We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Salutation Hotel

Booking.comUS$68*
View Deal
#4 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Salutation Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,003 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Salutation Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 979: English reviews
fife
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights during the above-mentioned music festival The rooms were clean and spacious and the food was excellent and well presented The staff were courteous, efficient and extremely helpful There is no on site parking but this is available in the next street Well worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raithfife
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, we do appreciate this and I am glad you found the rooms clean and spacious, food excellent and staff courteous, efficient and extremely helpful. I do hope you will be back for Rewind 2017. Once again many thanks for your time. Kind regards

Forres
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Great location good food large family room Perth has some lovely country side scone palace is worth a visit . Perth is great for shopping and restaurants Chinese restaurant Hong Kong's is fabulous.we had a great stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmurdo_255953
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a few minutes to drop a review in about your recent stay. I am pleased you like the location and you had a good large family room. Perth is great for shopping and restaurants and yes the Hong Kong is a great Chinese restaurant. Scone Palace is indeed worth a visit too. Once again many thanks...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We stayed here for one night- hadn't booked in advance ,just arrived here by chance as hotel we tried first was full,and they sent us here . We were not disappointed.check in was fast and easy. We had a twin room (£72 for BB)on the second floor which looked out on the street .( it took us a minute to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandylady
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us Feedback from your recent stay. I am exceedingly happy to see that you found the room to be clean, comfy, crisp and fresh. I am also happy to see that you found the food to be delicious and the barman who served you was very efficient and pleasant. I am really...

Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We have used this hotel a few times in the past. never disappoints. Good price and service very good. Would recommend. Arrived early as we had a wedding north of Perth and they allowed us into the room

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfairg_112964
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a few lines about your recent stay with us. I am really happy to see that you have continued to enjoy the Hotel and all its facilities as well as the fact we were able to accommodate your extra needs. I hope you will come back again soon. Kind regards

Bewdley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Perfect hotel. Great room, clean and spacious. Can't fault the service, came back late with muddy wellies from t in the park and we were well looked after. Lovely buffet style breakfast. Parking very close and not very expensive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kward_145304
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to send us a few lines about your recent stay with us. I am exceedingly happy to see that you found that you were well looked after, with a lovely breakfast. I hope you will come back again soon. Kind regards

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Stayed here as we were heading to the races last sunday. The receptionist on duty on Saturday afternoon was so nice and helpful in explaining about where we could park the car which only cost £9 for the two nights. Check in was fast. Room clean and spacious. All toiletries provided and hairdryers in room. Breakfast was a huge choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebDenTravel
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am really happy to see that you found the Staff to be friendly and helpful. I am also happy to see that you found the room to be clean and spacious. I am really happy to see that you found the location...

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Very relaxing break in the hotel nice breakfast and room clean nice and central for visiting lots of other cities and nice different shops from other towns lots of walking around the area and plenty car parks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmacki_421305
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us a few lines about your recent stay with us. I am exceedingly happy to see that you found the location of the hotel to be ideal, near all the local amenities. I am also happy to see that you found the room to be clean and the food to be good....

Scotland
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Well at last I managed to sample the delights of this historic hotel, let me explain: we had a friends wedding March this year... Unfortunately we were moved due to over booking by the hotel.... As you can imagine not happy guests. So thank you to Gordon Paterson general manager who offered complimentary night with dinner bed/ breakfast. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottishmama63
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to send us feedback from your recent stay with us. I am really happy to see that you enjoyed your room ad the food. Yes Lisa is a good asset to the customer service of the hotel. I am exceptionally happy to see that you will be back again and I look forward to...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Nothing's to much trouble at this hotel stayed on more than one occasion and will go out of my way to stay there, a great character hotel, serving excellent food, great value for money, the main restaurant and breakfast room is brilliant and so is the breakfast

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James R
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback from your recent stay with us, I am really happy to see that you have found the staff to go out of their way for yourself to ensure you have a good experience staying with us. I am also happy to see that you found the Food to be...

Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Easy to find, nowhere to park though. Once inside we were pleasantly surprised, you can see that this was once a grand place that has been well maintained. Room was well decorated and very clean. Lovely comfortable bed so we had a good night's sleep. The real surprise was the Adam Restaurant with it's wonderful windows and curved ceiling. What...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bobscutt
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to send us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am really happy to see that you found the building to be a grand building that has been well looked after. I am glad to see that the room was decorated to your liking, with a comfortable bed and immaculately clean. I hope...

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
5.1 km away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
878 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.3 km away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
871 reviews
0.7 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
643 reviews
0.5 km away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#13 of 18 in Perth
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Price Range: $97 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, UK - Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Salutation Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Glenrothes
livingston
stevenston
livingston

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Salutation Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a double room had a single previously but too small and cramp”
oldsmiddy, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the front can be noisy overnight”
Petertoo, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms we have had have been very comfortable.”
catherinerT7866JP, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not go, Rubbish”
wendybK9892EL, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front is probably best but the hotel dates from the 17th century so like us it creaks occasionally.”
johndocherty643, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$68* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$68
Hotwire.com
Hotels.comUS$69
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates