We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Hotel

Expedia.comUS$205*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
Panoramas (28)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,884 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,489: English reviews
Start your review of Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is well located in central Dublin and popular (was full when we stayed). The walls are paper thin and was woken by the bloke next door snoring. Our friends suffered with someone walking around above them at 03:00 am. The corridors creaked as people passed and more. SO not a great sleep. The rooms were old and OK, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We were going to the Dublin dance festival and stayed in the Castle Hotel. A wonderful warm inviting place, staff were absolutely excellent, and the bathroom looked like we were the first ones to use it. Will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was in a fantastic central location for a fantastic price, the staff were most helpful and the breakfast was to die for! The only thing i would say is that the room was very warm so could have used some air con.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heidijunecatlin
Y_OKeeffe, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear heidijunecatlin Thank you for your lovely review which I have read out to our lovely breakfast team this morning to big smiles :) Unfortunately as the building is over 200 years old it would be very difficult to retro fit air conditioning (which is still quite rare in Ireland as we generally don't get extreme weather conditions) that said...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The walls are so thin, you can almost hear a mosquito fart in the hall. Sadly I had a room near a snoring person, so I didn't get much sleep. It was like I had the person in the room with me. So do not book this hotel if you want a good night sleep. The house is very old,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janne K
Y_OKeeffe, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janne K Thank you for your feedback I am sorry to read that you did not sleep well during your recent stay. The house is old it was built in 1769 by one of the most important architects of the period John Ensor and we have tried to restore the building whilst maintaining all of the original features. The...

Southport, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Staff all friendly and very helpful. Great breakfast service, bar area and entertainment. It may be old and creaky but I throughly enjoyed my stay, it is in a quieter part of the city of Dublin but still close enough to all the sights and pubs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
Y_OKeeffe, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie W Thank you for your kind review, I am glad you found the hotel location suited your needs we are just off the Main Street so as you say just far enough to be away from the crowds but still close enough to walk to most of Dublin's top attractions. The hotel is old it was actually built...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As per my 2 previous visits its been an enjoyable stay. Here to celebrate our honeymoon and the hotel laid on few little gestures that were much appreciated. Nice breakfast every morning and lovely friendly staff. Would recommend to friends and family

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim J
Y_OKeeffe, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim J It was our pleasure to welcome you back to the Castle Hotel & it was indeed an honor that you chose us to spend your honeymoon with :) We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the few "honeymoon" extras which are organised by our Front Office Manager Gillian. Thank you for continuing to recommend us...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel from October 10th to the 17th of 2016 as part of my first solo vacation to the UK. The first thing I will say is the hotel is both hard to locate and then easy to find once you have been there. There was so much construction around the city center of Dublin when I went,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amtj2008
Y_OKeeffe, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amtj2008 Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay, there has been a lot of road works in the city centre in recent years whilst the new Tram line was being constructed, thankfully the new line is due to open in 2017 so Dublin as a small city will...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My sister and I recently stayed at the Castle Hotel in Dublin for four nights. We loved it! Granted, it cost more than other hotels we stayed at, but we felt more at home at the Castle. The staff was excellent, the Irish breakfasts were fabulous and it was close to everything. I highly recommend the Castle Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Y_OKeeffe, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda W Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted you and your sister felt like royalty during your stay, the staff all do their best to ensure that our guests visit to Dublin is enhanced by their experience at the Castle Hotel and we try to do this by providing a warm welcome and a friendly atmosphere....

Courtice, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was visiting Dublin solo so it was important to find a reasonably priced single room which was close enough to central Dublin to walk to. The room was tiny, but very clean and the maid came in to clean and tidy it daily, although she didn't need to. The hotel itself is charming. It's the oldest in Dublin but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa742
Y_OKeeffe, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teresa742 Thank you for your kind review. The Castle Hotel is an ideal location for a solo female traveller as although we are quite a large hotel it is run like a family establishment with friendly staff many including myself have worked here for many years. We have many solo regular visitors who return to us for their holidays...

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

About 10-15 minute walk to the centre. Hotel was clean and tidy, room was on the back so quiet (apart from fellow guests occasionally slamming doors)....Staff friendly and helpful. Plenty on offer from the buffet style breakfast, but you do need to keep your bacon warmer - it's cool !!....Great place from which to visit the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart R
Y_OKeeffe, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stewart R Thank you for your kind review, I just wanted to add a little information about the location of the hotel to my response just to clarify the location of the hotel. The Castle Hotel is in the City Centre of Dublin just 2 minutes walk from O'Connell Street which is Dublin's principal thoroughfare, adjacent to the hotel...

883 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (399)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (149)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (449)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (42)
Viewed
Standard Family Triple Room (50)
Viewed
Standard Quad Room (73)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (41)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,311 reviews
0.2 km away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.2 km away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
4,408 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 km away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $191 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back away from O'Connell Street.”
Teresa742, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay out of room 106”
tripperian, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the car park side as O'Connell St. is in the city centre.”
elizabethm776, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask if a quiet room is available”
465valb, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room with a view of the church.”
ZoeBooton, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$205* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$418
Booking.comUS$214
CancelonUS$207
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates