We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Academy Plaza Hotel

#45 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Academy Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,486: English reviews
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 23 December 2014

I thought the hotel was lovely however the room was very disappointing. It was the size of a broom cupboard, considering we paid 219euro. The tea & coffee facilities didnt work, no view whatsoever, the only view we had was the next day of a whino passed out right outside the hotel doors. The staff however were lovely, we just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carmel R
Owen C, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I am glad that overall you found our hotel and our staff to be lovely. I am sorry to discover that you did not feel your room was good value for money, unfortunately due to the nature of trip advisor I cannot look up your reservation to see what room...

Sheffield
Reviewed 22 December 2014

The hotel is really easy to find just off the top end of O’Connell Street. It’s literally a 2 minute walk from the ‘Air-coach’ O’Connell Street stop. Temple Bar is around a 20 minute walk from the hotel. The Air-coach goes direct from the airport, and the journey takes around 20 minutes at a cost of 12 euros return ticket....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank liveyourlifebefree
Wilrijk, Belgium
Reviewed 20 December 2014

This is a very good and clean hotel in the center of Dublin. Located close to Upper O' Connell Street. Buses and airlink are nearby. The reception is very helpfull and friendly. The room and bathroom are spacious. The are a lot of good restaurants and several kind of bars around. I surely go again next time when I visit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JeffreyDR
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2014 via mobile

For the price, the location is great and overall we were very pleased. The room was clean and well presented. The only problem we had was the iron didn't work. We went to a birthday celebration but unlike any other hotel they do not make any gesture. Not that this mattered. Over all very pleased. Would recommend and we would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HotGirl99
Preston
Reviewed 19 December 2014

After visiting this well situated and friendly hotel again we were not disappointed, we stayed for 2 nights 16th/17th December on a B/B basis to soak up some of Dublin's Christmas atmosphere, we where not disappointed, from friendly reception staff on check in, the staff behind the bar and the restaurant staff, everyone made us feel so welcome. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Normski214
Reviewed 19 December 2014

this is rather well dressed place to stay by national holiday or just a quick one night stop there plenty to eat for when ur breakfast time ready for you in the breakfast bar till 10am there plenty of shops and mrs browns boys market moore street market to so this is a rather handy for the place it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rodney Jason R
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2014

Was really impressed with this hotel. Ideal position, very clean and really friendly. Will certainly return on future visits. Room was really good and very quiet. Buffet breakfast was good value for money. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Balbyblade
manchester
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile

Great location and for what we paid can't complain about anything, good breakfast, think we were put in a disabled access room so plenty of room and floor level shower, free internet too!, reception staff were friendly and polite, iron/hairdryer were a nice touch that you don't always get

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank themightyreddevils
Dublin
Reviewed 16 December 2014

We had a very noisy room because of a party in the pub next doorWe complained at the reception desk.The staff was very understanding.Within 10 minutes we could move to a quiet room on another floor.Excellent service!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marleenv29
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2014

This hotel is exactly what I expect from a large chain. The bedroom is of an average size, the bathroom is adequate. The lobby is clean and tidy. Nothing about this hotel surprised me, delighted me or let me down. I am entirely satisfied without feeling the need to recommend it to anyone. Probably it's best selling point apart from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank steersy73

1,294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (790)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (259)
Viewed
Bathroom (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (125)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (248)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (469)
Viewed
Double Room (63)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (76)
Viewed
Family Room (75)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Suite (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Twin Room (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.5 km away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
2,477 reviews
2.3 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
1,827 reviews
1.0 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $176 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Academy Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
92 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (92)

Questions? Get answers from Academy Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check room out first”
gallivangreg, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Expect a small room and tight spaces. Photos were misleading. Nice look but not top quality of construction or function.”
FoodnWine101, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask if room overlooks "The LIving Room" if it does change it.”
N9859OGjohnh, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Clean and quiet rooms”
lindanG3179CE, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Think good views on all floors..”
_grainne_donald, 1 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates