We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Clarence

Show Prices
#43 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Clarence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,493 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Clarence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,369: English reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Nice clean rooms, excellent food and breakfast, staff are very helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble, location perfection close enough to the action but just far enough away to get a good nights sleep, only moan was the room we had got pretty hot at night opening the windows we got traffic noise, but this paled into insignificance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review The Clarence following your recent. I'm happy to read the overall positive content and it's a pity that you found your room a little too warm and as a result of trying to alleviate this you were impacted on by noise. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This hotel is in a great location right in the heart of Temple Bar. The room was big and with a great bathroom The staff very friendly and helpful. Overall good value for money for a great hotel. I wish I had been staying for longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

David, thanks for the review of The Clarence following your stay with us. It's always great to know a guest enjoyed their time here and we hope your next stay with us is longer!

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2015

stayed for 2 nights , large stunning room very clean with beautiful bathroom the only thing was that everything appeared to carry a price, such as using the slippers no view from the room but will be back later this year for second visit. lovely area opposite the check in to have a coffee near the fire

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindyloo6
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing The Clarence having stayed with us earlier this year. It's a pleasure for us to receive 5* reviews such as yours and it's great to know you'll return to us. If there are slippers in your room, these are on a complimentary basis and there is no charge for these so please feel free to use...

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

So my stay started with a room upgrade, nice! Room was large but shabby and need of a good repair. Bathroom in particular was run down and even left with broken glass in the window. TV has about 8 channels. Restuarant manager has the personality of a brick. Not really interested in guests. I was left waiting to be sat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick19831
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review The Clarence following your stay with us this month. I'm disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your time here at the hotel. I will certainly pass your comments regarding the restaurant onto the management of Cleaver East, however in relation to the bedroom and so that we can rectify the shortcomings...

Chandler, Arizona
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Overall, a great experience. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food in restaurant was good -- well presented breakfasts. Only downside would be late night noise. The total location is very central and great for starting out your day in Dublin -- you can walk to most of the major tourist attractions. But it is also very close to the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank declanb429
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at The Clarence. While I'm glad to read the initial opening positive comments, It's a pity to read the downside mentioned. I hope the late night noise didn't impact too negatively on your stay and that you will return for another visit in the future.

Washington DC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

This may sound weird, but I just checked in, been in my room only a few minutes, and i am profoundly in love with this hotel. Subdued. Quiet. Well appointed. Blond wood everywhere. My room smells like, I don't know what, but it is beautiful. Lots of room. i have a view over some rooftops, something I usually cannot stand...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ARuse
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for such a lovely review just based on first impressions. We hope the rest of your stay here met your expectations and we hope this will just be the first of many enjoyable stays here at The Clarence

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We stayed here on the 6 September for my partners birthday after reading the excellent trip advisor reviews. The place did not disappoint. We had a lovely upgrade to a river view suite, the decor was lovely and the bed comfy and best of all, all the staff could not do enough to help you. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyMunday
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's a pleasure to read such a nice review and thanks for choosing to stay at The Clarence when celebrating your partners birthday. I'm glad to read that the team here were helpful and that you'd recommend The Clarence. We hope you have the chance to enjoy a return visit in the near future, perhaps for your own birthday next...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2015

The staff were very friendly, the room was lovely, thankfully it had double glazed windows as it can get a bit noisy in the temple bar area. The restaurant had a selection on the Menu and the food was first class.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon_shaza
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing The Clarence for your recent stay in Dublin. I'm happy to read that you liked our hotel and that you found our team here to be friendly. I've also passed your compliments on the Cleaver East regarding the menu & food. We hope that if you make another trip back to this side of the world you'll...

St helens
Reviewed 7 September 2015

I will start with the positives, well located hotel in the heart of Temple Bar. The concierge/ reception staff when checking out where polite and informative of the local area. But the whole stay was ruined by an incompetent reception manager, James, his actions caused embarrassment to myself and my wife and spoiled what was to be an enjoyable wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark R
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's disappointing to read of your recent less than satisfactory stay here at The Clarence. I know that the entire matter has been dealt with by direct contact and I hope this has been to your satisfaction.

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 6 September 2015

From the moment we arrived until we departed we had excellent service from friendly staff. Our room overlooked the River Liffey with a balcony. This was a definite plus when choosing a room. We would book the Clarence again when we return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richclift
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review The Clarence following your recent stay. I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to welcoming you back.

845 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (360)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (141)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (440)
Viewed
Double Room with Balcony (48)
Viewed
Garden Suite with Terrace (55)
Viewed
Penthouse (166)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Suite (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Twin Bedroom (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,586 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 151 in Dublin
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,347 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarence boasts fifty bedrooms and suites, along with our world famous Penthouse Suite. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Our furnishings are simple: classic Shaker oak, beds dressed in cool white linen, sitting elegantly in contrast to a palate of vibrant cardinal colours, rich drapes and luxe carpets. We aim to provide all the simple needs of our guests and we offer 'round the clock room service and all rooms have complimentary WiFi as standard. Our city centre location means car space is at a premium, but we do have a small underground car park that can be reserved for a small nightly supplement. It is also worth noting that our location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. In the bowels of our building you will find the luxurious cocktail and food bar The Liquor Rooms, home to Dublin's arts set and the first ROI bar ever to be nominated in the prestigious Tales of the Cocktail Spirited Awards. On our first floor, overlooking the River Liffey lies The Cleaver East Suite at The Clarence, which can be reserved for special occasions, from large weddings to intimate business meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $178 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clarence staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Clarence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room for one person”
 of 5 bubbles brigitte378, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher up the better to avoid the Temple Bar late night noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 891PeterR, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you don't want the boom boom boom of Temple Bar all night request a waterside room..”
 of 5 bubbles 20paular, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The room was nothing special ”
 of 5 bubbles Betty242, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a higher-level floor on the street side to avoid both street noise and the late-night bar on the inner (courtyard) side.”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5