We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

771 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 756: English reviews
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Although the hotel is modern downstairs the bedrooms are stuck in the 70's. The room was small with horrendous décor. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the noise from the plumbing system made it difficult to get any sleep. Breakfast was very disappointing. I was given 2 undercooked eggs with 1 slice of toast. We asked for tea for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, and our apologies if the rooms and décor were not to your taste. I have discussed your comments with my team. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and i stayed here 2 nights for a short spa break. We had 3 treatments each as part of the deal. The room was very comfortable, clean and modern. The meal included in the deal was delicious and we upgraded to steak for a few pounds extra. Breakfast was also good - i had the french toast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PurpleRonnieD
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the use of our extensive leisure facilities. I will pass your comments on to our spa on the treatments also. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager

fort william
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Arrived early thinking I could have had some food before going to work but unfortunately they don't serve food until 5pm although it says bar lunch menu available that is just a lie. I then drove 3 miles to give my money to brewers fayre. Then arrived back to the hotel after some nice lunch. Went to my room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daviemac2202
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have several room types available, our single rooms are exactly that, single bedded rooms with ensuite facilities, the rate is good value for money as it includes bed, breakfast, wifi and use of an extensive leisure facility. Should you have wished to pay a supplement an upgrade to a double room is always available...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Where to start? Reception: smelled like it needed aired. Toilets? One overflowing, one out of order. Rooms: smelly, dated carpet. Furniture dated and hanging together. Bed springy and uncomfortable (complete with terrible tartan scarf rider). Plug points poorly located. Shower tiny and not powerful. No safe in room. Stained walls and ceiling. Horrible lighting. Definite student halls feel. Terribly thin...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul C
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We advertise our single rooms at a much discounted rate as they are small and were not part of the full refurbishment. Many of our business guests pay the appropriate rate for the accommodation they require which is usually our normal double/twin rooms. As such however £64 for a single room with breakfast, free superfast...

Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Location is less than ideal as it is on the western fringes of Elgin, but I had a rental car and there was ample parking. The hotel staff was very nice, service in the hotel bar and restaurant were great as well. The journey to my hotel room involved a lot of stairs. This wasn't a problem for me, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cassandra H
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We will pass your comments on to our head office who control the budgets for refurbishment. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have visited this hotel on a number of occasions over the last thirty years. On a previous visit I was disappointed on how dilapidated the interior had become and the poor level of service. It was with a bit trepidation I booked a weekend stay in April. I was pleasantly surprised by the changes and improvements. Without doubt I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased your return visit was a success and we are glad you gave us that opportunity. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager

Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The service was slow & the hotel didn't seem to be that busy. The drinks were expensive. Our room was small with not a lot of storage. (We were there for 4 nights.) The bed was hard with a single duvet on a double bed we didn't get a great nights sleep. The bathroom tired & in a poor state....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am unsure as to why you think our hotel was a 4 star? Perhaps your review is for a different establishment? We will however discuss your comments amongst our team. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager

North of Scotland
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is tired! The Staff are lovely! The bedrooms are very basic and could do with refurbishment. The leisure club and swimming pool are the exact opposite of the rest of the hotel. Very good facility.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank1412
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we have taken your comments on board. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager

North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our large group of generally the older generation spent three nights here. Our room was fine but those in single rooms were upset at the location of their rooms and their smallness. Our room was perfectly adequate in size and the bathroom boasted a bath. Our view was of the wee rabbits cropping the pleasant large side lawn. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirkcaldylad
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We accept that not having disabled access bedrooms, or a hotel lift are not ideal, and we apologise for this however I can assure you we are not contravening any laws. Your feedback is important to us and we thank you for it. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here before and enjoyed it. The service I got was first class the staff where happy to help nothing seemed to much to ask the food was great i did the bar food first night then moved on to the taster menu what a surprise I got what I wanted I will be back with friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thismitehurt
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with and will be looking to return. Thank you for your comments on the 6 course taster menu, this is a relatively new menu for the hotel so all feedback is great. Thanks again. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
34.4 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
40.1 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
616 reviews
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
266 reviews
0.5 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
381 reviews
1.6 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Morriston Road | Morayshire, Elgin IV30 6UL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Price Range: $142 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Eight Acres Hotel And Leisure Club
Crerar Eight Acres Hotel Leisure
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club Elgin, Scotland - Moray
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Dundee, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Workington, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Elgin, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms are quiet....”
 of 5 bubbles jeanneb819, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Elgin is a greta place to visit but remember this hotel is a little outside the town”
 of 5 bubbles Tomzmullen, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 57 which was very spacious for two people, but perhaps we were just fortunate?”
 of 5 bubbles 504andyc504, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“use the leisure room”
 of 5 bubbles mccauley433, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a budget between Christmas and new year break - very good value”
 of 5 bubbles 69aileent, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5