We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Western Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
Panoramas (24)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

805 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 711: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Myself and my husband recently stayed in this hotel. Friendly staff & reception girls were very nice and helpful with directions and information!!! Our room was warm and comfortable alas the wardrobe looked a little crooked might need to be replaced? Great location just five minute walk to Eyre Square. Food was delicious (we had 3 course dinner included in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MurphyL193
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewed 10 February 2015

I stayed here one night on the way through to Newgrange. I loved the free parking, the location and the staff. The staff was excellent. I ate in the hotel restaurant for both meals, delicious. I loved the breakfast spread. Lots of menu options, including a full Irish breakfast. I left full and satisfied. The hotel retains its old atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SassyGirlJenna729
cork
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Nice location with free parking. My room was a bit dated and could have done with redecorating, BUT the for the price I paid for a single room, I would have no problem staying in the same room again. Bar food was good value. The breakfast was lovely and the staff ALL OF THEM were brilliant. A very pleasant one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BernieCastle
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 27 January 2015 via mobile

Ok not the best you need a 5 star hotel for that but this is a 3 star and is and punching above its weight, It's in a good central location and has free under ground car park something that is becoming increasingly rare in city centre hotels. There is nothing too fancy about it think more Fawlty towers without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis O
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends. We had our own apartment and it was beautiful. Was so impressive and comfortable. Well worth the money. Wish we could have stayed longer. The receptionist, Kim was very nice and helpful in telling us about galway. Location was perfect. Was very warm and clean. Will highly recommend to anyone and will definitely go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aisling B
Reviewed 18 January 2015

Stayed here for a weekend in one of their suites located at the rear of the hotel. The suite was gorgeous and extremely clean. Kim on reception was more than friendly on arrival and happy to help with anything, definitely recommend this hotel for anyone making a trip to Galway, thanks again guys!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cat-Donegal
Ireland
Reviewed 14 January 2015

This hotel ticks all boxes for me ok not 5 star but it's not advertised as such and certainly on a par with a 4 Star. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is good and there's parking. Rooms are nice & clean have everything you need. Fact is discovered it about 18 months ago and have stayed there 4...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 149
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Friendly staff, large and clean hotel room. The hotel is close to everything - very good location. The wifi works very well. My only problem was the heating - it was a bit chilly in the room. But if I go back to Galway, I will chose the same hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gyoergy
Reviewed 10 January 2015

We stayed two nights and would have been better off sleeping in the car. Our room smelled, the doorwall was broken. Beds were like rocks with sheets over them. The gal at check in was not friendly she put us in a room with no phone in the oldest part of the hotel. No one told us the doors locked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dgal33
Thewestern1, General Manager at The Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, as the vast majority of our reviews are positive, we rarely find ourselves having to respond to a review. We feel you are being unfair. The room in question has recently undergone a full refurbishment. At the rate of €49 that you have paid you availed of free car parking that costs €7-12 per day elsewhere in Galway...

Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

Booked for 1 night passing through Galway. €79, so quite a good price for a great location but the positives stop there. Whole place smelled smokey or stale (can't put my finger on which, maybe both), room was pokey, tv didn't work (no reception on basic channels) and there was no iron in room (when we called for one, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Team1608

421 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (295)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (36)
Viewed
Double Single Room (39)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (34)
Viewed
Family Room (39)
Viewed
Quad Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,598 reviews
0.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,588 reviews
2.3 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#11 of 47 in Galway
1,357 reviews
0.2 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#34 of 47 in Galway
586 reviews
0.2 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#26 of 47 in Galway
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Address: The Western Hotel 33 Prospect Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $91 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Western Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Western Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Enquire pre booking.”
 of 5 bubbles micko972, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 202.”
 of 5 bubbles Cbbi, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The apartment we stayed in was very modern and spacious, with good security.”
 of 5 bubbles thokenbar, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor apartments offer more expansive views.”
  • Part of apartment living room and kitchen.
  • quaint pub view from apartment.
 of 5 bubbles burrdjd, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask about accessibility of rooms”
 of 5 bubbles sloy2003, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5