We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,647: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Lovely hotel with very good service, only issue we had was at check in we were told our hotel room booking had been cancelled (not by us) but this was very quickly rectified. Stayed here with a friend for a few days for a concert. Situated on O'Connell street there are plenty of options for eating out and bus/taxi ranks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Kerry C Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely...

Reviewed 13 April 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Gresham for his birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. There wasn’t ever any noise to keep us awake at night and the staff were polite and friendly. They give you the option to check in online and you can let them though around what time you will arrive. This was good for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Anna C Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Firstly, this hotel is in a great location. About 300 yards around the corner you can pick up the Airlink 747 for €10 return to the airport. 5 minute walk down the road puts you in the city centre, and the main high street. There are a number of small supermarkets no more than 2 minutes walk away. The Dublin...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jack C
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

This big, impressively frontaged icon of Dublin's city centre is like a sweet treat that just doesn't taste quite as you expect when you get the wrapper off... The lobby and conference area is being renovated so false walls, boards to walk on over carpets and printed paper signs are how you are expected to navigate your way around; all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicSou
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear NicSou Thank you for your comments following your stay at The Gresham Hotel. We are currently refurbishing our lobby area, which will be completed in May 2015. During this time, we have erected false walls to shield the works taking place. There is signage to direct our guests and they are printed on paper, along with a minimal amount...

Kettering, Northamptonshire
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, very impressed with the hotel, very plush looking. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding with a wide choice which was all help yourself. Staff very friendly. Would most definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Nicky W Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We enjoyed our stay - two nights - at The Gresham. We primarily chose this hotel for its location. Close to restaurants, bars, and shopping on Henry St and Grafton. The only negative was their WIFI. Our room had a very weak signal and we had to sit in specific areas to get a decent signal. Our daughter and family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Linda S Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I have sent you a private message concerning your WIFI signal and to ascertain the room you had stayed in. In an...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015

I stayed at this hotel along with my girlfriend for just the one night. Wanting to make the most of Dublin City on our trip to Ireland made staying there the best way of achieving this. Once you make your way up the steps (trying to avoid the smokers that seemed to always be there) you're greeted by a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MCFCarl
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear MCFCarl Dear christina123134 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours...

Derrylin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Great experience on recent stay in Gresham . Staff are friendly and courteous . Breakfast very good with lots of choice Lobby refurbishment taking place with little disturbance. Look forward to new lobby as seen in pictures .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christina123134
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear christina123134 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We are all excited about the lobby nearing completion and will be open in May. If yourself, or any reader, wishes to view...

Reviewed 11 April 2015

We stayed at the Gresham Hotel for 3 nights. We checked in online the previous day and I was able to select arrival between 12pm and 1pm even tho rooms arent to be ready until after 3pm. At 12.15pm on the day of arrival I got a text message to say the room was ready so this was a brilliant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris r
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear chris r Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your comments regarding Toddys. Whilst it is criticism, we value all feedback whether good or bad as this allows...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Stayed in the Gresham for 3 nights 21 Mar. We did advanced check in which made things easier and staff on reception were efficient and pleasant. Hotel is easy to get to and from the Airport by bus and is Central for Sightseeing and Shopping. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel however we ate in the restaurant on 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacklin5460
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Jacklin5460 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely Andrew...

1,121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (649)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
Bathroom (64)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (276)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (459)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Elizabeth Taylor Suite (89)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #408 (60)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #442 (69)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 km away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
4,233 reviews
0.6 km away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 km away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
2,376 reviews
2.1 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Toddy's Bar and Bistro
Toddy's Bar and Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Iconic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare, renovated during 2014 and 2015. Excellent proximity to major attractions, business districts, Dublin Convention Centre, Croke Park, 3 Arena, Rail, Bus Stations and shops. Easily accessible from Dublin Airport via Aircoach and Dublin Bus (bus stop at front door of hotel). Free Wi-Fi. Car Parking Available €17.00 overnight rate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Price Range: $124 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had a room with a view of O'Connell street, 4th floor and we were never woken by any noise so it was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles KieranBrighton, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room in the inner sanctum areas as outside wall rooms could be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 944AndrewB, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“higher floor away from lifts!”
 of 5 bubbles Privatedancer, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on top floor”
 of 5 bubbles tinsley27, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room at the back is very quiet -- lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles Cobblerstravels, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5