We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Western House Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Western House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

708 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Western House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 697: English reviews
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great time at a friends wedding great location, central for Ayr and easy to get to. Food was excellent and plenty of it. Dance hall was good with plenty of room for those who wanted to dance. Down side was breakfast in morning a bit did organised, service was poor and had to wait over an hour for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harry M
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Harry M Thank you for your review of our hotel. It's great to see that you enjoyed your visit and of course the wedding. I will find out about breakfast and ascertain as to why there has been a wait. We have done quite a bit of training on this area of service and i am disappointed to... More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was the venue for my daughters wedding on Friday 4th November 2016 and we can't praise the Western House highly enough. They ensured everything ran so smoothly and if there were any problems we never got to know about them. All the staff were lovely - very professional, friendly, patient and kind and nothing was too much trouble. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grandpup
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Grandpup. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your experience of our hotel. It's great to see that you enjoyed your visit and of course your daughter's wedding day. We pride our hotel on our staff and the hospitality we all provide. I, as the General Manager, am very proud of the team and... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Reception is not sign posted from main road or car park or pedestrian entrance and we had to ask another guest. Bar staff were good but reception staff were awful, claiming not to have a Samsung charger only I phone and vice versa when we asked. Despite this lack of trust reception staff gamely tried to sell us breakfast and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin B
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Colin B Thank you for leaving your thoughts on your stay at Western House Hotel. I would like to start by saying I will look closely into all of your grievances and get to the bottom of what has happened. I would like to point out that if you read through the 100's of reviews we have, everyone... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Accommodating staff moved our booking round no problem (my mistake to book wrong night!) although had to still pay penalty, well appointed room although being stuck out in the annex was not as cosy as the main hotel, disastrously dated breakfast - didn't get what I had ordered, in claustrophobic breakfast room

Helpful?
Thank goldencurl
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning goldencurl Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review based upon your experience of Western House Hotel. I'm sorry to see that you felt your stay was only average and that you did not get what you ordered at Breakfast - i will be raising this point with the Restaurant team. We do not charge... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our first hotel on our tour of Scotland. Easily the most beautiful place we stayed at. The room was huge and well appointed, big bathroom which made a nice change. View over the Racecourse stables! Food and service excellent both nights. But it was the staff who really made our trip and are earning this review. I've never met a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim A
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Kim A Thank you for taking the time to leave us a fantastic review on your visit to our hotel. It's pleasing to see that we started your trip of Scotland off with excellent service and good old fashioned Scottish hospitality. We hope that you enjoyed your tour of Scotland and we look forward to welcoming you back.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and myself stayed here twice in June for a Sunday night getaway. We ate once in the restaurant and the burgers were absolutely amazing. Staff are lovely , rooms are nice and very clean. Not too far from the town centre, just a short taxi ride. The lounge area next to reception is nice and relaxing with big... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruthmcx
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Ruthmcx Thank's for the great review. I'm really glad to see that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and that the team looked after you, and that your really enjoyed our Western House Burgers. We hope to see you again when you next visit Ayr! Kind regards, Gary White Hotel General Manager More 

kilmarnock,ayrshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

recently stayed here for a wedding from start to finish we were not disappointed the room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable the meal at night and the breakfast was very good. every member of staff were excellent we will recommend to all our friends.

Helpful?
Thank johndscotland
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning johndscotland Thank you for leaving a wee review on your visit to our hotel. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Gary White Hotel General Manager More 

Johnstone, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the minute we pulled up in the car park the hotel was stunning. And inside was breath taking. Staff were soo friendly and helpful... food was delish. The rooms were spotless and down to each and every detail in the room, they definitely went out their Way to please... cant wait to book again.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Lynn B Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review. I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Gary White Hotel General Manager More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a treat for our first child free night away to chill and relax. The hotel is lovely, although the rooms aren't in the main pretty building you see in the main picture. we were in a separate building room 208. I like the add touches the hotel had,particularly the complimentary hot chocolate & shortbread. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank zantebound
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning zantebound Thank you for leaving a review regarding your visit to our hotel. I'm pleased to see that you appreciated all the wee touches we leave int he bedroom for our guests and that, outwith the view, you enjoyed your visit to Western House Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Gary White Hotel General... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

No need to repeat other reviewers' comments... This hotel is superb in every respect. Room good, staff so attentive and kind, food excellent.. Paid a lot lot more for one night in a local hotel and not enjoyed it half as much. Book with confidence! You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank david e
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning david e. Thank you for taking the time to leave a wee review regarding your visit. It's great to see that the staff looked after you and that you enjoyed the food. We hope to see you again next time you're in Ayr! Kind regards Gary White Hotel General Manager More 

271 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.6 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.7 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
796 reviews
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Carrick Lodge Hotel
1.3 km away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
7.7 km away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Jockey Club
The Jockey Club
Cuisines: British, French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: $82 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Western House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Western House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suite was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles MaxineS547, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in the courtyard if you want to get any sleep”
 of 5 bubbles sarahfP2180KI, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can, get into the main house. Book early!”
 of 5 bubbles kimaB4961EU, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“courtyard rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles johndscotland, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel will probably be full on race days....”
 of 5 bubbles richardnoall, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay