We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr

Booking.comUS$60*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr
See the most recent reviews
Showing 63: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great place to base ourselves overnight, whilst attending a wedding reception at the 'Brigodoon'. Our room was very clean & homely, with a very comfortable bed. Anne was a great host, arranging a taxi for us to & from the wedding reception. The bonus being in the morning were we had a cooked breakfast, when we had been anticipating a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john r
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review which we appreciate. Graeme & Ann

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is a charming B&B in Ayr. We would recommend staying here. We booked a standard room, which was smaller but adequate for our requirements of an overnight stay. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities were in the room and a bathroom was on each floor. We stayed here due to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lauzg13
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review which we very much appreciate taking the time to do this. Best wishes. Graeme and Ann

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed at the Chalmers B&B for 8 weeks (during the week) whilst on university placement in Ayr. Ann and Graeme are a lovely couple who make you feel welcome in their beautiful Victorian home. They recommend nice places to eat too. My room was clean and warm with a comfy bed. The B&B is situated within walking distance to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review which we very much appreciate. Best wishes. Graeme

UK
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at Chalmers for a couple of nights when attending a wedding at Brig O Doon. Graeme and Ann kindly had our room available for an early check in so we could get ready. The room was very clean and beds comfortable. Chalmers is well located - a 5 minute stroll into town and a £5 taxi ride to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsJouse
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our B&B. We very much appreciate it. Graeme & Ann

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Myself and my partner were delighted with the warm welcome received from Graeme and Ann at Chalmers B&B. The property is delightful and the service exceptional, as nothing seemed too much trouble for them! The location is ideal for travelling around Scotland, and the proprietors were happy to help us organise many excursions and to make recommendations for our trips....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Hello, thanks very much for staying with us recently and your positive comments about our B&B which we appreciate very much. Graeme & Ann

Bollnas, Sweden
Reviewed 14 September 2011

From a golfing point of view our stay was poor due to heavy rain and strong winds (up to 70 m/h some days) from the Atlantic. Rooms simple but OK, beds clean, no living room to sit and chat, breakfast alright, Graeme´s organizing bookings on golf courses, suggestions of restaurants and pubs to visit excellent. The Ayrshire District can offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benny J
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Manager at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you Benny for posting a review. Yes the weather was not on your side (Mother nature is definately not a Golfer !) but you all said you had a great weeks golf in any case as you managed to play every day for 6 days for a special rate of £85. Thank you also for your positive comments re...

Fairport, NY USA
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I and my friends never got to stay at the B&B because we had to cancel our golf trip from the USA. So, no comment on the actual facility. But Graeme organized our golf, persevering through our many changes and inquiries. He offered to book our rental cars, visited golf courses to make arrangements, made payments and even arranged refunds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerard S
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Manager at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you comments. It is such a pity your trip was curtailed by the bad weather affecting your flight to Scotland. I was very thankful to Kilmarnock Barassie, Dundonald Links and Glasgow Gailes Golf Clubs for their understanding of your predicament and their offer of refunds for the Golf cancellations. Thanks again, Graeme

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I have stayed here numerous nights and intend to continue staying through my university course. Both Graeme and Ann are lovely people who make you feel really welcome and are happy to help you as much as they can. As I was new to the area they offered me advice on numerous places to eat as well as advice on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NatalieDickson
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you for you positive review of our B&B. Very much appreciated. Graeme & Ann

Yate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2011

When we arrived at the property, we were impressed with the introduction of 2 rooms by the lady. The property is nice and clean with the exception of very low water pressure for basin taps and shower. On the 2nd day after we got back from a day out, the owner blamed me for loose basin taps which was not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeph005
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at our B&B. May we first of all clarify the situation regarding your comments about the tap. In order to understand the fault we asked you for your opinion on why the tap was slack and why it had turned 90 degrees as the room and...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Staying in Chalmers was really great and its location is very accessible to Ayr train station as well as the seaside. I'm glad to be the first Sporean to give a thumbs up to this B&B with the owners being very receptive. It was really nice of Graeme offered a complimentary takeaway breakfast in the early morning when i departed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinc7_11

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 km away
Carrick Lodge Hotel
0.7 km away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
2.7 km away
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Inverlea Guest House
2.6 km away
The Beechwood Guest House
0.6 km away
Blackburn Villa B&B
Blackburn Villa B&B
#19 of 54 in Ayr
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Taken over in April 2017 by Jen and Mark, Chalmers B&B is a family owned beautiful Victorian townhouse located one mile from Ayr town centre on the Ayrshire coast, Scotland. Ideal for shopping breaks and very close to great pubs and restaurants. Chalmers is within 30 minutes of some of the best golf courses in the world including Turnberry, Old Prestwick, Royal Troon, Western Gailes, Kilmarncock Barassie, Dundonald Links (Loch Lomond), Glasgow Gailes & Irvine Bogside. Part of the family includes our small dog Mylo who is fluffy and friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr

Address: 34 Carrick Road, Ayr KA7 2RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: $79 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you do not want breakfast, you can get a discount. Tea & Coffee making facilities in each room though.”
BarbJGray, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Your place to stay if you go to Ayr”
Y1116BRdanielc, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“My room was excellent and my view as well.”
515claudeh, 23 Jan 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms are great! We saw them.....”
Georgemckay, 13 Sep 2013 | Read review
“The bed was a bit hard but I found that in a number of places we stayed.”
MichelleB676, 5 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$60* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates