We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Braeval Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Braeval Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Braeval Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Well positioned in lovely Nairn, though parking not easy. Friendly staff and delicious food. Simple rooms, clean and small. "Old fashioned" feel. Comfortable bed though prefer wider than 4'6"! Short walk to lovely beach.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clareg507
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Parking is free on street parking but can be busy at meal times (as our restaurant is very popular) but there is also a free open air car park at rear of hotel which takes about 100 cars (normally empty).

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Room was spacious for a single room, bed comfortable, shower pressure could of been better but that was a minor point. Cleanliness was good, bar was good, never had food day time so can't comment. Breakfast ok prefer buffet style breakfasts. Overall would stay again if in Nairn.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewed 31 October 2016

Had a good stay,lovely view over Moray firth,bedroom a wee bit dusty in places and small en suite but overal good, beds very comfy,nice tea tray,breakfast lovely with good choices,didn't eat there at night so can't comment on that,but we did have a lovely meal at its sisters hotel the Havelock,defiantly would recommend and will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

It's always good to hear that a guest will recommend our hotel and return. Thank you.

New York
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk, 20 minutes if you're dragging luggage and dawdle, from the rail station. You can check out the best route on the map at the rail station. (The taxi may or may not be there). The view of the Moray Firth is absolutely stunning if you are lucky enough to have a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nanook780
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and comprehensive description which I hope is useful to others. I'm so glad you enjoyed the Braeval

Banchory, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

My mother and I visited Nairn as we usually do at least once a year and we chose the Braeval Hotel this time! The staff were lovely, very helpful and very polite! The room was comfy and food was amazing especially breakfast!! Lovely view onto the beach at breakfast time! Would deffo chose this hotel again, great atmosphere all around!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire_Marshall_x
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much. I'm glad you both enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 29 October 2016

The Braeval is located just off the roundabout in Nairn. Easy to find. Across the street is a large park with the North Sea just beyond that, offering a wonderful view and good walk. The hotel has a pub and restaurant on the ground floor. Parking was free. As a solo traveler, my ensuite room was larger than expected and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely, detailed review. I'm so pleased to hear that you would like to return.

Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This hotel totally reminded me of the one in Faulty Towers. There wasn't a lift so we had to hump our heavy bags up a windy staircase to our room on the second floor. The view from our room was the best part of the hotel with the bar and breakfast nook coming in second. The hotel was quite old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marci C
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

The Braeval is a Victorian Villa and is advertised as a Pub Hotel. Rooms are reasonably priced in accordance with what we offer and all facilities are clearly explain on our website (e.g. states that we do not have a lift). It's extremely unfair to compare our award winning Highland Pub of the Year Hotel to "Fawlty Towers" simply for...

Perthshire, Scotland
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We had room 7 which looks onto the bandstand and the sea beyond. A lovely bright room. From the welcome on arriving to us checking out the staff were so friendly and professional. We had dinner and breakfast and both meals were well cooked and of good quality. The area around Nairn is lovely and lots to see and do.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geminicat-67
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind remarks. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I got told about this hotel after we had booked else where, but we were told to go and have a drink here and something to eat. It was so surprising as from the outside the place doesn't look much, but the staff are friendly nothing to much. You must ask for the whiskey list and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redwithington
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

It's always nice to hear good feedback and to know that a customer would like to return. Thank you.

scotland
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Bedroom in desperate need of update. Decor terrible and shabby. Poor furnishings, not matching. Shower very poor, hardly warm, toilet roll broken. Good location, but in desperate need of general upgrade, particularly in bedroom number 3 (single) Staff very friendly , particularly breakfast staff. Poor parking, on street (had to park a good 5 minutes walk away

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ricrusky
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Parking outside the hotel can sometimes be busy at mealtimes because we have a very popular bar and restaurant. All parking in Nairn and around the hotel is free. There is a large open air car park at the rear of the hotel which is never full, so perhaps you were not aware of it. I apologise about the broken...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
1.5 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
812 reviews
0.7 km away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
311 reviews
0.6 km away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
111 reviews
24.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
Bandstand Restaurant
Bandstand Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Soups, Scottish, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Price Range: $88 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Braeval Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Braeval Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Got everything you need in a room for a nice quiet and relaxing sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Deanholder, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great comfortable and clean room”
 of 5 bubbles AlexC1958, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We have only used the restaurant here so can't comment on the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 597susana, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 was comfortable, with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles wayner985, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room no.2 was very small but adequate and had a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles F5883YWkarenp, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5