spot on , requests for pack up for following day ( no time to buy in between arriving and leaving ) great , request for 5-30 breakfast , no problem , spotlessley clean accomodation and last but not least , friendly . Not many places i,ve stayed in could tick all these boxes and... More 

Helpful?
Thank diverpeteYork
olney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Our hosts were an eccentric couple dressed in dirty T shirts who told us their life story in the first five minutes. Although we were asked what we would like for breakfast when it arrived it was a plate of greasy stodge, no choice.Tea was poured from a communal pot. Thank goodness we didn't opt for an evening meal. Room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank chancel
sallywhite, Owner at The Old Bank House, responded to this review

Firstly we were sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. You arrived quite early, before normal check in time when we were busy with our change- over. You were offered lifts to the nearby Castle, fresh Haggis from the local butcher's etc. etc. I apologised for the bathrooms being busy in the peak season and you said there... More 

Basel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2009

it was a pleasure to meet you at your cute home. Thank you also for all the suggestions, whitch made the trip touring the isle of skye simpler. And Mike, you really did the worlds best breakfast :o) take care and best wishes, Dominik & Martina

Helpful?
1 Thank luchs79

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyle of Lochalsh
0.1 km away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
313 reviews
0.1 km away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
219 reviews
1.0 km away
White Heather Hotel
White Heather Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyleakin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
197 reviews
2.2 km away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
344 reviews
15.9 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Bank House Kyle of Lochalsh friendly family run Bed and Breakfast. We are conveniently located in the HEART of Kyle village. Opposite the old slipway bus station and 3 minutes by car from Kyle Railway Station (If you are traveling by train please arrange your free pick-up. All our Guest's have a choice of ALL our optional Tours to many places on the Mainland and now including the Isle of Skye. Guest's Lounge offers an ambiance which compliments your holiday or business experience in the Highlands and Islands. OPEN ALL YEAR ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Bank House

Address: Old Bank House Main Street, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Kyle of Lochalsh
Price Range: $84 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Old Bank House Hotel Kyle Of Lochalsh
The Old Bank House Kyle Of Lochalsh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Bank House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Bank House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 1 view's of the loch”
 of 5 bubbles 767Donna, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The family room in the front looked out at the water and the castle across the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles ljwaugh1, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 had a great view”
 of 5 bubbles DereknCath, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Rooms with seaview - very nice”
 of 5 bubbles grossk2015, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Go to another b&b”
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles S6721NOkellyh, 2 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5