We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Show Prices
#58 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,060: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I stay in the Alexander very regularly which is testament in itself to how highly I rate this hotel. The location is one of the best in Dublin, centrally located, yet in a quiet part of town. All of the main attractions are within walking distance. The staff make a massive effort to make you feel welcome and go out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerry M
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review on Tripadvisor. We as a Team endeavor at all times to offer the complete guest experience and we are delighted you found this to be the case, It is what keeps our repeat guests coming back to us and this for us is the true measure of our...

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Good hotel , nice room with modern facilities. Very large bar area with great service at the bar. We had a private reception for our group which was handled well. The location is excellent for the superb restaurants and bars locally and the shopping area is also only 10 minutes walk away. Nice large lobby as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barneyq101
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments. The team were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us including of course our wonderful location right in the heart of Dublin's city...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I booked this hotel for 10 journalists from Latin America, Europe and the Middle East and myself to stay in for a business trip. While I had no issues with WiFi in my room (on the 5th floor), more than half of the reporters (on the 3rd, 4th and 6th floors) had either unstable Internet or no access at all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RobGH2
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting such a comprehensive review of your stay on Tripadvisor. All feedback is extremely important to us as it allows us to improve and maintain the first class level of service that we strive to provide at all times. We were disappointed however to see that you have some issues during your stay. The Hotel...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

The O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel has seen better days. My room had a worn, stained carpet; a bathroom with mildew and a broken toilet-paper holder; a shower head that did not properly aim away from the curtain, and a lumpy king size bed that seemed to be two twins stuck together. The WiFi worked well, the temperature was reasonable, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhoAmIToday
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your kind comments about the team - we really appreciate the feedback as our guest experience is so important to us here. We were disappointed however to see that you have some issues during your stay. The Hotel is undergoing a major...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

On the positive side the staff were very friendly and helpful. But this feels like a tired hotel in need of an upgrade. My room was too cold (they did provide a heater); the corridors were freezing, reception and breakfast room overheated so it felt like 4 climate zones in one place. Wifi disappeared (apparently an 'outside source' problem). And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JojoW6
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting a review of your stay on Tripadvisor. All feedback is extremely valuable to us here in the Alexander Hotel and we take on board any constructive critism given and use it to improve our service. I am truly sorry that you had such a bad stay with us and I would urge you to contact me...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

The rooms are lovely and spacious and a very large comfortable bed. The bathroom is a bit tight and a small bit dated. Breakfast was lovely but the bar leaves a lot to be desired. The boys all had Guinness was was absolutely awful. Didn't have any proper pint glasses for the drinks...which was a pity .. Staff very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay on Tripadvisor All feedback is extremely valuable to us here in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel and we take all your comments on board to enable us to improve and enhance our service. We do pride ourselves on our guest experience and as a team we...

Reviewed 18 November 2016

Stayed here recently for one night. The hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of Dublin City and I would not hesitate to recommend it. The room was lovely and very quiet. The bed was comfortable and ensured a good night's rest. The breakfast was very good and the service was top class. There was only one problem. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corkber
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments. We were pleased to read how much you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us including of course our wonderful team. We are very sorry that on this occasion you...

Clark, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Room was clean, bathroom very well taken care of. Arriving at 5:30 in morning our room was really for us that was very nice. Staff was always helpful. Great location close to shopping and pubs. Great place to start a tour.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jobill54
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments. The team were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us including of course our wonderful location right in the heart of Dublin's city...

Ireland
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Really helpful staff. Wonderful location in the centre of Dublin so that all attractions are within walking distance. Public transport to other more distant locations in town are also close. Nice lounge area and good choice of menu options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sightseeing2008
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. As we here in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel are so passionate about our guest experience we are always delighted to receive such positive feedback - it makes all our hard work worthwhile to know you have enjoyed our service. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location in the heart of Dublin's...

New York
Reviewed 13 November 2016

not a 4 star hotel- maybe a 3 - no internet working in the rooms - had to go to lobby and that was one of the items i was looking for when booking. The room was very hot and could not get the ac/air to regulate. 2 nights of out 3 they had events in the hotel and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 718jbnyc

494 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (316)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Classic King Room (94)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 km away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
1.1 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#57 of 150 in Dublin
3,116 reviews
0.5 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,347 reviews
1.0 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dublin City centre O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel was the third hotel in the O'Callaghan Hotels group on the corner of Merrion Square. This luxury 4 star hotel in Dublin welcomes you into its spacious lobby where you will be greeted with a warm welcome. Located off one of the corners of Merrion Square, O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is close to the Georgian Squares where business and culture are intertwined and is only a few minutes walk from Trinity College and shopping street, Grafton Street. Our 4 star hotel offers luxury facilities, contemporary design and personalised service in these quiet surroundings in one of the most beautiful areas of city centre Dublin. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $133 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take rooms on the front side as there's nothing much to look out at to the read.”
 of 5 bubbles 82nigels, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The best tip I could offer is to pick a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles VincentTUK, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had great rooms, beds so comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles patricia_bellestar, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“5th floor if you want WiFi access”
  • Near guest seating area
  • Burn on desk
  • Tiling next to tub
  • Near closet
  • Dirty bottom of bathtub
  • This is one of many places in the shower where they haven't cleaned the mold/mildew.
  • The room was very cold so they had to bring a portable heater - not just for me but for colleagu
 of 5 bubbles RobGH2, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor Room was quiet despite facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles Corkber, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay