We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Port of Ness Cross Inn, HS2 0SN Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$87
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
CheapTicketsUS$87
TravelocityUS$87
Orbitz.comUS$87
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (5)

About

#25 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lewis
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cosy bed and breakfast with a public bar. The public bar (Old Barn Bar) has a peat fire, snacks and is cyclist, dog and family friendly. We also have a pool table, darts board, board games and a large beer garden.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming

Location

Contact
Port of Ness Cross Inn, HS2 0SN Scotland
44Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wobbly Dog of Lewis wrote a review Yesterday
Lionel, United Kingdom3 contributions
Dropped in at the Cross Inn with friends last night for a meal and a few beers. Lovely modern interior and excellent quick service. Had the ribs which were sticky and brilliant followed by the even stickier toffee pudding with hot custard, my wife had the Scampi and one friend had the Sirloin whilst the other had ribs! The food was served quickly but allowed us time to sample some good beer, and the prices were very reasonable! Retired to the bar afterwards to sample the extensive range of gins and whisky. Delighted to inform you that the bar is DOG FRIENDLY! All in all a great night and big thanks to Alice, Duncan and all their staff for a lovely relaxing evening. We will be back
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
933Nina wrote a review Jul. 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
Due to a radical change of travel plans, I emailed this establishment 1.5 weeks before I was due to stay, & I asked for a reply to my email. I did not receive a reply or acknowledgement to this email so I also followed up this email with a phone call but the number came up as invalid. I received a very abrupt call this evening (29th July) from Alice, demanding to know where I was. When I explained that I had already sent an email cancelling my booking, her tone changed to being uppity & condescending, saying "well WE haven't received anything" as if it was my fault that she had not received the email, which I had sent tone the only address available for this place. Her tone, words & general demeanour, even on the phone, means that I would NEVER stay at this place & would not recommend it. If that is the way Alice talks to someone she has never met, then I would not want to interact with her in person. Perhaps a course if customer service skills might be in order
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Jet569749 wrote a review Jul. 2021
49 contributions34 helpful votes
We had a table booked for a 5.30pm dinner. We’d spent the day exploring and we were all ready for a hearty meal which is what we got. We had steak and ale pie, scampi and Pad Thai curry - all delicious. There was a lovely atmosphere, and the staff were super friendly and efficient. We would love to return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
David R wrote a review Jul. 2021
South Wales, United Kingdom110 contributions70 helpful votes
We just had meal and didn't use the hotel rooms. Having cycled the whole Hebridean Way we were ready for a pub meal and weren't disappointed. The food was a little slow in coming but the beer was good and there were a lot of covers to cater for. Food was all good. Unfortunately there were some very loud opinionated and ignorant gests on the next table who eventually left. We then had a nice digestif with the barman. Pleased we went.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
GMH wrote a review Jul. 2021
Lincoln, United Kingdom76 contributions14 helpful votes
Never had such a rude & unfriendly welcome to a bar in my life, we certainly will not be coming back. Beautiful evening, after a day on the beach, and thought we could grab a cool pint on the way home. How wrong could you be, walk in to the bar and looking at the pumps, only for the barmaid to tell us to move, the barman then snaps what do you want? Ignoring his tone, we respond politely, thinking he was asking our drink choice, “it’s OK, we are just perusing the choices”. “Have you booked” he snapped back, to which we replied, no but we are not eating, we’ll just have a quick drink, at which point both rudely retorted, we have no tables, we said that is OK, we’ll sit on the grass in the large garden, only to be told, no you won’t! Aghast at such a response, I said that’s great, thanks very much, turned on my heel and left. We have had lovely welcomes everywhere here on the island on our stay, but this left a real sour taste in our mouth, and certainly no drink! Yes, you may be busy, but this is not the way to behave, potential customers should be valued and not insulted or be treated as an irritant, our friend, who are staying with, and lives just down the road, could not believe the rudeness and lack of customer service, it costs little, but you have certainly lost 3 customers here, and plenty more in the future I’m sure if this is reflection of how you treat your customers, you never know who is going to walk through your door, all should be made welcome, rest assured we certainly were not. We are fully aware of COVID regulations btw, so do not even try and offer them as even a partial excuse for such appalling behaviour. Cheers!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Alice Bagley, Owner at Cross Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello, As in your review on facebook and our response we do not believe that you were treated rudely and it is a shame you felt that way. We simply did not have space to seat you due to being busy and covid capacity restrictions. No one is allowed to sit on the grass for licensing, health and safety and capacity reasons with track and trace. As previously mentioned, the covid rules that have been in place for a year now do not allow people to be at the bar which is why the party were politely asked to "excuse me". To say that the staff behaved appallingly and were so rude is an extremely unfair reflection of them simply being too busy to do much more than than apologising for not being able to seat you and asking you not to block the door and bar area.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandThe HebridesOuter HebridesLewis and HarrisIsle of Lewis
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cross Inn
What are some of the property amenities at Cross Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Cross Inn?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cross Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Cross Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Cross Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.