We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Metropole Hotel

Expedia.comUS$130
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$306*
US$130*
Great Deal
US$149*
US$149*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,715 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of The Metropole Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed today NEW

The Metropole, Cork is a comfortable, hotel in very good location - close to shopping, entertainment venues and tourist attractions. Old--world décor, but modern comforts. The friendly, helpful staff are very welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank acaomh_438245
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

Classic older hotel on convenient location. Room was basic and on street side which is a bit noisy when pubs close at 02:30 at least on weekends. Nice large bathroom with tub shower combination. Good pub/bar with full beer selection. Great restaurant with new menu that was superb. Wife had grilled sea bass and I had braised lamb both top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bocajohn
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel in the heart of Cork city. Loved the old world ambience. Friendly and professional staff. Got to mention Tereza! If your interest is the theatre, Everman Theatre is almost next door, Cork Arts Theatre a short walk and the Opera House across the bridge. You won't be disappointed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelkU5285YO
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

What a great hotel in Cork! Super clean and classy. Nice Bar on site that we enjoyed. Beautiful restaurant that we did not try, but it looked great. The service staff went out of their way to make our visit special. Anna at the front desk is a gem...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomassS6490NT
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thomassS6490NT, Thank you for your fantastic review, I'm delighted that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you for your kind words regarding Anna. She will be delighted that you mentioned her in your review. I do hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Kind regards Roger Russell General Manager rrussell@themetropolehotel.ie

Cheshire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel was great with good facilities. MacCurtain Street is small, but has loads of atmosphere, Theatre, Pubs and good restaurants. The Hotel Team are brilliant. A fatastic place to stay and explore Cork and the surrounding area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aragorn54
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aragorn5, Thank you for taking the time to send in such a positive review. MacCurtain Street has developed such a huge amount in recent years, we are very lucky to be a part of such an up and coming street that has a phenomenal amount of history in it as well. A particular thank you for your kind words...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is great. Hotel although a little old world is always friendly. Food in the bar is very good value and enjoyable. We go to Cork once a year to catch a show. The Everyman Theatre is our favourite and well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 212,223
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 212223, Many thanks for your review. I'm thrilled to hear our centrality continues to be an advantage to you during your stays with us. I'm delighted to let you know we have upgraded our menu and released a brand new one for the bistro, I hope you can come along and try it soon and we can get that...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent all round. Wonderful, well appointed accommodation. Very friendly & helpful staff. Very enjoyable dining experience, with extremely courteous and helpful staff. To cap it off, reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis M
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denis M, Thank you very much for taking the time to send in such a fantastic review. The words 'wonderful' and 'excellent' are such great compliments to receive regarding our team and the service they provide to all of our guests'. We strive each day to ensure our guests' have the best of everything during their stay, and that...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Metropole was just over the bridge to city centre of Cork. Parking was off-site but only a block down. Had a good range of amenities and facilities. Breakfast was available at an extra cost. Had a porter to take your luggage to your room. Nice touch

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KazzR64
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KazzR64, Thank you for you wonderful review. I'm thrilled to hear we met your expectations during your stay with us, and that our sublime location was of use to you to top it off, the city is really and truly just at our doorstep and I hope you found some time to explore Cork and all its history during...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

It was not the first time I stayed in this hotel, but I would like to get back in the future. There are some small issues you can face, f.i. the service in the hotel not always at best: when we asked for coffee to go, we had to wait for 20 minutes or so, but the building and old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your review. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time at the Metropole and that you can see the 'old lady' for what she truly is. The hotels 120th anniversary is indeed fast approaching which makes it one of the oldest hotels in all of Cork, and I can guarantee its enchanting old self is...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A good old-fashioned hotel. Unfortunately, rooms are not sound-proof and hearing old night your neighbour snoring or the corridor floor creaking is not a good experience. Breakfast is OK, staff friendly and efficient. Very well positioned for visiting the city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 513patricee
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 513patricee, Many thanks for your review. Both types of feedback are equally as important to us at The Metropole as it highlights both what are are doing well and what we can improve on. I do apologise for your poor nights sleep, upon your next booking please let us know and request a quiet room. I'm thrilled however, to...

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,358 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,470 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of Tifco Hotel Group, The Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Price Range: $127 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Metropole Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 month ago
10 months ago
Cork, Ireland
2 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Metropole Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River View rooms are a little quieter, but most are good, at the moment a high class refurbishment is in hand, but doesn't affect your stay.”
Aragorn54, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“We had a standard triple room - very small.”
KazzR64, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the 4th floor and had no noise issues.”
Saz241986, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“View of the river”
Gordon1860, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are less affected by the street noise,which can be loud on weekends.”
Padjo2014, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$130* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$149
Booking.comUS$149
AMOMAUS$306
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates