We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dun Aoibhinn House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dun Aoibhinn House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dun Aoibhinn House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 64: English reviews
Sallins, Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

I wasn't expecting the Ritz but neither did I think from the pictures on the website that it would resemble Bleak House ! Ok it was cheap but more cheerless than cheerful .. room was small and cold .. sheets clean but mattress lumpy - a small dimplex heater was insufficient to warm the room small as it was 😔...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan T
Tatworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Booked using reviews based on Booking.com which were good. Arrived to find the owner Jim was very pleasant and friendly. Shown to our room which looked clean and tidy if a little tired. Facilities were ok, wifi good and parking excellent. Only 1 pillow each, so I went in search of Jim to request 2 more. Returned to find wife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Italy
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Little guesthouse, room was not very cleaned and general condition of the hotel was not very good (walls with humidity trace, dirty sheets, sink was in front of the bed and not in the bathroom). Spite this, the breakfast was a complete Irish one and the owner has been very gentle in providing us information to organize our stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco5872
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We were delayed arriving in Galway and as such missed the check in time. This was due to travel disruption and we couldnt call ahead due to being in the air. The response from the B&B was to leave for the evening, switch on an answering machine and leave no note at the B&B. We were unable to contact anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank powderbear2012
Dublin
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Stayed for 1 night, tiny room, dirty, mould and mildew on ceiling, upholstery on chair holed and frayed, tiny bathroom. Left very early in morning, so glad to leave. €55 per night FOR THIS!!!! Shower didn't work in the morning. Strange plumbing sounds during the night. Owner told me to help myself to breakfast in the morning as I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EamonDublin
Reviewed 18 May 2015 via mobile

Booked this place as it was the only available place left closest to my other friends accomodation for a trip to Galway. It's reasonably priced. Clean sheets. However if you are a breakfast person do not stay here as you will clearly be disappointed. The shower place leaked and I had wet floor everytime after showering. Do not expect toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Stayed in Dun Aoibhinn House B&B for 1 night while spending weekend in Galway. Very easy access, quiet road and on street parking. Walking distance to Galway City centre and all restaurants and bars, so therefore no need to spend money on taxis. Room was good size, very clean and simple. It does exactly what it says on the tin....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eva G
Ballinaglera
Reviewed 18 October 2014

Comfortable B&B in excellent location, quiet street but city centre within walking distance and free parking on site. Host very welcoming and helpful. Room had everything it needed for an overnight stay. On the downside, when booking the accomodation the website didn't alert to the fact that the "value deal" was a room only rate. You don't automatically expect that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nat2969
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It is rare that I need to write a review on any accommodation provider but I feel inclined to warn other travellers about poor and substandard accommodation. I am surprised this establishment is still in business, I stayed there last summer only one night and forfeiting my 2nd night payment and left the key. The place is not clean, smells...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank bhbjafa
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My adult Daughter and I were more than happy with our stay. Good to have off Street parking. We were greeted by the Owner who supplied us with all the information that we needed while staying in Galway, without us having to ask! From Pub food, fish & chips, different Restaurants, price ranges across the board. Pub opening and closing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fromAotearoa

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.1 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
804 reviews
0.1 km away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 km away
Donegan Court Aparthotel
Donegan Court Aparthotel
#32 of 51 in Galway
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#22 of 196 in Galway
181 reviews
0.4 km away
Galway Arms Inn
Galway Arms Inn
#141 of 196 in Galway
49 reviews
0.3 km away
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
#114 of 196 in Galway
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dun aoibhinn house is a beautifully restored period style residence in Galway city. It is located within 5minutes walk of the city centre and within 5 mins walk to the beach in Salthill, National university of Ireland(nuig)and university college hospital Galway(uchg)Dun aoibhinn house is an ideal base from which to enjoy the capital of the west and its beautiful surroundings,enjoy the wonderfull shopping on offer, go to the theatre, museum, relax and enjoy a meal in one of the citys fantastic restaurants,or visit any of the numerous city pubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dun Aoibhinn House

Address: Dun Aoibhinn 12 Saint Mary's Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $54 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dun Aoibhinn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dun Aoibhinn House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one of the larger rooms.”
  • View out the back
  • Tiny corner room
 of 5 bubbles wendys105, 23 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Small doubles are small (exactly as the name suggests) two people my like to consider the larger doubles”
 of 5 bubbles NandKWill, 5 Jun 2012 | Read review
“dont get the single room”
  • shower and sink
 of 5 bubbles 49081, 16 Aug 2011 | Read review
3 of 3