We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Braeval Hotel

Show Prices
#3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Braeval Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Braeval Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Braeval in Nairn for two nights on a golfing trip. The room was very clean and well appointed with a comfy bed. The staff were very accommodating and welcoming. The food is excellent, but you must reserve a table due to its popularity and location next to a few guest houses. A fine selection of beers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollinside
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely remarks. Much appreciated. Good advice to recommend restaurant booking as we're often fully booked with locals and hotel guests.

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Stayed at this hotel for 2nights with a visitor from Canada found the accommodation adequate food very good with an opportunity to adjust menu to suit individual taste All staff were bubbly attentive friendly and very interactive Would certainly use this hotel again and recommend it to friends for work and pleasure accommodation

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear you would recommend the Braeval.

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

All staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very tasty. Evening meals had a good choice on offer. Good value. Bed was very comfortable and rooms were very clean. Great view to the bandstand and sea. Lovely sunsets. Nairn has a challenging golf course nearby. The Theatre has a lovely ceramic collage on the corner of the street. Fascinating!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindamS6116ZL
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Hope to see you back again.

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We recently had the wonderful opportunity of driving around England and Scotland for our honeymoon and The Braeval Hotel was the pick of the hotels from the 14 or so places we stayed. The staff are very welcoming, the bar/restaurant area is exceptionally comfortable, the room was clean, airy, light and felt like a true home away from home. Parking...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zartok23
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

I'm delighted that we were a highlight of your holiday. Thank you for your kind remarks.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Very well located with a friendly buzz to the place. Beer selection excellent in popular bar and good food to match. Could do with more information in the rooms about what to do in the area seeing as there's so much available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 880crispin
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and suggestions. We prefer to display all the leaflets and info about what to do in the area at Reception where we can ensure it remains fresh and up to date.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed there for two nights, and I believe we had the best room (#7) in the house. It overlooked the park and the Moray Firth. We also dined there two nights, and the food was fabulous, as well as the service. Even if you do not stay there, the dining experience is well worth it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gammellm2002
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind remarks which are much appreciated. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Nice looking menu. Chips undercooked rest of meal had little taste. Cheese board nice but anyone could do. Overall ...... Overpriced nothing menu. Very, mediocre. I wouldn't go again even if this is a pretty venue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Purradox
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

I'm disappointed to read your remarks but thank you for your feedback.

Alleroed Municipality, Denmark
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Perfect hotel - good value for your money. Nice restaurant, good bar and very good service from the staff. The view from the hotel was very nice and the hotel was perfect for golfing in the area. Planing to come back next year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 323hhm
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Had a night year earlier in the month. Lovely wee hotel with very friendly, welcoming staff. My room was a bit on the small side but absolutely fine for one night. Warm friendly bar with lots of choice. We are in the restaurant and wow !! What a meal we had ! So, so good home cooked and all local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doricboy
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 24 July 2016

It was o.k., but we were not looking for a restaurant, we were looking for a clean comfortable room. There are just better ones available at the B & B's. The air in the hotels was not fresh and with the style of windows a fan in the room would have been nice. The staff was very nice and helpful....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tstanley696
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

I'm disappointed to hear your comments about the room, but glad staff were helpful. Thank you for your feedback.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
1.5 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
824 reviews
0.7 km away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
317 reviews
0.3 km away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
112 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bandstand Restaurant
Bandstand Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Soups, Scottish, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Price Range: $115 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Braeval Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Braeval Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The sea views are amazing so try to get a room at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles Tourerbycar, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 was a single bed, but all the other guests were more than pleased with their accommodation. "Full Scottish" breakfast may be a bit too much for some, Haggis & Black Pudding, but sets you up for a busy day!”
 of 5 bubbles Tuscan2014, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Got everything you need in a room for a nice quiet and relaxing sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Deanholder, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great comfortable and clean room”
 of 5 bubbles AlexC1958, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We have only used the restaurant here so can't comment on the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 597susana, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5