We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Booking.comUS$148*
View Deal
#6 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,894 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Maryborough Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,871: English reviews
WEXFORD
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for a weekend in January. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. Service was efficient and friendly. Sadly nothing else was. The first night we were continuously awoken by either passers by on the corridor, some of whom mistakenly tried to enter our room, or the constant creaking clatter of the door between the hall way and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank STRINGSWexford
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear STRINGSWexford, Thank you for choosing The Maryborough for your January break. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and the service you experienced in Bellini's Restaurant. However, we sincerely apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay, particularly with regards to customer service. Should you feel comfortable, please email hayes@maryborough.ie with the details of your...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband had a brilliant time all the staff lovely will be going back spa was amazing treatment was fab would have liked if termal spa was mixed as i was away with the hubby when we got to our room there was a bottle of bubbly and strawberries From the hotel just amazing fanstastic hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hayley, Thank you for choosing The Maryborough for your recent break away with your husband. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your treatment in the spa. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Kind Regards, Laura H. Digital Marketing Executive

County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Very good for an overnight business trip. Good wifi. Good gym, towels easily available and flavoured water! Staff very friendly and helpful. Eggs benedict for breakfast is a must - mmmmm! Biscuits in room a nice touch. Will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciarrai2014
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ciarrai2014, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent business trip to The Maryborough. We are happy to enjoyed your stay here and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for your compliments on the WiFi, gym facilities and breakfast. Please know that your feedback will be relayed to staff and...

waterford, ireland
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Stayed on Sunday night in hotel. Very pleasent and helpful lady on reception. Reception area could do with a bit of tlc. Our room was a twin deluxe which was nice. Thermal suite is small but fine. It was our first visit and it would have been nice if spa staff had shown us where everything was instead of having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joandun
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Joandun, Thank you for choosing The Maryborough for your recent mother and daughter spa break. We are delighted to read that you liked your room and enjoyed the food on offer in the hotel. We are delighted too, to know that you found our staff at reception and in the restaurant to be pleasant and attentive. Thank you for...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Great hotel in a lovely setting. It's not walking distance into Cork city but Douglas shopping centre & village is about 15 min walk away. Spa is lovely as are the staff (I had Ann-Marie for a back massage & definitely recommend her). Room was lovely, as was the breakfast & breakfast choice. The only thing would like to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Maryborough. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your spa experience and will be sure to pass your compliments on to Ann-Marie. We are happy too, to hear that you were pleased with your room and breakfast. Thank you for your feedback...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 21 February 2016

It was my first time and it won't be the last. I went to the hotel to have dinner with a friend and it exceeded my expectations!! We ordered the pork belly and the chicken roulade for the starters, and then, the lamb and the steak with a really good Italian wine (Primitivo di Manduria) and everything tasted delicious!!!!! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you so much for the glowing review of your dinner and drinks here at Bellini's Restaurant. Our chef and the kitchen team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food. Thank you too for the kind comments about the service you received from our staff. We will be sure to relay your compliments, particularly to...

Dublin
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Friendly and informative check-in. Lovely room - sympathetically decorated. Ate in the bar the first night. Had a freshly cooked burger - it was served with a nicely dressed salad and excellent chunky chips. We found the staff in the bar cheerful and positive. Great night's sleep - comfortable bed, silent room. Our first breakfast - the kitchen really is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DublinMaire
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Maire, Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Maryborough. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience during your visit. Thank you for your compliments about the decor, your bed and the service you received from our staff. We are delighted too, to hear that you enjoyed the...

Baile Átha Cliath
Reviewed 20 February 2016

I stayed here before at a wedding a few years ago and loved it. I decided to treat my two sisters to a weekend away - I had a LivingSocial deal for 2, and I added the third person to the room. When I arrived I was disappointed with my room, a 'deluxe room'. While there was nothing 'wrong' with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaireNM
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Maire, Thank you for choosing The Maryborough for your recent break away with your sisters. We are very happy to read that you found the food in the restaurant to be good and that you all enjoyed your spa experience. We apologise for any disappointment you experienced with your room on arrival but hope your second night's upgrade to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I have written many reviews but never about a hotel I haven't stayed in, haven't had a meal in and where I haven't in fact got much beyond the front door. However I feel my experience is relevant and may be helpful. At 5pm on the 5th December I arrived from London to the Maryborough Hotel to be told that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kate B
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kate, We sincerely apologise for any disappointment you experienced when you visited Cork last December. The flooding incident was entirely outside our control and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the other hotel. We understand that you have since been in contact with management and hope that this has been resolved to your...

Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

It was my second time here with my partner. The first time we were here I was 8 months pregnant with our first child so we got the spa room with the bath to relax. The first time our stay was so relaxing and tranquil we got the same room for valentines night (Our first night away in almost a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Niamh K
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Niamh, Thank you for writing a review of your stay here at The Maryborough. While we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your spa experience, we sincerely apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your time here. A technical error led to your note request being overlooked and management have since reviewed this procedure to ensure it does...

677 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (354)
Viewed
Amenities (92)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Balcony (36)
Viewed
King Suite with Garden View (47)
Viewed
Queen Room with Jacuzzi (37)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,361 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Price Range: $186 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maryborough Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cork, Ireland
over a year ago
Stoneham, Massachusetts
3 months ago
Cork, Ireland
Kildare, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Maryborough Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For a romantic getaway it must be in the top 5 in Ireland”
Ger222, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be far away from the wedding party if there is a wedding taking place in the hotel”
b_anglim, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the gardens and with a balcony.”
unigis1, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lower 200 rooms have patio, lower 300 rooms have single Juliet door balcony”
MariaW361, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a upgraded room with your own private terrace or balcony. Well worth the extra!!!”
ivanm882, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$148* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$148
TripAdvisorUS$148
Orbitz.comUS$148
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates