The Imperial Hotel

The Imperial Hotel

Traveller (1170)
View from the penthouse
Room & Suite (236)
best coffee and friendly servers
Dining (159)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#6 of 35 hotels in Cork
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Located in the very heart of the city the Imperial Hotel is the most central hotel in Cork. It is in the heart of Cork’s new pedestrianised area and in the main shopping district, restaurants and nightlife. The "Grande Dame" of Cork ambience exudes a historical elegance with contemporary touches and boasts luxurious air conditioned rooms and the tranquil Escape Spa, an oasis of calm in the city centre. The bedrooms styles are elegant featuring state of the art smart TVs, free WiFi, Business Safe, Espresso machines and the Irish brand "Field Day" toiletries. In the Thyme at Seventy Six Restaurant, a high standard of Irish cuisine is created each evening using fresh fish, meat and vegetables from the local English Market. Guests can enjoy a coffee or light lunch in Lafayette's Cafe. Quirky, smart, Rus in Urbe, serving contemporary local food for breakfast and lunch, Sketch transforms into a vibrant cocktail bar serving sharing platters every evening. 'The lunch is served in Sketch daily with a contemporary food . At the award winning Escape spa, guests can indulge in treatments including an aqua body polish, signature facials and Aveda massages. There is no onsite car parking but a it is available for an additional fee in a private car park located a 5-minute walk from the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Polish

Location

76 South Mall, Cork T12 A2YT Ireland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cork Airport
Kerry County Airport
78.8 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles4,085 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Imperial Hotel's enviable location garners acclaim from guests eager to explore Cork City on foot, with its easy access to attractions and dining. While the hotel's cleanliness and opulent atmosphere receive high marks, and the rooms are often lauded for their spaciousness, some visitors caution against occasional noise disruptions and the high pricing that doesn't always align with the expected service level. Moreover, while the service and amenities are generally celebrated for their quality, a few guests have pointed out the need for updates and improved communication.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Luxurious
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
4,085Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,525
  • 937
  • 339
  • 173
  • 111
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kim M wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed here in August 2020 during the Covid-19 pandemic. The hotel was exceptional and I felt 100% safe staying here in what are extremely difficult and worrying circumstances. The tables at breakfast were well spaced out to allow social distancing and there were a range of cooked to order items available.

The bedrooms were exceptionally clean and items such as phone, tv remote and other small appliances had been wrapped in plastic to give us piece of mind that they had been cleaned prior to our arrival.

The gym had a great selection of machines and was exceptionally clean. Guests can book a slot so can go knowing that they will have the gym to themselves.

The hotel is right in the heart of the city and a great location for shops, bars and restaurants.

Staff extremely friendly and helpful. 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bastien Peyraud, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Dear kmg1510, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel and for rating us 5 stars. I am so pleased to read that you felt that we were up to scratch with the covid restrictions whilst allowing you to still enjoy a very comfortable stay with us. We are trying our best to keep up to speed with the ever changing guidelines and our staff are regularly trained to make sure that all areas are covered. We are indeed blessed with our location in the heart of the city and approx. 30 seconds away from the main shopping district. I do hope that you will return again to stay with us in the near future. My Best Regards, Bastien
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vivian o wrote a review Sep 2020
Bantry, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve spent over 40 years in and out of the Imperial and while it has always been a fine Cork institution, in recent years it has really upped its game in terms of its ground floor facilities. However, a recent night away for my wife and I was our first time staying there and my expectations were matched. Our standard double room was, as you’d expect in a hotel of it’s vintage, compact but very clean and with nice touches and comforts. There was even a complimentary bottle of “artisan” hand sanitiser from Castlefreke distillery! Front office staff were very helpful with everything including organising a super breakfast to our room and the concierge couldn’t have been more helpful on arrival or departure.
Next time you’re in Cork avoid the glass boxes and stay in a hotel with real character right in the middle of town.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bastien Peyraud, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Dear viviano321, Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel or as we are also known as The Grand Dame of Cork City. I am so pleased to read that in your 40 years of visiting the Imperial that we have truly exceeded your expectations. I am happy to read that at least you had the opportunity to stay with us this time. The team that I have working alongside me are indeed what make each guest experience an amazing one. Thank you for mentioning the front desk and the concierge. I do hope that you will stay with us again soon. My Best Regards, Bastien
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Trip138738 wrote a review Sep 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we walked in to the Imperial hotel we felt looked after and safe during these strange times.

Upon check in we were met with two amazing front of house staff members who enquired how was our trip down and casually told us we had been upgraded to the penthouse suite much to our amazement it wouldnt sink in we could be this fortunate.

This had been a fabulous gesture and much appreciated as our lives have been a bit of a whirlwind.

The penthouse suite is basically the whole forth floor so you have the whole floor to yourself. It has an amazing 2 ensuite bedrooms with a huge wrap around kitchen, dining room, sitting room with a decking area that you have beautiful views of all over Cork City.

We had a beautiful welcome gift of a slate with delicious chocolate brownies and Tattinger Champagne. The beds were so comfy you wake up buzzing with energy. The powerful shower and jacuzzi bath were such a treat it would leave anyone revitalised for the day or for us to prepare ourselves for the feast we were about to enjoy in the thyme@76onthemall in the hotel.
My mother in law went to my sister in laws for dinner so we had our very own date night.

We were greated by our friendly waiter in the hotels new restaurant Thyme @76onthe mall I believe his name was Metu. He was very professional wearing his mask as he served us never rushed us; he even helped us decide/recommended cocktails. (We had to try quiet a few ;) )

The meal OMG it was melt in your mouth. I had oysters to start so fresh and delicious while my husband had chicken wings. Then i had the trio of fish the presentation was class such a clever idea and my husband had fillet steak which was cooked to perfection hes still ravin about the truffle salt in the potatoes. As for dessert it was up for debate as we were stuffed so Metu advised to go for the pornstar martini cake and the kinder bueno eclair and boy oh boy it did not disappoint! Huge compliments to the chefs staff and hotel for making our stay so memorable for our end to our honeymoon.

The backround

We got married the 29th of Feb so our honeymoon was cut short due to covid. We had to isolate post coming home and then lockdown happened. We didnt see our friends and family as newly weds for 101 days.

So we booked this as the “end of our honeymoon “ when life had somewhat come back to normal to go and meet our sisterin law and brotherinlaw to have family time and we brought my husbands mother ( who was also cocooning )too so she could spend time with her daughter and son in law who was also isolating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bastien Peyraud, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel
Responded Sep 7, 2020
Dear Trip138738, Thank you so much for your wonderful review on the Imperial Hotel. Congratulations once again on your nuptials, I am so pleased that you chose the Imperial to be apart of your minimoon here in Cork. Such a pitty that your wedding celebrations as a married couple were cut short but I take it as a blessing in disguise as you had 101 days alone and taking a step back from what would have been a busy time back at work and at least you had the time to settle as married couple and have 101 days of each others company before returning to the real world. Albeit a different world now but as long as you are healthy that is indeed the main thing. Thank you for mentioning Methiu he is indeed a dream to have as part of our team and he has been working here so long he definitely knows a thing or two about giving each guest a level of service that they would want to return again. He will be thrilled that you mentioned him so thank you. I am so pleased that you enjoyed every last second of your stay with us and that my Imperial Family gave you the experience that you deserved after lockdown. I do hope to see you return again in the not so distant future. My Best Regards, Bastien
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
InstaDub wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Can’t understand the 5* reviews on this place at all.
Had to go to the hotel first to get a parking ticket before going to the car park and walking back.
Checked in and was allocated my room.
Hotel obviously has several different areas and I had to go to a small lift around the corner from reception.
Once I got to my floor the room was a long walk away around several corridors.
Finally reached my room which felt like it hadn’t been stayed in in months, it was freezing. No heating or air con on, despite the fact there was a storm that day!

Radiator on the wall was stone cold and I was told subsequently that the central heating isn’t used any more so they can be more sustainable and it was just air con used now for heating. I’m all for sustainability but not at the comfort of your guests! Window felt like it was single glazing with a horrible draft coming in and the room was generally dated and a bit shabby. I could also hear pump noise from neighbouring rooms flushing/using their showers.

Ate in the bar that night...restaurant and bar have the same menu (despite different ones on the website). Food was overly rich and heavy.

Next morning went to turn my lights on to discover the light switch was broken so had to get ready with side lights.

Final straw was when I went to use the Nespresso machine to discover it was broken. (And yes I filled it with water - I’ve got one at home and know how to use them).

When checking out I asked the receptionist if it was possible to get a copy of the till receipt from the bar last night for my expenses. Cue complete confusion, faffing about and eventually her coming back with a pile of credit card receipts and entering numbers into the credit card machine. I advised it was the till receipt I was looking for and not the credit card receipt (seeing as it was charged to my room and I didn’t pay for the meal by card!). I gave up after she responded with a blank look like she had no clue what I was talking about.

Had I actually been asked how my stay was upon checking out I would have taken the opportunity to voice my concerns, however nobody seemed to really care!

Won’t be recommending or staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BastienPeyraud-Imper, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel
Responded Mar 3, 2020
Dear InstaDub, Thank you for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel, Cork. I really appreciate your feedback on your most recent stay with us. Your feedback helps us understand where we can improve and where we are doing well with regards to our service and hospitality. However, I understand that your stay with us hasn't been as pleasant as you were expecting. I can insure you I will be taking on board your feedback to full extent to review it with my team, to make sure our guests are given the proper Imperial experience on a more consistent basis. Obviously we have not done so on this occasion and I apologize sincerely for that. With regard to some of the issues you experienced during your stay, I would like to kindly point out a few things that might take your interest and clear some confusion. Firstly, as stated on our website and in the guests confirmation email of their booking, we do not provide an onsite car park as we are a central hotel in Cork city located on a busy road. However, we do provide a secure facility 5 minutes walk away for only €10 for 24 hours parking. A member of reception or concierge should have informed you of what lift to take in order to get to your room, as we have three lifts that take you to different ends of the hotel. With regard to the heating in your room, we have invested €400,000 into air con facilities over the past few years. We are constantly trying to improve our sustainability and we believe that this system has helped us in doing so whilst not taking from the guests experience. A member from our guest relations team would have been more then happy to have helped you with any problem you may have had with your room during your stay. We would have happily transferred you to another room if we were aware of the issues you experienced at the time. I hope this at least clears up some of the confusion. I hope you do give us another chance in the future. We would love to get the opportunity to show you the proper Imperial experience. My Best Regards, Bastien.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lyndsey H wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in one of the junior suites for two nights and could not have enjoyed it more. The room itself was fabulous and immaculately cleaned, the breakfast and food served in both the bar and the restaurant was outstanding and above all else every member of staff we interacted with was so lovely, hard-working and accommodating. We ended up eating in the restaurant both nights because the reception we received from the restaurant manager was just so lovely, the waiting staff were professional and warm, and as has been previously mentioned the food was sublime (we can both highly recommend the steak - cooked to perfection!). A fantastic location for a warm and welcoming hotel. True class.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BastienPeyraud-Imper, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Dear LyndseyCCH, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a "Truly Excellent" review. With the hotel being over 200 years old it is steeped in history and makes it easy to find long term staff that have an appreciation for this and make it their home and we their family. The staff are what make this the fine establishment that it is so I am pleased to hear that your experiences with the staff were such positive ones. So I thank you for mentioning them. The food is locally sourced and our chefs take pride in presenting such delicious dishes, you cannot beat the Pembroke for a delicious meal... Or two ! Thank you again for taking the time to review the Hotel and we do hope to see you return again in the near future. My Best Regards, Bastien
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
foodnwine5 wrote a review Dec 2021
Kerry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From once we stepped inside the door of The Imperial we got the Festive Christmas 🎄 Vibe, so badly needed in these "new normal" times!! Ode to The Grinch was quite fun and wonderfully decorated throughout the foyer. We had a most enjoyable one night stay, credit to The Flynn Family to keep the old fashioned feeling still alive! Staff are just so attentive and friendly from reception to Sketch Restaurant , our room left nothing to be desired, comfortable and spotless with all facilities required. Dined in Sketch.... awh fab, The Birdcage twist on serving the food in, such fun, and as for The Meaty to share with a crisp New Zealand Sav Blanc just delicious. Breakfast was in my opinion of 5 🌟 quality, the food equalled some 5 star hotels I have stayed in and great to see local produce used, again The Birdcage appeared with the tasty buffet treats, followed by a scrumptious hot breakfast. Well done to all concerned, would definetly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bastien Peyraud, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel
Responded Dec 7, 2021
Dear foodnwine5 Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of The Imperial Hotel! I am delighted to hear our Grinch theme is creating a festive Christmas vibe. The Imperial Family take great pride in providing the best and friendliest service possible so were thrilled to hear your comments. Our Executive Head Chef takes great pride in our locally sourced and homemade products so was delighted to hear of your award of 5 stars for quality! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best Regards Bastien
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
99sarah55555 wrote a review Sep 2021
Dublin, Ireland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On our arrival, i carried in a big bag, the porter looked at me, looked at my bag and then looked away. I did see him approach people and asked if they required help with their bags. I assume the job of a porter is to help people with their bags, he noticed the size of my bags but didn't offer any help. At reception we were led to the wrong room, went back to reception twice concerning this issue and an apology wasn't issued, instead I was led to think that I heard the wrong room number. We booked for an early check-in (12 noon)  and we were told that our room was not ready even though it was nearly 1PM. At that point, i feel like were just shoved into a random available room. Throughout our stay no cleaner came to our room to change the sheets, clear our bins or tidy our room. We did keep our room neat (because we are neat young ladies)  but I have never been to a hotel where no room service was offered. Only once, a young lad offered us fresh towels.
We did receive a lot of stares from the staff at the imperial, this was really awkward for us. Especially while eating within the hotel, a worker at the entrance would constantly stare at us, almost making us feel like we didn't belong. On our last day, a cleaner stood outside our door and even knocked insinuating that we needed to hurry up and leave, even though we had booked for a late checkout (4pm). We paid full price for our stay just the way every other customer has, we shouldn't be made to feel inferior and we shouldn't have to beg for services that we paid for. We should experience the best quality of service, just like other customers.
This isn't even all of the bad experiences that we had at the imperial hotel, but I can 100% say that I will not be returning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bastien Peyraud, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel
Responded Jan 21, 2022
Dear 99sarah55555 Thank you for taking the time to review The Imperial Hotel. As you have not responded to our attempts to contact you by telephone or email, I will address your concerns here. We take all feedback from our guests very seriously so, after conducting an investigation, including checking CCTV, I have provided an explanation below. We can see you are carrying what appears to be a large handbag when you enter the hotel. Our porters are always eager to help anyone with bags but ladies obviously prefer to keep their handbag with them. Thus, they looked for other guests to assist. With regard to your room, it can be difficult to hear with face masks and Covid protection screens but the number was written on the card. Unfortunately, you used a different lift than the one to which you were directed by reception. Therefore, you ended up in a different section of the building than expected. You requested an early check-in but, as advised, this is subject to availability unless the early check-in supplement is paid. We do not change sheets every day for environmental reasons. A housekeeper did come to your room twice during the day but you refused the service so the accommodation manager then came to your room at the end of the day to offer fresh towels. I am very sorry if you felt uncomfortable. As you may have seen from other reviews, the friendliness and helpfulness of our team is generally greatly appreciated. We are very proud to celebrate diversity at The Imperial Hotel and treat all guests with the greatest respect. Like an early check-in, a late check out is subject to availability but I am sorry if this was not clearly explained to you. I hope this gives you some peace of mind but you have our contact details if you would like to discuss further. Best Regards Bastien
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DaniJ78 wrote a review Feb 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just checked out following a 2 night stay.

When we first arrived, my husband requested that we moved as there was a leaking drain outside the window. There were no objections and we were transferred to a much nicer room facing the front of the hotel.

The room was bright, spacious, decorated and furnished to a high standard and most importantly, clean.

Although the room was lovely, we found it got quite warm despite trying to mess with the air conditioning but more annoying than this, it was very noisy. As it's an old hotel, there were creaking floor boards from above and people were slamming doors down the corridor. The cleaning staff also had very noisy conversations outside our room was irritating at 8.30 am.

Despite these little annoyances, the staff couldn't do enough for you. I was particularly impressed with the waiting and kitchen staff in the restaurant who went above and beyond for me. I am gluten free and vegan so I'm often met with a struggle to try and accommodate this. The chef met this challenge with so much positivity and bought things in especially for me and also presented my food very impressively and it was very appetising. 10/10. The waiting staff were so lovely as well and kept checking to see if there was anything they could do and reassured me that there were no allergens or animal products in my food. Thank you so much as it made such a difference.

I would definitely recommend this hotel but would just advise that you brought some ear plugs with you!

Thank you to all the staff which made our stay so enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bastien Peyraud, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Dear Danielle J, Thank you so very much for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel. I am so pleased that the staff were able to make your stay memorable and that they went above and beyond for you throughout. I have the privilege of working with the best team and I am super proud of them. Regarding your meal our head chef takes pride in what he delivers to each person when they dine in our restaurant and he sources all local produce. He especially likes to out do himself when it comes to dietary requirements making sure that each guest gets a tasty substantial meal and not feel so restricted. He will be extremely happy to see that you rated his food 10/10. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not so distant future. My Best Regards, Bastien
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan wrote a review Jul 2020
Waterford, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had another fantastic stay at The Imperial Hotel. We booked two rooms, which were both very spacious and absolutely spotless (and completely sanitised).

The staff (Sinead, I believe) arranged for a lovely chocolate dessert and card in my parents’ room for my Dad’s birthday. We had a beautiful meal in the Thyme Restaurant for dinner on Saturday night—that Kinder Bueno eclair is a MUST! We were sat at a safe distance, well away from other diners. Our server was lovely and extremely helpful and friendly (didn't catch her name).

Breakfast was also great, and the breakfast staff were quick, friendly and very helpful, even when we asked for small adjustments. We’ve been staying at The Imperial every year (at least once a year) for more than 20 years as a family and it’s always a great experience.

Special thanks to all the staff—especially Sinead (booking desk), Sinead (restaurant) and, of course, Christy at the door. Looking forward to our next stay in a couple of months! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bastien Peyraud, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel
Responded Sep 5, 2020
Dear susanrO9714FK, Thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Imperial Hotel. It is as always great to welcome you back. A returning customer is the greatest compliment that we can receive. Thank you very much for especially mentioning our team members Sinead Ryan and Sinead McCarthy and of course Christy. They are indeed great ambassadors for the hotel. They will be thrilled to see your review also. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not so distant future. Best Regards, Bastien
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan C wrote a review Mar 2020
Limerick, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Was staying at the imperial for a training weekend with work, had an absolutely amazing stay and plan to stay there myself if I ever stay in Cork again.

Was greeted at reception Eoin, very friendly and knowledgeable about the hotel itself and the Cork city, rooms were lovely, very clean and came with a nespresso machine which was much appreciated. Beds were extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was fantastic, eggs cooked to order on request, great hot full irish buffet and a large selection of cold items and cereals. Lunch was carvery which was very reasonable for the quality of the food and service, everything was fresh and very friendly knowledgeable chefs who were very quick to accomodate my diet requirements.

Service throughout my stay was fantastic, when I had had questions regarding the menu the staff again were especiaslly knowledgable and helpful, especially Sinead and Mark. For dinner I had the boar starter which was very tasty and a perfectly cooked ribeye for my main course. Chocolate and strawberry cheesecake for the dessert was phenomenal.

In the bar the service was great and the wait was never too long regardless of how busy it got, Sophie and Kevin were two standout bartenders who are definitely an asset to the team. Sinead was also excellent about reccomendations on nightlife in the city.

During this training weekend I was genuinely made feel at home. Staff are so friendly and really give a personal touch. Cannot reccomend more.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: 242, very spacious and good sunlight througout the day
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BastienPeyraud-Imper, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear alancH4133LD, Thank you for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel, Cork. I'm delighted to hear that everything was to your liking during your stay with us and that certain aspects such as our staff, food and rooms were of particular enjoyment. I will make sure to pass on your mentions of our team. They will be very encouraged by your generous remarks. We really appreciate your review as it helps us understand what we are able to do to improve our Imperial experience for all our guests. I'm thrilled on this occasion that we were able to impress from start to finish. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I really hope that I get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future! My Best Regards, Bastien.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John M asked a question Jul 2023
1 contribution
Cork photos of therapist?
Answer from realucfan
Lawrenceburg, Indiana138 contributions79 helpful votes
Nope!
Answer from CarmenMilea
Cork, Ireland71 contributions10 helpful votes
Definitely for the hotel residents the gym it is free of charge, and surely can be booked in advance. Just email them. I was not allowed to post here the email for reservations.
Carl S asked a question Jan 2020
15 contributions8 helpful votes
Is the vitality suite free.
Answer from Kresimir Krezo
Cork, Ireland2 helpful votes
Hi Carl, The Vitality Suite is a Thermal Hydrotherapy Area and is unsuitable for children, minimum age requirement is 18. There is a €18 per person charge. Hope that help,
Sorrywhat7 asked a question Dec 2019
Melbourne, Australia8 contributions10 helpful votes
Where is the best place to park ?
Answer from Kresimir Krezo
Cork, Ireland2 helpful votes
Dear Sorrywhat7, We are happy to provide a limited number of car park spaces at the Union Quay car park, which is a private car park approximately a 4 minute walk from the Imperial Hotel Cork. The charge for the car park at the moment is €10.00 per day from 3pm on arrival to 12 noon on check out. You will need to check in to the hotel to get a pass for the car park. There is a set down area just outside our front door where you can leave your car for a few minutes while you check in. Our porters will be happy to deliver your luggage to your room while you park your car. Maximum height is 2 meters within the car park. We cannot pre-book parking, therefore, spaces are on a first come basis. Parking is free on South Mall directly opposite the main door of the hotel between 6.30pm and 8.30am from Monday to Saturday and all day Sunday. Have a fantastic day, The Imperial Hotel Family
Mary C asked a question Apr 2019
Limerick, Ireland1 contribution
Just wondering , do you have an outdoor hot tub ?
Answer from Claire P
Waterford, Ireland6 contributions
This hotel does not have an outdoor hot tub
Mike W wrote a tip Jul 22
Chester, United Kingdom53 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Scaffolding outside my window, but not a problem."
Read full review
Anthony E wrote a tip Jul 17
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"its a great hotel"
Read full review
Samantha L wrote a tip Jun 2024
Cork242 contributions159 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sketch and Spa fantastic - maybe stay somewhere else..."
Read full review
David wrote a tip Jun 2024
Worcester, United Kingdom140 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We recommend using the hotels nearby discounted parking facility and to do so simply pull up outside the hotel in the hotels drop-off area –"
Read full review
Catherine s wrote a tip Jun 2024
46 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms can be noisy and hotel lights shine directly in to some rooms"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cork area.
PRICE RANGE
C$291 - C$407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
imperial hotel with escape salon, imperial hotel cork
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCorkCentre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Imperial Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Imperial Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Imperial Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Céili by the Lee (0.2 km), Hysterical Histories Cork (0.4 km), and Nano Nagle Place (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Imperial Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Imperial Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Imperial Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Imperial Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Imperial Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elbow Lane Brew and Smokehouse, Market Lane, and Strasbourg Goose Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Imperial Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Imperial Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Cork.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Imperial Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Imperial Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Imperial Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
All Cork HotelsCork Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CorkHotels near The Imperial Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars