We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Merchant House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Merchant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Merchant House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

I stayed here with my husband three nights earlier this month. The accommodation was beautiful. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. Temple Bar can be very noisy and busy at night and we had a night club just over the ally but the double glazing worked a treat and we heard no noise. We were at the top...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda K
tetney
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

A fabulous venue for music. We went three times and each time there was a different act performing. The food was good, service was excellent and the beer was the best served in Dublin. Fantastic selection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayerich
co.meath
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Great spot in the the heart of the city if you are looking for good quality rooms at the right price this is the place for you decor really good comfortable bed high level of cleanliness every thing you need is thought of Welcoming Staff very friendly and informative cleaning Staff excellent and very helpful We will be back thanks

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank irl-gin-1
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

It's located just perfect, after I've booked it some people said that oh my god, Temple Bar, u can never sleep there. That is not true, we had Oscar Wilde Suite and there was absolutely no noise what so ever. It's really cool that u have ur own keys and total privacy to come and go as u please. Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kai D
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

I am never one to make a complaint but the way I was spoke to by one of the staff members in this hotel made me compelled to make my complaint heard, I was due to stay in this hotel on the 8th of April and was very much looking forward to it as it was for a 1st year...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank robertweir182
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we do remember this discussion so very well. It was most certainly not the way it is written here. Your reservation was cancelled by Booking.Com on 2 occasions because there was difficulty with your credit card , you did not respond to several telephone calls, you ignored emails from Booking.Com and The Merchant House. You were totally demanding...

Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Dublin for St Patrick's day, and we chose the Merchant House based on its ideal location in the heart of Temple Bar, and it's excellent feedback from previous guests. We stayed in the Oscar Wilde suite on the top floor, which was absolutely beautiful - wonderfully decorated, and a great open airy space - comfortable and spotless....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dazzler1977uk
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

What a great little find. Husband booked this for a weekend break in Dublin but we could only get it for one night. It's a hidden gem (sandwiched between a Thai massage parlour and a fetish shop) but don't let that put you off! Just off Temple Bar it's noisy outside but the additional glazing overcame that issue inside and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gail E
Scotland
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Top class hotel. Definitely a hotel to mark an occassion. Stayed in the James Joyce suite room was excellent. Right in the heart of Temple bar. Public car parking a stones throw away from hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel & would return here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank windsurfingstevo
Wolverhampton
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Visited in February for three nights. This hotel is literally a stones throw away from the Temple Bar pubs and night life but you cannot hear a peep once you are inside your room. Stayed in the Bram Stoker Room - lovely décor, incredibly comfortable bed. One minor niggle is the shower pressure but this is explained that hotels in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lalalala1234_15
Halesowen, West Midlands
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

A late review but still well deserved. We visited at Halloween weekend 2015. Checked into the Bran Stoker Suite and were so impressed with the attention to detail. after being met on arrival, we were briefed on how everything works and codes etc. This guesthouse does not have a manager on site 24/7. You come and go as you please...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bad_Cat29

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (177)
Viewed
Bram Stoker Suite (38)
Viewed
James Joyce Suite (42)
Viewed
Oscar Wilde Suite (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
WB Yeats Suite (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Clarence
#44 of 153 in Dublin
1,497 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#73 of 153 in Dublin
953 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#83 of 153 in Dublin
529 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
2,171 reviews
The Morgan
#33 of 153 in Dublin
2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merchant House is a restored award winning early Georgian building situated in Temple Bar, the cultural capital of Dublin City. The building in Eustace Street started out as a Merchant's house in the early Eighteenth Century. After extensive and lengthy refurbishment, luxury Guest Suites were created. It is our intention to offer our Guests spacious luxury Suites with total privacy in the heart of Dublin City. Our sound proof windows, beautiful furnishings, free Wifi and beautiful decor all help to create a relaxing environment for our Guests at a very affordable price. Breakfast is great value at €12 per Guest and served 1 minutes walk from The Merchant House. Some stairs to climb . All our Suites are called after Irish writers. Check In is by appointment with your personal Housekeeper. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Address: 8 Eustace Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D02 KX31, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Price Range: $246 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merchant House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Merchant House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Merchant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i understand they have a smaller room to the back but it's also the quietest with a room on top with fab views..”
 of 5 bubbles lizs105, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Close to points of interest”
 of 5 bubbles LouiseJ_13, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No lift, over 4 floors”
 of 5 bubbles H8205DElindak, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“If you have large luggage, try to get the Bram Stoker room or the one on the second floor - there's no elevator. Yeats was third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles lindsaypindsay, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Take the breakfast option you won't be disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles foxesfan1, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5