We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amber Heights Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amber Heights Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amber Heights Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Ile Des Chenes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms and very comfortable. We stayed two nights as part of our family vacation. Breakfast was very good, adequate selection. Location was ok, somewhat close to attractions and beach. Depending on your arrival time, you may have to buzz for someone on the intercom. A bit on the expensive side.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.

Reviewed 1 October 2013

And dog friendly! Made a work trip very convenient as there was a family emergency and I had to travel with the furry friend. Rooms were lovely and so was the location. Great for evening and morning walks. Thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 321S123
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always love to see our furry little friends welcome too. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, The Staff and Management...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed on Saturday 21st September. Got off to a bad start when we couldn't hear the receptionist through the intercom system at the door..this resulted in her storming to the door and shouting at us like an an angry schoolteacher -what a bizarre welcome to the property! The room was nice , clean and well equipped with dvd, tea, coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Colm, We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and we will certainly strive to improve what you have requested and take your comments on board. We will certainly look into how you were greeted at the door and the problems...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We attended a wedding in Galway and booked this B & B for our selfs and parents.the rooms were clean fresh towels everyday. A good selection of food for breakfast including an Irish cooked breakfast! The staff were friendly and hard working the only down side it is very expensive for the accomodation 320 Euros for 3 nights! The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larkowsky123
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and we will certainly strive to improve what you have requested and take your comments on board. Your feedback is very valuable to us. The reason our prices were quite high is...

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We rented the two bedroom apartment behind the main building. On a positive note, the staff was wonderful and very accomodating. The breakfast was good. These were the bright sides and what prevented this from being rated terrible. The apartment however was tired and worn looking.The shower was tiny and had an electrical control box in it! The switch on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AMP0907
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and we will certainly strive to improve what you have requested and take your comments on board. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We hope to see you again in the...

South Carolina
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The room was TINY and loaded with pieces of furniture that were excessive, which made the room even more uncomfortable. The bathroom... was beyond small; If you have ever showered on a boat- consider THAT to be a huge shower compared to the one at Amber Heights. We wouldn't have cared about the tiny-everything if the price for the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TigerSouthCarolina
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and we will certainly strive to improve what you have requested and take your comments on board. Your feedback is very valuable to us. The reason our prices were quite high is...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had 2 nights at Amber Heights, found from doing a TripAdvisor search of B&B's in the area. The B&B is located near Salthill so you can walk to the area in around 20mins, we walked into Galway city aswell which took us about 30mins. There are bus stops very near if you want to use local transport. The B&B...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryWylie
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Mary, We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We have since made improvements in rooms that needed sprucing up. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, The Staff and Management...

Reviewed 10 June 2013

We choose this B&B for price. It's a great value! Accommodations are home-like, not particularly fancy but clean and comfortable. We were driving and had a slight problem finding the place on our GPS. I view that as the GPS's issue and not an Amber Heights issue. I'm not sure if it's convenient by bus. We had a party of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrJaneMom
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.

Dublin
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked a family room (chalet ) at Amber heights for a night in Galway. The room was spotless and had a very convenient little kitchenette so you could self cater breakfast if you wish. It was really quiet over night. We had breakfast in the main house and there was a really excelllent choice of breads, pastries, freshfruit, juices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irishgourmet
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We enjoyed a memorable stay at Amber heights last year, taking our lead from tripadvisor reviews, we booked up and drove down from Belfast for a two night stay. The Guesthouse is easy to find and well situated, the beach was about a 10 minute walk away. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and reasonably tastefully decorated, definitely not tired...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geepopalolo
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We now have staff at the B&B 24/7 who can be alerted should such incidents ever arise again. We hope to see you again in the near...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
3.4 km away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#8 of 47 in Galway
1,183 reviews
2.7 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 47 in Galway
805 reviews
0.0 km away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#18 of 196 in Galway
52 reviews
2.9 km away
Snoozles Hostel
Snoozles Hostel
#4 of 51 in Galway
368 reviews
2.6 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 51 in Galway
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amber Heights is a newly renovated (APRIL 2011) purpose built Bed & Breakfast. Located just 10 minutes walk from Salthill and the beaches of Galway Bay. Amber Heights is the gateway to the west with easy access to the picturesque landscape of Connemara, Clifden and The Cliffs of Moher. 5 Minutes drive by car or taxi will bring you to the bustling heart of Galway City. We are sure you will not find a friendlier, cleaner, or well equipped bed and breakfast in Galway. Amber Heights is a Non-Smoking B&B. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amber Heights Guesthouse

Address: 11 Cuan Glas, Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Ashton House)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $72 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Heights Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Amber Heights Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amber Heights Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Amber Heights Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need air flow, stay away from the attic rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Intotheworld7, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check the keys and the shower before accepting the room”
 of 5 bubbles 961robertob961, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If using GPS, expand map to see two parallel roads.”
 of 5 bubbles JimTVictoria_Canada, 12 Jun 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the two bed apartment at the back of the property”
  • Living room
 of 5 bubbles Nature_geek_89, 6 May 2015 | Read review
“Inside rooms seem to have the best reviews”
 of 5 bubbles Sheryl27, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5