We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Egans House

Booking.comUS$72*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$87*
US$72*
US$87*
US$72*
US$87*
US$72*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Egans House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Egans House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 306: English reviews
Castlebar, Ireland
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Egans house was truly a home away from home. As a family of two adults and four children it's often difficult to find appropriate accommodation. Here we were all able to sleep in the same room, it was spacious and very comfortable. There was a lovely seating area down stairs with tv, board games, tea/coffee machine, internet access, where we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louisa L
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed in this establishment twice recently and quite honestly were very disappointed overall. The first night of our stay was the 24th. Oct, we checked-in mid-afternoon and noted the room was very small but adequate. We appreciate that the extreme weather caused an overnight power-cut with the result that we were unable to use the shower the following morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael T
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had a bad time here and I apologise. The electrical power-cut was obviously due to the severe storm the previous night which caused widespread power cuts across the country. I was therefore totally pre-occupied with trying to resolve this for most of that day. I presumed incorrectly that because only 4 rooms were affected that...

Rüthen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Egans House is an excellent guesthouse with a congenial atmosphere, situated in a quiet area, only a 30 or 40 minutes footwalk away from the crowded and colorful centre of Dublin, just a stone´s throw away from historic Glasnevin Cemetery or famous Botanic Gardens or Drumcondra Station, easily to be reached from Dublin Airport. We stayed there twice, had clean...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gerlinde W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2011

A quiet, perfectly situated hotel with friendly staff and lovely rooms. The breakfasts were fantastic. Perfect if you're looking for somewhere close to the city centre without the noise and business that you'll find in the centre of Dublin. Can't recommend Egans enough, thank you for a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick W
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We, a family of 5 stayed here when stopping through Dublin. Our room was right up the top with 5 of us in the room, but we still had enough room! Our hot water didn't work, and we were given another key to another room to use the shower anytime plus 2 bottles of wine as an apology! Also, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patkym
Auckland New Zealand
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at Egans house twice on our visit to Ireland. The first room was a bit small, but clean and comfortable, but the second room was massive. Breakfast was excellent both visits and we are happy to recommend this establishment to everyone. Liz

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz M
Cheshire
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here as a stop over between a holiday in Donegal and getting the ferry from Dun Laoghaire. We wanted a room to sleep all 5 of us together which is always a bit of a struggle! Egans family room was great. It is in the attic but my 6'3" husband managed without banging his head! The room had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SunnyDayLucy
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here up the recommendation of others - sadly that was ten years ago and it appears not a Euro has been spent on the place since then. My girlfriend had doubts as soon as we walked through the main entrance. The place looked tired, the lounge furniture out-dated and it was gloomy. We stayed in room 22 and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julian d
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review

I reject entirely all that you have said about the room.It is a standard double room of 3* guesthouse standard. It has a large bathroom with a large opening window, separated from the bedroom by a lobby. When you found that there was a problem with the room you should have told the receptionist immediately and you would have been...

Kansas City, MO
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We arrived in Dublin much later than we anticipated and had dinner with friends. I called Egan's and the person I spoke with on the phone was very pleasant and said we could check in as late as midnight. This is a benefit for us as we are usually just winging it on vacation and don't know what time we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank momof8LS
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Egan's House was a nice stay, though if I ever return to Dublin I'd try to find something more... short person friendly? If you're vertically stunted like me (4"11) you might have a little trouble. I had to stand on the toilet just to be able to see myself in the bathroom mirror and the shower is very tall and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adzthealien

340 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
2:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (185)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (19)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (22)
Viewed
Super Family Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (30)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 162 in Dublin
854 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#24 of 162 in Dublin
620 reviews
ABC House
#25 of 162 in Dublin
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 162 in Dublin
252 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#18 of 162 in Dublin
329 reviews
The Marilyn Mansion
#54 of 162 in Dublin
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a quiet residential area, Egans House is an elegant terrace of Edwardian houses. The 23 bedrooms of the guesthouse are en-suite with all modern facilities and much more to cater to all your needs ensuring that your stay has been a comfortable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Egans House

Address: 7 Iona Park | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $104 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Egans House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Egans House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egans House Hotel Dublin
Egans Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Egans House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Egans House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“#44 was lovely but with a little noise from upstairs, though it wasn't bothersome”
Csaba44, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the main floor and would recommend it as there is no lift!”
Adraval, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top floor - very private”
imeldafay2017, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would avoid the two rooms in the top, under the roof, because in case of emergency you're stuck!!”
helmav2016, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 27 is the centre of the noise!”
605tamsinm, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$72* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$72
TripAdvisorUS$72
Hostelworld.comUS$87
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates