We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,585 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,549: English reviews
Start your review of Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
 Click to rate
Yuma
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was nice and spacious with a queen bed and a double. It was clean and overall comfortable. Not sure what the deal is with hotels putting only a comforter on the bed instead of a sheet and comforter or bed spread. Makes it very difficult for a "hot sleeper" like myself to get comfortable if the room gets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Waterford
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great location, 5 euro parking fee, friendly staff and clean rooms. Disappointing breakfast with cheaper quality meats and pastries that were not freshly baked. Beds were comfortable but creaked every time you turn over as they are wooden bases. Lobby area was nice to sit in with pretty decor. Okay stay but not outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Reviewed 1 week ago

top marks for this hotel,just home after 2 night stay,room spotless and bed very comfy, staff all round were very pleasent and helpfull,right in centre of town. used the pool and sauna which was very good , will definitley be bacl!!!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sinead s
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sinead s, Thank you for the lovely review and recommendation and i look forward to welcoming you back to Kilkenny and the Ormonde again soon. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall the room was very spacious, and clean. Bathroom was beautiful. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Downside no air con to control temperature, room was very cold at times. And early disappointed that there was no fridge in a suite.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 164Mary
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 164Mary, I really appreciate you taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, however, I do note your comment about the guestroom and I apologise for our shortcomings in this regard. I do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Kilkenny and the Ormonde Hotel again...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my other half stayed here for a weekend in February. We had an absolute fabulous time and would highly recommend this hotel. Staff and service was 10/10. The location is ideal and very central.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AoifeGreen
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AoifeGreen, I'm really glad that you both enjoyed your stay with us recently and thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

County Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

i recently stayed here.it was a very friendly hotel.staff were very helpful.rooms were spotless and the food was excellent,would recommend to friends and would stay here again.the Spa was lovely too.it was ideal for shops.location very good;

 Report
Helpful?
Thank molldoll51
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Molldoll51, Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel and for the great recommendation. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kilkenny and the Ormonde again soon. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Incredibly bad service. Very forgetful with orders and very slow to clean empty plates and glasses from tables. We are in a group of 7 in 4 rooms and all of us had to change rooms after checking in, for various reasons.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BigJim177m
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BigJim177m, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. I was very disappointed to read your comments, in particular about the standard of service you received. May I take this opportunity to apologise sincerely to you. Your experience obviously fell well short of the standards that we aspire to. I would really welcome the opportunity...

Ft Worth
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had originally booked another hotel in Kilkenny, however, when we arrived, that hotel was shut down for remodeling. We felt lucky because the Ormonde was just across the street from a parking garage, and within easy walking to great restaurants and pubs!! The included breakfast was simply incredible, if you didn't find anything you liked on the enormous buffet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MamawJ
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MamawJ, Thank you for the really great review and recommendation. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again to our Hotel soon. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying in this hotel for two nights for a wedding and it was perfect. The staff were wonderful and very efficient. Although i did not utilise the facilities i still had a wonderful stay and really enjoy the atmosphere

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jvee1987
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jvee1987, Thank you for the lovely review and recommendation on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed the wedding and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice hotel, clean, good breakfast. Rooms are clean and spacious. Mattress very comfortable. Hotel is very well located. I had issues with my room key each time I went to use it it wasn't working. But overall great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alina292014
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alina292014, Thank you for your very kind review and recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back to Kilkenny again soon. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

514 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (365)
Viewed
Amenities (88)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (39)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (43)
Viewed
Suite (48)
Viewed
Super Double Single Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
0.1 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,647 reviews
0.4 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,778 reviews
0.1 km away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
695 reviews
3.2 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Savour Restaurant
Savour Restaurant
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: $117 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
20 days ago
Fort Wayne, Indiana
over a year ago
2 months ago
Ferns, Ireland
2 months ago
8 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try not to get a room facing the street since they are little more noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciaaQ8116DL, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for breakfast early as they really can't cope with a full hotel”
 of 5 bubbles liamm869, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not the Bridal Suite, normal rooms are bigger and in better condition”
 of 5 bubbles carey_harte, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in room 102. Huge room. So quiet got great sleep in very comfy bed.”
 of 5 bubbles helenconway74, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Back room would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles progers747jumbo, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5