We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

East Haugh House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
East Haugh House
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

596 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for East Haugh House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 576: English reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

What a great place! We spent 1 night here and took along our golden Lab. We were given a dog friendly room, which was a good size and had everything we needed - we even got a dog towel, bowl and treats on our arrival. The food is amazing, we stayed for dinner and breakfast! Would go back just for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank james6485
EmmaAitken, Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review. We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and found the food to be 'amazing'. Your kind comments have been passed onto our team. We hope to welcome you and your lovely dog back again very soon!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

We had a lovely stay for 2 nights at East Haugh House. We were upgraded to a Superior room which was great and couldn't fault the breakfast or dinner. The staff were very pleasant and seemed genuinely happy to be there. Being an old house the floor boards were squeaky but this just adds to the character. The water pressure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allid1
EmmaAitken, Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely 5 star review! We're just thrilled that you had such a lovely stay at East Haugh House, and enjoyed your upgrade to one of our superior rooms. Our chefs were delighted to hear that you couldn't fault the breakfast or dinner. We do hope you will return again for another visit when you...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2016

The location and setting for this hotel can't be faulted and it has a lovely old hunting lodge feel. However the hotel is let down by many niggly little 'lack of attention to detail' details and some haphazard service which meant our stay did not live up to our expectations. Heating was also an issue despite previous comments from management...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
EmmaAitken, Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay. We're delighted to read that you found the location and setting to be lovely, we are indeed in a very beautiful part of the world! And at this time of year it can also be a very cold part of the world! Please accept our sincere...

Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in red Drummond. I wanted a relaxing break as my husband had been unwell. Used the whirlpool bath, great fun, but could do with a proper shower as well, there is room for it. Also a personal bugbear CARPET in a bathroom is a complete no no in my book! On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jainey Y
EmmaAitken, Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review

We're so sorry to read that you found there to be some 'wee niggles' during your stay and we really do appreciate your constructive criticism. We'd like to take this opportunity to reply to some of your points and, where relevant, tell you how we have now put these right for you and future guests. Firstly, thank you for your...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016

2nd visit to this wee gem....the food was amazing......I had the duck on the first night which was cooked to perfection,and the fish and chips on the second night.....amazing food,lovely attentive staff......I adore this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel W
EmmaAitken, Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for leaving such a lovely 5 star review. We're over the moon to read that you found our food to be amazing and the staff to be lovely and attentive. We do hope you will come back again soon.

Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here as we were bungee jumping . The hot water didn't work but we understand that it was a old building . The staff were brilliant and made us feel welcome and we're very apologetic . We dinned and the food was delicious ... you have a very talented chef ! . Breakfast was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
EmmaAitken, Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review

We're delighted to read that you had a lovely stay at East Haugh House, thank you for all your kind compliments. We passed your kind comments to our talented kitchen team and front of house staff who are thrilled to read that you found the food to be delicious and service to be brilliant. Please accept our sincere apologies for...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Had to give a shout out about East Haugh House Hotel which has been a welcome escape from our busyness. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were looked after and welcomed. The locally sourced food is outstanding (and reasonable), surroundings lovely, cosy and homely and the staff cannot do enough for you. No wonder they've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrDuncock
EmmaAitken, Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review

We're so pleased to read your wonderful 5 star review! Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments. It's wonderful to hear that you had such a great time and found the food to be outstanding. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Booked a one night stay with dinner for myself and family as a brief break from a longer stay in Glasgow. My wife and I had a double room located in a cottage just outside main building. My two adult children had a double room on first floor. The outside based room was good - temperature fine with wall mounted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rodders353
EmmaAitken, Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the heating issue, this was an unfortunate temporary glitch which was completely out of our control on that particular night. It was something we, of course, addressed immediately and is now back to full working order. We're...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We ate here on Saturday night, our second night in Pitlochry. We were greeted by a very welcoming host and shown to seats by a cosy fire. Here we ordered our drinks and studied the menu. Our drinks arrived and we ordered our food. We were shown to our table and in no time at all our starters arrived. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Killy2
EmmaAitken, Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely 5 star review. We're so please you had such a relaxing evening and so enjoyed the food. We hope you return again soon.

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Booked at this 4 star hotel for 4 nights to celebrate my 60th birthday but left after one night. Little niggly things went wrong from the start. Room not fully prepared for arrival and was ice cold. One of the lamps was broken. Couldn't ring down for a bulb as our room seemed to be only one without an internal...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AilsaMargaret
EmmaAitken, Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review

We are really very sorry that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you had hoped it would have been. The majority of our guests have such a wonderful experience when staying at East Haugh, as you'll see from the many 5 star reviews we've had on TripAdvisor. However, this was not the case for you and we'd...

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
2.5 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,686 reviews
2.1 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
729 reviews
2.3 km away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
331 reviews
2.8 km away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Price Range: $139 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from East Haugh House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from East Haugh House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They offer up-graded rooms”
 of 5 bubbles brianp289, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cosy double not suitable for tall visitors”
 of 5 bubbles janisgray1949, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay the night but I would be sure that the rooms will be as lovely as the rest of the establishment”
 of 5 bubbles AlexBennett, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If u r tall check what ur room will be as some of them sloped roofs and u can easily hit ur head off”
 of 5 bubbles dorish919, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms are well soundproofed”
 of 5 bubbles patriciabZ9556GT, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5