We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

For a family of four we got a fairly sized room, cannot complain on that, maybe on the fact that there was no soap. We could park the car inside, even though when we came back from the restaurant the first night it was not an easy parking ride. Room was OK, but certainly overpriced. The worst was the very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jlv31
Dublin
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The double room we were directed to was little more than a box room. The carpet was heavily stained. Access to the double bed was from one side only. Bottled hand soap is all that is provided for showering. No tea/coffee making facilities. €80/night, overpriced. Will never set foot in this place again.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Niall D
Ireland
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a place to be avoided. I had made reservation by phone and had confirmed by email. I had got acknowledgement of my email. I duly checked in the following evening. I spoke to a man whose name I subsequently established was Dominick. It appears that he is proprietor or co-proprietor. It was to him I had spoken on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank fearmishasta
Dublin
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I enjoyed a lovely stay at The Acton B/B. This is a friendly family run B and B on Western road which is very central. Comfortable bed. Clean room and bathroom lots of towels. Wi-fi available. The cooked breakfast was very good and there were several other continental options. The owners Dom and Una are very friendly and chatted over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2014

First time at Acton Lodge (which was easy to find due to the large noticeboard ) and would certainly recommend staying there.Having stayed on Western Road previously we knew what the area was like.On arrival we were shown to our accommodation which was in the annexe and given the code to operate the side gate.The room was large and spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1862tygh
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It would seem from reading the positive comments that the Lodge must be paying friends to write good reviews . I wouldn't recommend this lodge to my worst enemy . Staff unhelpful and the manner of the reply's to unhappy customers sums them up in one go . Smell from rooms . Dated decor . More strength from your tears...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jcurranballyrobin
waterford
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Acton Lodge has to be the Worst B&B I have ever stayed in . First of all I couldn't find the lodge tried to call 4 times for directions ,After getting very stressed driving up and down western rd ten times I finally got through on the 5th call . I checked in and went straight up stairs to have...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ukgwilson
smokeyCork, Owner at Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Sir I am so sorry that you were stressed even before you arrived at our house. Checkin time is from 4pm for bookng.com guests, of which you were one, but you arrived 3 hours early. The general tone of your review is one of total stress so I feel it would be unfair of me to stress you any further...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Second time to stay in this wonderful B&B - will return again. A delight to stay here. Very clean, very comfortable beds, excellent location, wonderful breakfast and friendly helpful staff (thanks Angela)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orf65
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Acton Lodge was very comfortable. We had a large room to accommodate the three of us. Everything was very clean and inviting. Great full Irish breakfast that is included in the price. Overall, a lovely experience in Cork.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane S
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I don't know how anyone could write a review of a facility they never entered, but this bed and breakfast was delightful inside and out! Spacious rooms and very clean bathrooms. There's a lovely courtyard in the back where you can keep your car in a gated area. The atmosphere was awesome, but the kind owners made the experience one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saywhattrip

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,284 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
702 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
1,036 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
846 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 61 in Cork
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Acton Lodge Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Price Range: $97 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In the lodge very quiet rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Dolcesusi, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
“In the building at the back of the hotel the upstairs rear rooms over look the park and university grounds which are very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles DianneGina, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Maybe call ahead about parking spots?”
 of 5 bubbles briankE4219BW, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“My room was big but facing the road, I did not mind, but the owner did offer me another room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles 988sy, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stay at home”
 of 5 bubbles NiallD771, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5