We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Ayr Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Ayr Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Ayr Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 603: English reviews
Buncrana, Ireland
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Excellent location, staff very pleasant and most helpful especially Danielle. Got an upgrade to a premium room which was lovely. Corridors, lifts and leisure center all a bit tired and would need a facelift.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnjamesmcg
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback, I am delighted you had a pleasant stay with us. I will be share your comments with the team as I know that they will appreciate hearing that all their hard work does not go un-noticed. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back again very soon. Kind Regards Lindsay...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights on business. On arrival we found the car park more than full. It appeared people were just dumping cars in any available space wether it be an official space or not. We popped into reception to see if they could recommend anywhere else to park. We were told 'that's the only car park we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul I
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us, although I am disappointed that your stay was not enjoyable. When the hotel is full and there are conferences on the car park can become full with people coming and going. There are a number of public car parks close by and I am puzzled as to...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

I stayed here for a weekend. The check in was easy, very friendly staff at reception. I had one of the front facing rooms- so it had lovely views over the roof tops and on to the sea. The room was spacious and came with bath/shower- it was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable enough. I had went for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN S
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for this review of your recent short break with us. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. The team are often praised on their friendly, helpful nature and I will be sure to share your comments with them. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ayr and hope...

Outside Basingstoke
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Mercure is a rather incongruous building in the centre of town. It's an OK sort of place, but our room overlooking the car park at the back was quite disturbed by noise from drinkers outside Smiths PH below.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DickTravels
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, although I am disappointed that you experienced noise from the pub next door. On the whole I do hope that this did not detract too much from your stay should you choose to stay again we can try to allocate you with a front facing room. Kind...

Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed for the night after a friends wedding. We had asked when first booking the room, a few weeks in advance if it would be possible to check in early as we were going to a wedding and had to get ready. I was told this would be fine, but on arrival we were told we could NOT check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ayrguitar78
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments regarding your short stay with us recently, although I was disappointed that it as not without issues. Please accept my apologies. I am disappointed that you were told that it would not be a problem to check in early as the team are aware that we cannot always guarantee this. I do hope...

Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Visited the mercure for a night away with my other half, we were greeted by a nice polite man who was clearly new but that is nothing because everyone has to start somewhere, the hotel is nice and staff friendly but the rooms aren't to attractive! Didn't seem to be any a/c the bathroom was covered in black mould and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arnk26
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your stay at the hotel. I am disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations and we will be sure to discuss your comments with the team so that we can rectify the issues where possible. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele

Reviewed 22 August 2015

5th visit and wont be the last! Excellent staff, location spotless rooms though could do with updating Apart from that it is faultless The girl with the reddish hair and long eyelashes on reception last Tuesday Wednesday +, Thursday was so helpful (sorry shld hav gotten name)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your feedback, I am delighted you had another enjoyable visit. I have passed on your comments to Emily on reception and we will look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele

glasgow
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

Lovely hotel well appointed for bus station train station and town centre. Double room with king size bed and absolutely spotless. I have travelled a bit and this was the cleaness hotel been in ever. Staff very helpful and polite. Leisure centre nice and again clean. Didnt eat as room only but certainly return have stayed before and would certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kezstar2
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us, I am delighted your visit was so enjoyable. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the entire team, especially the Housekeeping department, and we will hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele

Fuerteventura, Spain
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Check in was quick, parking is at the back of the hotel and you need to enter the registration on their parking system. The view was stunning, looking over the roof tops out towards the sea. Bed was the really comfortable -not soft but just soft enough that you didn't feel like you were lying on a table. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I am absolutely delighted that your stay was such an enjoyable one. It is always pleasing to read such positive feedback and I will be sure to share your comments with the team. I know they will really appreciate hearing that all their hard work does...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015

After reading the reviews we wasn't expecting much. But upon arrival, yes the building is a bit dated, giving it character and we were pleasantly surprised. There is discounted parking if you are staying. (£2 per night) There is no green algae in the (indoor) pool, its a reflection from the green wall and ceiling! We used the pool every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheridoni12
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience. I will be sure to share your comments with the team and we will hope to welcome you back when you are next in the area. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.4 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.2 km away
Western House Hotel
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
798 reviews
0.6 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#10 of 18 in Ayr
388 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: $84 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Ayr Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
scotland
5 months ago
7 months ago
9 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Ayr Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Partial sight of sea if at front. But new windows would eliminate outside traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles WF6615, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have a view of Kyle of Lochalsh rear facing have a view of the Kyle shopping centre… I would ask for a room at the front”
 of 5 bubbles CoogMeister, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room away from the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles robertn758, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a sea view are best on higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles jackiew511, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor ,overlooking the front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles maureenm431, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay