We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Expedia.comUS$221*
View Deal
#50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,212: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very central and I think in comparison to other hotels, reasonably priced. Hotel has no parking facilities but they offer a discounted rate if you park in Q parking of 17euros. Check in and out was painless. We stayed on the second floor. Room standard looking out onto the street. Room was clean and good size. Bathroom probably needs updated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimiwan
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mimiwan, Thank you for sharing your experience you had at O'Callaghan Stephens Green.It was great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the room was to your liking.I was sorry to read that WiFi was down during your stay.Our team were carrying out routine maintenance on our WiFi system to ensure it always runs...

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved this location to do all the touristy things in Dublin. St. Stephens Green, a beautiful park, and Trinity College are nearby, as is St. Patrick's Cathedral and museums. We stayed in the new wing of the hotel, which is a little tricky to get to the first time (elevator up one floor, walk through two doorways, take another elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DukeinDeerfield
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DukeinDeerfield, Thank you very much for your positive feedback.I can agree that our hotel is in a great location and just minutes walk to all major attractions which makes it very convenient for our guests. I am happy that our team could give you such a great experience and I will pass on your lovely comments. See you on...

Galway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for business & while there's no parking, it's very central, clean, reasonably priced & the staff was very pleasant. The decor is a bit tired but the room was large and clean. The bed was comfortable and spacious. There was no noise. I had an omelette for breakfast & it was fresh, hot & quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amkd
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear amkd, Thank you for your lovely review.I was glad to read that you had a good experience during your stay and that the room was to your liking.I will pass on your great comments to our team members. Looking forward to welcoming you back to O'Callaghan Stephens Green. Kind Regards, Damien Daly

Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time here though stayed in 2 hotels on St S Green. I went for a big room (suite) as staying over a week. Room had living area and bedroom as well as big bathroom. All clean, quiet and comfortable. TV just free to air. No fridge in the room. No facecloth for the bathroom. Breakfast was fine; good coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter M
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter M, Thank you for sharing your experience with us.I was delighed to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms very comfortable. Hope to see you on your next visit to O'Callaghan Stephens Green. Kind Regards, Damien Daly

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 April 2017

I recently stayed nine days at this hotel and it was very nice. Location is great, room was spacious and the bathroom large and modern. My one complaint were the pillows which I found flat and hard- the staff tried to find one more fluffy but to no avail- Overall I found the staff "bent over backwards" to be helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwilliams391
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dwilliams391, Thank you very much for your amazing review. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and that our staff looked after you very well.I will pass on your lovely comments to our team members as I am sure they will be thrilled. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to O'Callaghan...

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel is recommended and priced as a 4* hotel however we did not have this experience. The decor throughout the hotel is tired and there is no atmosphere. There were no maps of the city available and the staff could not recommend a single attraction, visit or restaurant. The room was not cleaned properly throughout our 4 day stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soku R
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Soku R, Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologise that you where not happy with your whole experience with us. I have sent you a private message on TripAdvisor and would like to follow up on your review. I look forward to speaking to you soon. Best Regards, Damien Daly

Springville, Utah
Reviewed 9 April 2017

This is a very nice hotel located in a good location in Dublin. It's within walking distance of a lot of attractions. Note: there is a new and old addition to this hotel so some of the room pics will be extremely different. I was located in a newer section of the hotel. The room was very modern with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRC24
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JRC24, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I definitely can agree that our hotel is in a great location and just minutes walk to all major attractions. Also we have multiple options of booking Breakfast which you can book at reservation stage or...

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Myself and a friend booked here for two nights in Dublin, and couldn't see why it was a four star hotel other than the tasty breakfasts and service we had in the restaurant. Check in was at 2pm and we arrived at 3 and had to wait for our room to be cleaned, claimed that "the final checks were being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harriet C
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harriet C, Thank you for your review of O'Callaghan stephens green. I was disappointed to read that you had issues with your room to which i am extremely sorry.I have passed your feedback over to our Accommodation team to ensure we keep our standards high at all times. I hope you will give us the opportunity to ensure you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We had trouble with website booking but this was sorted out efficiently and very well by Natasha Jones. Thank you very much. Various problems with our executive room (e.g. room heating and hot water supply in the mornings) were largely sorted as promptly as possible but quality of service was inconsistent at room level (e.g no dressing gowns, slippers, snacks...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hoffnungslos
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hoffnungslos, Thank you for your review of O'Callaghan stephens green.It is great to get feedback so we can ensure we keep our standards high at all times. I was disappointed to read that you had a few issues during your stay and i was delighted we were able to rectify the problems you had during your visit. i have...

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Lovely staff, the hotel, and its location exceeded our expectations. I must say good staff can make good experience the best. We selected this hotel for one night stay (couple) after confirming TripAdvisor Rating (4/5) and it was bang as per the rating. Specially the front desk officer Damien Daly took great care and was v helpful. Jakub was another...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zee344
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zee344, I was delighted to read such a wonderful review. It was our great pleasure that we could give you such a memorable experience.Also it was good to read that all staff members were very helpful during your stay with us. I can agree that our location is perfect and just a few minutes walking distance to all major...

833 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (585)
Viewed
Amenities (108)
Viewed
Classic King Room Accessible (67)
Viewed
Classic Queen Room (70)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (68)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1500 (85)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1526 (58)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,408 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $250 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“General tip/ Don't use the bus from the airport as they are digging up the roads.Taxis are good value”
SkylarkUK, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms facing the streets”
johndB6210VZ, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose the new, modern wing.”
DukeinDeerfield, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay 25€ for morning check in; early bird rate gets Jr suite for less than reg room”
dwilliams391, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you love hustle bustle of the city and traffic movement go for road side view”
Zee344, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$221* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$229
Orbitz.comUS$221
TravelocityUS$221
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates