We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Dawson Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 611: English reviews
Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We stayed in this hotel on the 21st March 2015, we found the staff very helpful and friendly and could not do enough for us, it is in a great location, just a very short walk from St Stephens Green, Grafton Street, The Gaiety, Marco Pierres restaurant and the Setanta car park, The Hotel paid towards the car park which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
Gorey
Reviewed 13 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed here recently with my mam. It was a lovely hotel but there is no lift, only from the bar. Not recommended if you can't manage stairs very well. There is a nightclub attached. We asked for a quiet room so we wouldn't hear the noise and we were on the third floor to be away from music which meant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ClareMcG123
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Stayed here for one night (Monday night) found the experience to be perfectly acceptable and would stay in this hotel again. The room i was given was well appointed and clean. Check in service was excellent. For me the best thing about this hotel is the location, my room was at the rear of the hotel and as a result...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul R
Ann O, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review The Dawson Hotel & Spa. Your kind comments will be passed on to our staff who are highly focussed on offering excellent customer care. The location is ideal being in the heart of Stephen's Green. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 7 March 2015

We had the unfortunate pleasure of staying here on Saturday night. To say we were disappointed would be an understatement. We were down for the rugby and looking at the website for the hotel we thought we were in for a luxurious weekend break. I had phoned during the week to book dinner in the restaurant only to be told...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Night-train88
Ann O, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay with us. The bedrooms are serviced daily unless there is a Do Not Disturb sign on the door, We are working to improve standards in our bedrooms and have put new duvets and pillows on each bed for our guests comforts as part of a...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Shocking hotel the worst I have ever stayed in.Room 310 to be avoided at all cost dirty carpet dirty paint work torn curtains shower works occasionally no one cleaned room.Receptionist at check on hearing complaint says she will pass them totally not interested.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank eamonnfr
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

I've never stayed in the hotel but the spa is definitely worth visiting. They have an extensive list of treatments and they use organic Irish products. I can definitely recommend their facials and massages. My friend had a milk bath which from what I was amazing. It's a quiet and relaxing - simply a great way to spend an afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJJVVV
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Stayed here when it was La Stampa and had a great time! For this reason we booked it again. We had a terrible experience. Noise level was unbearable! We had to get out of bed at half twelve and ask to be moved to another room. They did move us but the room we were given had lights that didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Pmkr
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2015

When this hotel was La Stampa, it was glorious. The staff were friendly & accommodating and the facilities in the hotel were endless. Now it's the Dawson, 'they' have changed the lay out of the hotel which will find guests having to walk up 2 flights of stairs to get to reception. On arrival you need to search for hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Jenna A
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2015

The hotel has taken a severe downturn since its La Stampa Days. The reception upstairs is poorly sign posted and inconvenient. I'm 5 months pregnant and whilst there was a porter to take my case to my room, I had to get up two flights of stairs to check in by myself! The resturant was closed - also very inconvenient...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jessica S
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 February 2015

Very nice hotel, very cool and excellent location. I stayed here with friends on NYE and was pleasantly surprised how nice it was. Two complaints though our room was extremely hot with the window open all night we couldn't get the aircon working properly and then we only had cold water! When i called reception about this i was told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen N
Ann O, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your kind comments on The Dawson Hotel & Spa. The water issue you experienced was sorted out as quickly as possible. Heating is individually controlled by hand held remote controls and our porters are always happy to reset should it prove too warm. We apologises for the issues you experienced. Please contact me directly should...

844 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (593)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Classic Double (99)
Viewed
Classic Twin (103)
Viewed
Deluxe Junior Suite (100)
Viewed
Moroccan Suite (140)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,154 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,349 reviews
The Morgan
#32 of 150 in Dublin
2,561 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. A buffet breakfast service is available each morning, from 07.00 - 10.30 Monday to Friday and 08.00 – 11.00 at the weekends, served with orange juice, tea and coffee at our adjoining tenant The Seafood Bar restaurant (located at the Ground Floor of the Hotel). The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $164 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dawson Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Dawson Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rear and 3rd floor to avoid noise of adjoining bar and night club especially at weekends”
 of 5 bubbles allisons618, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The junior suite was quite nice and very well priced, For the few extra dollars it is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Seafoodtraveler, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles lulie_12, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beware the stairs and ask does room have a view”
 of 5 bubbles 1998hanjon, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the top floor and still noisey”
 of 5 bubbles michaeldO2263VL, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay