We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Ayr Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Ayr Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Ayr Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 618: English reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

We have stayed here before , however this time round, don't think we will be back, the location is fantastic, that's about it, our room was very cold, had great views, again the only plus side, staff all very nice, but hotel needs a makeover, and quickly!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isabell M
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for the feedback, although I am disappointed that you will not be staying with us again. We did have an issue with the heating this year and we have been working hard to try and rectify the situation. It had been very cold for both guests and staff on occasions. I am pleased that you enjoyed the...

Forfar
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Very disappointed in this run down hotel, The hotel was cold throughout, industrial heaters had been hired for the reception, bar and dinning room areas but these areas were still oncomfortable ti sit in. The bedrooms were even worse, more so as the water in the showers was also cold.The hotels lobbies were dark as some of the lights did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BobAForfar
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us. The issue with the heating is something that we are looking into as a matter of urgency as it was very cold as you rightly state. Guests and staff alike were feeling the effects so please accept my sincere apologies for this. I am, of course, disappointed...

glasgow
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Having returned home today from a 2 night stay at Mercure, I am so disappointed. Where to start,Room 658 was poor to say the least.I have stayed at this hotel many times but this particular time I was let down by room.It was full of black mould on the walls.Window ledges soaking wet and mouldy along edges.Door took ages to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dunkysmrs
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank your for your comments following your most recent stay with us. I am of course disappointed that your stay was not as enjoyable as your previous ones. Please accept my apologies. Your feedback has been passed on to the Housekeeping team to investigate and ensure there is no re-occurence of your issues. I hope that we can...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

As the rugby fans are now posting reviews I thought I would post mine. Booked this hotel about 4 weeks in advance for Valentine weekend with my husband and there was NOTHING on their web page to say it would be full of Welsh rugby fans. If I had known this I wouldn't have booked. Arrived at 2pm. Girl who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fraserbabe
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, although I am disappointed that your stay was cut short by the problems that you experienced. Please accept my apologies. I can understand your frustrations regarding the Welsh rugby fans who were staying with us that weekend intent on having a good time. It was certainly not intentional to place you in a...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2015

As the title states this is the 8th time I've used this hotel during the Scotland Wales rugby international weekend and as usual the the service was up to the standard have come to expect. The staff made me and my team mates more than welcome. Unsurprisingly i'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatthewPinkyAllen
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your most recent stay with us at the hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments. I will be sure to share this with the team and we will all look forward to seeing you and the guys again in a couple of years. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele

Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

The staff was really polite and friendly, but the room was not as well as the stuff. The hotel needs a remodeling, a refurbishment. My room was too small with several damages in the walls and the door didn't close correctly. The tv didn't work and to it taked 2 days to fix it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juanlu_are
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us last month, although I am disappointed that this was not an enjoyable one. Please accept my apologies. We shall use your feedback as we look to improve our services and I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the team to them. Kind Regards Lindsay...

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Stayed here on business recently, the hotel is Ok, my room was a premier room and that was nice, decent size, settee and good decor. It was a bit chilly, I had to pull the curtains up as they were blocking the radiators to get any heat. It's a bit tired looking in the public areas but staff were nice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel on business. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay on the whole. The hotel location is great to explore the local bars and restaurants and I am glad that you managed to get out and explore. I will be sure to pass your compliments...

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2015

My wife and I stayed here for two nights dinner bed and breakfast . A bit wary at first after reading reviews on trip adviser but pleasantly surprised ,yes things are a little tired and time worn but things are being done and I think in current climate they are doing a good job . Great food comfy beds clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alistair S
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team and we will hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon for another enjoyable experience. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele

Melrose
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Public areas of hotel kept tidy but bedroom window had black mould on frame and blackness on wallpaper next to window (room 569) likely due to poor ventilation - bathroom extractor fan didn't work. Also hot/cold signage on bath tap wrong way round - not helpful. On check-in we were given a voucher for a free bottle of wine with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TD6
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, although I am disappointed to read that you had some issues. Please accept my apologies. I was unaware that the signs for the water were on the wrong way round and have asked the Maintenance team to rectify this immediately. The vouchers booklets being given out by...

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2015

It's a contractors hotel, not pricey not flash but clean. If it's head down and work it's ok. Wouldn't do a weekend with missus. The sea gulls are really noisy ref sleep quality and breakfast isn't open until 7am, which is naughty as most of us workers are on are way to work by then. There is a nice pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markianstevens
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for the feedback following your stay with us. At present we do have contract workers staying with us as we do all year round. We can offer our guests a continental breakfast if required before service starts amnd we will take a look at the openeing time. I am pleased that you found the team to be...

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.4 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.2 km away
Western House Hotel
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 18 in Ayr
418 reviews
0.6 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
816 reviews
0.3 km away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: $103 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Ayr Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
scotland
8 months ago
9 months ago
11 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Ayr Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor levels have gorgeous sea views”
 of 5 bubbles EdrinaD, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Partial sight of sea if at front. But new windows would eliminate outside traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles WF6615, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have a view of Kyle of Lochalsh rear facing have a view of the Kyle shopping centre… I would ask for a room at the front”
 of 5 bubbles CoogMeister, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room away from the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles robertn758, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a sea view are best on higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles jackiew511, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5