We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel Dublin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,867 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,286: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

It was a great place, great location very good atmosphere, I stayed when they had open mic night and it was really cool to see people from all over the world singing and playing instruments, good food, friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tayler M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A really good value for money option to crash while in Dublin. Like all hostels the rooms are basic, we shared a triple private room and for a hostel in Europe it was very roomy. The bathroom was no frills but everything clean, tidy and in great working order. The only thing I would say is they don't provide lock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hebe94
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked my room at 8pm. Went and put all of my things in my locker. Came back at midnight and someone was sleeping in the bed I was assigned, Went and told the front desk and they gave me an attitude all the way to my room. Was given new bed clothes to put on a different bed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. I am sorry to hear your stay wasn't as pleasant as you hoped. Unfortunately it does happen that other guests don't sleep in the correct assigned beds but they was definitely not your fault and I do apologise that you were given attitude. I will discuss this with...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at the Generator Dublin for three nights. It's located a bit outside of downtown but you can reach the Temple bar easily by foot in about ten minutes. The hostel is very modern and clean. Cool bar as well. Plus: You'll find the Jameson distillery in the same building. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Swiss
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to work very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overnight my experience was good. The staff is ok, restaurant/bar is nice, but I wouldn't stay there again just because of its location. Its far from the attractions, so either you walk 20/30 minutes or you get transportation. I prefer to walk so I would choose something more central. Don't forget your locker!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CintiaNCas
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall however I am sorry to hear you found the location to far away. Again, thanks for your comments. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

I guess it's an ok hostel considering the area where is located and the cheap price for a bed but I would definitely not recommend it if you're traveling on a budget since it has no kitchen whatsoever and no supermarkets nearby (the one in front of the hostel doesn't count, since it's considered a "luxury" supermarket for the locals)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guadalupe M
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy some elements of your stay. We don't have a self catering kitchen as we have ample food and beverage options for guests to avail of. Again, thank you for all your comments as we can review each of them now. Kind...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, was so central to everything and it was not what I was expecting. Would fully recommend this hotel to people in groups. There where 5 in our party and we payed for the 6 bed dorm was perfect for us. Totally go and get a burger in the restaurant too possibly the best burger I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay. Also delighted to hear you enjoyed the burger!! Hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have nothing bad to say about this place. I think I should point out there is nothing fancy about it but I've to say I was quite surprised with it. For the price we paid, it was a great place to get a good night's sleep. It also had a comfy-looking restaurant/dining hall although we didn't try the food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaS00
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. Hopefully see you back again in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel was quiet as it was after the holidays (4th January). Booked a 6-bed room but got upgraded to a 4-bed which was really spacious. Sink in the room was useful in saving you a trip to the bathrooms for washing your hands. Large common areas and plenty of showers and sinks on the bathrooms. No hair dryer in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kostis M
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall however I do apologise re: the hair on your duvet and I will pass this information onto housekeeping for a review. We hope to see you back in Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Madrid
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the amount we pay (I don't care it was Christmas holidays) I was expecting a complimentary breakfast, at least tea and toast. The breakfast and drink options are too expensive, but not the food for lunch/dinner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Concepcion M
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. As we have 540 beds in the hostel we cannot offer complimentary breakfast but there is a lot of deals in food and beverage that make us very competitive for a city centre location. Again, thank you for your comments. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

620 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (366)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (161)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,196 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#30 of 150 in Dublin
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,183 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 100 in Dublin
1,717 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#7 of 100 in Dublin
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $33 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Alberta, Canada
7 months ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago
Manchester
5 months ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to jacobs inn on talbot instead. Much nicer management and facilities. PLUS free breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles mattdU6670OR, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Disability access is poor.”
 of 5 bubbles Z7990NKjennys, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“According to your gender, try to pick the good bathroom floor otherwise you need to take your shower to the other floor”
 of 5 bubbles juliee262, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book in advance and get a private room, it's almost the same as paying for a cheaper hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles angelabZ8599XQ, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms on the 4th floor seemed very quiet considering this was a hostel”
 of 5 bubbles Saintphil23, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay