We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse

Booking.comUS$157*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$157*
US$156*
US$156*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 384: English reviews
west ireland
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

Have eaten many times at O' Neills. Great selection of meals daily. Carvery served till late which is great if you fancy something wholesome after a few pints instead of fast food!! MASSIVE portions and great quality. Great beer too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Back home, I was never impressed by the Irish stew that they serve in the Irish pubs. they are usually potato in a think Campbell's soup like chicken base with some beef and carrots. it feels like the Irish pub proprietors are still suffering from the potato famine and they cant afford making the stew with ingredients that are so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldbutcool
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

For Irish stew, this place is hard to beat. The traditional vibe is a big draw too. I had the lamb shank and it was delicious. Great value into the bargain. Shane about the large TVs playing sport. I don't think they were necessary. Talking to each other was much nicer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and I must point out that we seldom put on the TV and only for big sporting events.

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

I had wonderful corned beef at O'Neills with all kinds of sides and a great beer selection. My friend had the daily special sausages and they were amazing. We were tempted to come back multiple times during our visit to Dublin! It's a solid spot for a good, hearty meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the corned beef and hope you will return some day for more of the same

RI
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We had stayed at O'Neills 8 yrs ago and were happy to return. We had a lovely triple room and were well taken care of by our host. It is in a great location for getting around Dublin (just behind Trinity College) and was a 5 minute walk from the bus stop where we landed from Tralee. Easy arrangements to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Conlet
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and delighted that you came back here on your return visit to Dublin 8 years on, we hope to see you again in the near future.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Was here four nights early October with my g.f. Had stayed previously FIFTEEN years ago and was pleased to see that Jerry, Maurice and Hughie have kept the place up nicely. Is strictly B&B: rooms are on small side but not cramped; everything is clean and the bathrooms are nicely modernized and roomy. Lovely sunny breakfast room with cheerful staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kristy77a
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Great to see you back again after fifteen years and delighted that you both enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for staying with us once again while in Dublin and we hopefully look forward to a future visit from you when next in Dublin.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 October 2015

My family and I stayed in the annex suite for 2 nights during our stay in Dublin. It was located across the street from the main building, directly next to train tracks and a pub. Needless to say, it was quite noisy at night. Overall, the 3-bedroom 1 bath suite fit our needs. It was relatively clean and in a...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Anna L
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Sometimes we get it wrong, things happen for whatever reason minor mishaps or delays balloon out of proportion into huge inconveniences, despite our best efforts we failed to rectify the situation to the guest's satisfaction on a number of issues. Sometimes in this business we come across people who are completely unreasonable in their demands, however this can be good...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

We just returned from Dublin after a four night stay and we had a fantastic time. O'Neils Victorian townhouse was a lovely place to stay. Close to everything shops, nightlife. Rooms very spacious, clean and comfortable. Fabulous breakfast. We would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank melanie d
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments but we are indeed fortunate to have had so many lovely people stay with us over the years, and having people like yourselves stay makes our jobs so worthwhile.

Carmel, California
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We tried getting in here for dinner on a Friday night. It was a madhouse of exuberant drinkers. There were no tables to be had, so we were very surprised when we returned on Saturday evening to try again and it was very quiet with a number of empty tables. Apparently Friday night is the night to celebrate the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoelle
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

I am glad you took the time to come back the next night and eat here and that you so enjoyed your evening with us.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 October 2015

This was a great place to stay in Dublin. The rooms are over a pub, but really didn't hear that much, even with the windows open. If you are a light sleeper, then this might not be the place for you. But if you are up for a great and different place to stay, then I recommend O'Neills . P.S....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beccalynn32
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (166)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (38)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,308 reviews
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,795 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,404 reviews
0.8 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,238 reviews
0.7 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the city opposite Trinity College, and only a 5 minute walk to Dublin's premier shopping streets, art galleries, theatres and night life. O'Neill's (established 1885) offers top class accommodation, traditional pub food and great Irish craft beers & whiskeys. The O'Neill family have run this pub for over a hundred years and pride themselves in the warm and friendly welcome they offer their guests. With 8 beautifully appointed en suite rooms guest's can choose between twin, double or triple rooms, or for bigger groups - our family suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse

Address: 36-37 Pearse St, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $211 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse Hotel Dublin
o`Neills Victorian Pub And Townhouse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no accessibility for the disabled, great for 5 adults,”
lbtravels18, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Possibly ask for a room not on the front street. Not sure if that is possible.”
keke696, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do NOT stay in the "suite".”
jneaner03, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great location. Not right on top of the bustle, but close enough to walk.”
717jackh, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great food for a fair price.”
O8288ZGrobs, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$157* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$156
TripAdvisorUS$156
PricelineUS$157
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates