We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rosemount Hotel

Save
Share
12 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
US$108
View deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (17)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20-09-05 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20-09-05 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 18 hotels in Pitlochry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Small,cosy,friendly hotel set in an Edwardian villa over looking stunning views of Pitlochry to the south and upwards to the fabulous Ben Vrackie mountain to the north. Pet and family friendly.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
603Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 274
  • 169
  • 71
  • 45
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Henry T wrote a review Nov. 2020
Stirling, United Kingdom55 contributions16 helpful votes
We didn’t actually get to visit the property due to Covid. It was booked online but then subsequently cancelled. In the email exchange Anne was repeatedly very rude, it appeared to imply it was our fault they had decided to close their doors. I’m aware that tensions are high in the sector, but I wouldn’t attempt to book again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Urry, Owner at Rosemount Hotel
Responded Nov. 29, 2020
Hi there. I can't apologise enough. I haven't spent 30 years of my life giving just about every waking hour to the welfare and well-being of my guests to spoil all of that by being perceived as being rude and deeply regret the way things worked out between us. I remember our phone conversations, wherein I was trying to explain that we could not accept your booking because you reside in an area whose residents had been asked not to travel outwith the boundaries of their region, unless for work or for purposes of care, due to high incidence of covid. I had to be persistent in refusing your booking, against your wishes, because we had no choice other than to follow government guidleines. Accommodation providers had been expressly asked not to encourage bookings from residents of areas of high restriction. I was exceptionally tired, I admit. Our staff had been furloughed and, as with many small hotel proprietors, my husband and I were left with the burden of securing the business for another lock down period, with all of the attendant concerns. The additional stress of absorbing the wrath of prospective guests whose bookings we had no choice other than to cancel probably tested my resilience. I found it difficult to find a way of gaining your approval for something that was totally outwith our control and ultimately had to resort to insistence. Probably in different circumstances I would have handled this much better and I apologise once again.
Read more
Sharon R wrote a review Nov. 2020
3 contributions
The hotel is a converter large highland home, all the rooms are different with their own style. Due to end of season and Covid 19 the hotel was quiet, we were the only 2 rooms occupied on the first night. The room was clean and spacious, shower room was small, big enough for a shower. Food great, I had a small Scottish both mornings, I would never have managed a large portion. Evening meal is cooked fresh and very tasty. The staff are lovely, Martyn is very approachable and chatty without being in your space all the time. The owner popped into make sure we had everything we needed, nice touch.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: the 2 rooms had different aspects but as the hotel is on a hill you can see down into Pitlochry...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Notters Novaks wrote a review Oct. 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom37 contributions14 helpful votes
We booked a regular double, economy twin and economy single. We were travelling with a friend and her dog. The regular doubles were pleasant enough, bar the need for extra sockets (making tea was an operation of moving furniture) but the economy rooms are overdue a refurb. Reception rooms were pleasantly decorated and the hotel employed an efficient one way system. Breakfast service was very friendly but small portion sizes eg 1 tablespoon of beans.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid economy rooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Urry, Owner at Rosemount Hotel
Responded Nov. 29, 2020
Hello and many thanks for an informative account of your stay. We are very happy that you found our Regular rooms pleasant and we note your point about sockets. We are going to have re-wiring work done to improve our wi-fi, in the Spring, and so this useful information will be put to good use at this stage. We always try to be honest about our Economy rooms. Resources are always finite in a small business and it has been our policy to load investment into our Premium and Regular accommodation firstly, thereby giving our guests a choice between making substantial savings when booking one of our 3 economy rooms or electing to pay up to £80 a night more for one of 12 other rooms in the hotel that have the greater amenity that reflects the investment. We find that guests who book through third party operators don't access the detailed room information that is available on our own website. Therein lies the driver for disappointment. It's a circle that's difficult to square off, since there are many guests that really appreciate the saving and value the availability of clean, though basic accommodation in a region where rooms don't come cheaply. We have therefore found that our policy of offering choice related to tariff has mostly proved to have been a good one. We email breakfast choices to guests each evening, wherein they can choose to have a large or a small breakfast. Again, this is symptomatic of our instinct to offer choice and we acknowledge that its success totally depends upon the information regarding the options getting through to the guests. I apologise that we didn't clearly ascertain your preference for breakfast size. Every day is a school day, as they say, and we can learn from each review. We are now closed because of travel restrictions, but we'll re-read reviews next season as a vital help in carving our way forward. So, thank you very much for this insight into your experience. There's a lot we can take forward from it.
Read more
Pam W wrote a review Oct. 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We have just returned from a family holiday in Pitlochry. Hotel very central to town. We were very well looked after by Keith, Anne, Verena and Martin during our stay. Covid safety was well organised. Great system setup to move around hotel and ordering of breakfast and dinner was slick. Would stay again. Lots to see nearby and great walks around the local area. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Urry, Owner at Rosemount Hotel
Responded Oct. 20, 2020
Dear Pam, Thank you so much for your lovely review, it wasw a real pleasure to have you and you family to stay with us, and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Keith, Verena and Martyn. As with other guests its great appreciated that you acknowledge the extra COVID safety procedures in place as guest being able to relax in the knowledge that additional steps have been taken to look after their welfare. I do hope that we can all welcome you back to the hotel and Pitlochry again soon. Best wishes
Read more
stewarthall wrote a review Oct. 2020
Fort William, United Kingdom16 contributions7 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here for two nights with our two golden retrievers. The staff were so friendly and made ourselves and our dogs feel very welcome. We had a suite on the ground floor with a door opening onto the carpark. This was great because it meant we didn’t have to traipse through the hotel with the dogs. There was an en-suite wetroom which had a very powerful shower. The suite was clean and comfortable and certainly suited our needs. We were asked to order our evening meal and breakfast online. I really liked this because it meant we knew exactly what we were going to eat. The food was lovely especially the desserts. I had sticky toffee pudding one evening and cranachan the next evening and I can thoroughly recommend both. Being permitted to have the dogs with us in a separate section of the dining room was very nice instead of having to put them into the car.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Urry, Owner at Rosemount Hotel
Responded Oct. 18, 2020
Dear Mr Hall, Thank you for your great review, it was a pleasure having you here at the hotel and I am so pleased you enjoyed the additional benefits of our popular Ground Floor Suite. I will certainly pass on all your comments to out small but dedicated team! I do hope you are able to Pitlochry and the hotel again, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rosemount hotel pitlochry
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossPitlochry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rosemount Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rosemount Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pitlochry Festival Theatre (0.8 km), Black Spout Wood (0.3 km), and Heathergems (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rosemount Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Rosemount Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rosemount Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rosemount Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant at Knockendarroch, Cidsin Bistro and Gin Bar, and Escape Route Cafe.
Is Rosemount Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Pitlochry.
Are pets allowed at Rosemount Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Rosemount Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St David's Well (12.8 km).
Does Rosemount Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Rosemount Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.