We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Central Hotel - Donegal

Orbitz.comUS$116*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$120*
US$116*
US$120*
US$120*
US$115*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Central Hotel - Donegal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

708 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Central Hotel - Donegal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 672: English reviews
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We were at the hotel for one night on our trip across Ireland. The rooms were very pleasant and large. The beds were very comfortable to sleep in. Breakfast was very good with a large selection of food. The showers were very good. Overall a very pleasant stay

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank albert m
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Albert, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review, we really appreciate all our guests comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels across the beautiful country of Ireland. Kindest Regards, The Central Hotel Team

Hazlet, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Great centrally located hotel. Great walking distance to all shops, attractions. Rooms were very comfortable and the staff were very engaging seeing to all your needs. Dining room was very good for a very large party. Food was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peggy K
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Peggy, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and our food. We hope to see you back again in the future. Kindest Regards, The Central Hotel Team

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great corner room with a view of the water. The beds were very comfortable. The room had a lot of room. The wifi worked well everywhere. The showers were very good. We used the pool and Jacuzzi and it had a steam room and exercise room too. The breakfast was plentifull and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tkere
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Tkere, Thank you kindly for taking the time to send us your comments, we appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed the leisure facilities in the Hotel, thank you for your kind comments in relation to our bedrooms, breakfast and staff. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest Regards, The Central Hotel Team

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

was due to stay at this hotel but was in the sister hotel the Abbey. However there is a weekly show of Irish Music and Dancers on a Tuesday evening costing €10 the show lasts about 2 and hours hours with a variety of instrumental music and dancing by young Irish dancers, the show was most enjoyable and a must...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter G
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our sister hotel, the Abbey Hotel. Thank you for your kind comment in relation to our Slice of Ireland Traditional night, we are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy this fantastic show during your...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel is central to all the pubs and shops. Staff where really nice Goash the manager was most helpful and always pleasant. The restaurant staff where always polite and helpful. The room was over looking the bay the only complaint would be the bed it was a standard bed not king size and very hard we where only staying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sara m
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Sara, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us, thank you for your kind comments in relation to our reception and restaurant staff, we will pass on your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest Regards, The...

Reviewed 5 August 2015

Booked into the Central Hotel in Donegal on Monday for a three day stay we could not book in until four o clock which is disappointing as we don't drive we took public transport so we were there at one thirty. Staff very pleasant our room had a lovely view it was clean although it could do with a makeover...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary L
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Mary, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your kind review, we really do appreciate it. We apologies that you were unable to check in when you arrived at 1.30pm and for any inconvenience that this may have caused, all our check-ins are from 3pm. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to...

Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed there on sat night booked it on line asked for nicest room as it was my wife's birthday Checked on guy in reception was not v nice We had to find our way to the bedrooms a d that was a maze Had to carry bags down stairs and my wife pregnant too Room v average shower cold water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oasis l
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Oasis, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate all guest feedback. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment regarding your stay with us, we thank you for your constructive criticism, this enables us to strive to keep the standards that Guests would expect when visiting us, thank you. We hope to see you back...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

The hotel could not do more for us during our stay. The room was lovely and cleaned every day. There is a full breakfast available every morning for something to suit everybody. We really enjoyed our stay at the Central and will be back in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rmm539
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Rmm539, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely reviews, we appreciate your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our Hotel and that you really enjoyed the extensive range of breakfast we have on offer each morning. We look forward to your return in the future. Kindest Regards The Central Hotel...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We stayed here on a recent trip around the country, it is as the title says! Central! a lovely buzz about the town when we stayed, tourists and buskers and a lot of fun, the staff were very nice and helpful in directing us where to go, as some of the sights in Donegal were off the beaten track. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank avi m
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Avi, Thank you for your very kind comments, we really appreciate them. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got the opportunity to visit the wonderful scenic areas along Donegal's northern coast line. Thank you for your kind reviews in relation to the hotel service you received, we are glad you enjoyed your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Lovely hotel located in the centre of Donegal town. Parking vouchers were provided everyday, with the car park a short 2 minute walk away. Rooms were of a generous size, however we had to shower without any hot water for our entire stay. The hotel staff were very friendly and provided us some great restaurant recommendations. Check-in is at 3pm,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shankar M
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Shankar, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate your comments. Please accept our apologies in relation to the hot water, I will pass your comments to the management. Thank you for your feedback as this enables us to strive to keep the standards that Guests would expect when visiting us. We hope to...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
22.9 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
713 reviews
22.1 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
774 reviews
23.7 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 km away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
383 reviews
24.3 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,945 reviews
14.1 km away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located in The Heart of Donegal Town on the doorstep of all local amenities and ideal base for touring County Donegal. The Central Hotel is situated near beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Sliabh League (the highest seacliff edge in Europe). Conveniently located for Glenveagh National Park and Glencolmcille Irish Folk Village - a must see! The beautiful County of Donegal has been voted "Coolest Destination 2017" by the famous National Geographic Magazine. Seasonal Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Address: | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Price Range: $150 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Central Hotel - Donegal staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Dunoon, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Annan, United Kingdom
Clydebank, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Central Hotel - Donegal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“369 was the small room we were first assigned”
anzosullivan, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sorry we only used the restaurant not the hotel”
csmart74, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the lake very nice , great view”
jacinta5550, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with river view. they're lovely!”
dcmerryton, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't use this hotel if you have mobility issues unless you get a ground or first room floor.”
65AnneM, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$116* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$120
TripAdvisorUS$115
TravelocityUS$116
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates