We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-11-05 2017-11-06
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Clarence

    6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-11-05 2017-11-06
     4 people are viewing this hotel
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$194US$208
    View Deal
    Traveller (408)
    Room & Suite (500)
    Dining (71)
    Overview
    • Excellent45%
    • Very good29%
    • Average15%
    • Poor6%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “octagon bar” (158 reviews)
    “temple bar” (398 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Buffet
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Concierge
    Wheelchair Access
    Conference Facilities
    Dry Cleaning
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    Nov 5Nov 6
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$194
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$194
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$194
      View Deal
    View all 30 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (1,750)
    There are newer reviews for The Clarence
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    21 - 25 of 1,612 reviews

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We paid 457 Euros for two nights. We expected a boutique hotel experience more or less. This is a glorified dorm room. 1. The rooms are no frills. Very old school oak furniture with a 60's/70's vibe (not in a vintage this is cool way)....More

    Thank Justin K
    Response from PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The ClarenceResponded 2 weeks ago

    It's disappointing to read you did not seem to enjoy your stay with us at The Clarence and that you consider our rooms to be anything less than they are, as in order to be awarded our 4* standard our rooms need to be, and...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    The Clarence is situated in the heart of the city (Temple bar), a great location! The rooms are spacious and stylish. The beds are big and very comfortable. We had fully Irish breakfast which was very delicious. The staff is nice and very helpful. We...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank milenamF2818RP
    Response from PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The ClarenceResponded 2 weeks ago

    Its wonderful to read all the positive comments in your review and we hope your return visit isn't too far in the future.

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    The hand basin in the bedroom was half blocked so the water drained slowly. Not a single comfortable chair so I had to sit on the bed to read and it was difficult because the lighting is very poor. Not easy to read in this...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank monil527
    Response from PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The ClarenceResponded 2 weeks ago

    It's a pity to read your review indicating you did not enjoy your stay to the level we hope for all guests and your feedback will be taken on board and where possible we will aim to improve the experience for future guests which we...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Room was nice and quiet even hotel is just is in Temple bar area. Food was good and staff were nice and helpful. Price of the room is a bit high. Hotel is in the walking distance from most of the places to visit.More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank matti_nurminen
    Response from PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The ClarenceResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Clarence and for you kind words. Pricing is always dependent on time of year, day of the week, room type booked among other factors. With this in mind we hope you'll make a...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Even though this is an older hotel, the place is very nice!!! Rooms are nice size with comfy sheets. Bathrooms have lots of room, nice towels. The bathtub has a shower curtain and does get in the way when showering, but not much you can...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank cindyb1973
    Response from PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The ClarenceResponded 2 weeks ago

    It's great to read you found the team here to be helpful during your stay and we appreciate the kind comments in your review. We hope to see you back at The Clarence again next time you're here in Dublin.

    Temple Bar Hotel
    2,333 reviews
    #38 of 150 hotels in Dublin
     
    Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
    2,664 reviews
    #36 of 150 hotels in Dublin
     
    The Morgan
    2,908 reviews
    #40 of 150 hotels in Dublin
     
    The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
    2,484 reviews
    #8 of 150 hotels in Dublin
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Room Service
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Laundry Service
    • Concierge
    • Banquet Room
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Conference Facilities
    • Room amenities
    • Minibar
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$164 - US$389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
    • #50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
    • #53 Business Hotel in Dublin
    • #56 Family Hotel in Dublin
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 50
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Ireland >
    • Province of Leinster >
    • County Dublin >
    • Dublin
    • Also Known As
    • The Clarence Hotel Dublin ,
    • Clarence Hotel Dublin ,
    • Clarence Dublin
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (408)
    Room & Suite (500)
    Dining (71)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (285)
    Bathroom (35)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    The Morgan
    2,908 reviews
    .38 km away
     
    The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
    2,484 reviews
    .13 km away
     
    Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
    2,664 reviews
    .37 km away
     
    Temple Bar Hotel
    2,333 reviews
    .44 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Stage Door Cafe
    439 reviews
    .06 km away
    Fish Shack Cafe
    860 reviews
    .07 km away
    Bad Bobs Temple Bar
    1,143 reviews
    .07 km away
    Corfu Greek Restaurant
    710 reviews
    .08 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Olympia Theatre
    376 reviews
    .13 km away
    The Porterhouse Brewing Company
    520 reviews
    .06 km away
    National Photographic Archive
    30 reviews
    .12 km away
    Temple Bar Food Market
    41 reviews
    .10 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    pawski
    5 June 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Chris T | Reviewed this property |
    You need to ask the hotel directly, I just reviewed it. Chris
    0
    Votes
    rpdotcodotuk
    13 May 2017|
    AnswerShow all 7 answers
    Response from Tracey H | Reviewed this property |
    No, but I'm sure there is one quite local.
    1
    Vote
    terri822014
    27 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from | Reviewed this property |
    Sorry, I don't know
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Higher floors are better but ones overlooking the water are very noisy at night."
    Read review
    "Keep your window open at night for cool air."
    Read review
    "Be aware that the upgraded rooms with balcony face the back side of the hotel (no river views)"
    Read review
    "River side rooms are quieter, even though they're on the main road!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing