We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Celtic House B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Celtic House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 20 October 2014

This was the last stop on our Ireland tour. Aside from being a bit hard to find due to one-way streets, this is a decent, if unimpressive, B&B. The room was relatively clean, but was definitely the smallest of all the B&Bs we stayed at. Wasn't enough room for us, one large suitcase and two small carry-ons. Just extremely cramped...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BoSox0407
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Nice little B&B in Kilkenny. We had a room in the second building behind the house, nothing fancy, but clean and confortable. The owner was very friendly. The breakfest was good. The B&B is in walking distance of almost everything there is to see in Kilkenny. There is a private parking available and it's also possible to park on the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jean-Francois L
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 15 October 2014

My friend and I went on a whirlwind driving trip through Ireland and decided that we would fly by the seat of our pants and find places to stay along the way. We decided to stop in Kilkenny and found this cute B&B through our Lonely Planet guidebook. The owners John and Angela were so nice and friendly and welcomed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jessica R
Haverfordwest
Reviewed 9 October 2014

A warm and friendly welcome from the owner, John, a comfy room and a good breakfast. Although we were only there on a quick overnight stay, we could see it would be a great place to explore the town. It's on a quiet street and about 5 minutes' walk from the town centre. Parking is on the street, but it's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richard B
Westfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 October 2014

This bread and breakfast was a wonderful find for our family. The townhouse is located on a quiet side street, just minutes from the center of town, especially the Castle and Design Center. We were able to walk everywhere very quickly and easily. The hosts were great fun to meet and very accommodating to the guests. It should be noted...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alice C
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Dear Alice C, many thanks for your lovely review, it was our pleasure to have you stay here with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you got to sample some of the best of Kilkenny City. Hope to see you back this way at some point in the future and safe travels, John &...

Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We stayed here in September for one night, our family had two rooms. The carpet upstairs was horribly stained, we joked in private about what could have happened there! There was mildew in the teapot in my brother's room. There was no central area to sit with other guests, we sat outside on the step as there was only one...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Swit9
New Jersey
Reviewed 28 September 2014

After a long day of traveling we arrived two hours earlier then we were expected and the host John welcomed us and gave us our room immediately. He helped us find great places for lunch, and for live music later in the evening. The location could not have been better within minutes of town center with all the restaurants, shopping,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Njgirl877
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here and that you got to sample some of the wondrous delights of Kilkenny City. There had been a bad spill on the carpet on the landing area but we since have had it removed and replaced with brand new carpet....

Reviewed 27 September 2014

Terrible experience with Celtic house. We had booked 2 double rooms for Sat night 3 weeks in advance. When booking my credit card and phone number was taken. I got no email conformation so I called on the Thursday before we were due to arrive and was told all was ok with the rooms we booked. When we arrived to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Anna K
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Dear Anna K, this review is not accurate and is in parts untruthful! We do not or have we ever 'cancelled room, possibly to make more money', & ' I suspect they got an offer of letting out the rooms for a longer period and decided it was worth bumping our one nights accommodation so they could make more money'...

Auckland
Reviewed 25 September 2014

We had a lovely stay here, a bonus was having secure on site parking. Breakfast was excellent and in the evening John pointed us in the right direction for a pub with Irish music AND dancing, all within easy walking distance, terrific

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hagar99
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & the live music scene in Kilkenny City. Safe travels & hope to see you again in the near future, Kindest regards, Angela & John.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 September 2014

My two friends and I shared a room for two nights: beds, bath, breakfast, location all excellent. Loved talking with Angela and John. Angela even signed her book for me...in Gaelic! Love it, Angela, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mlt22
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & for taking a piece of Ireland back with you. Safe travels & hope to see you again soon, Angela & John.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
669 reviews
0.1 km away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 77 in Kilkenny
190 reviews
0.7 km away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#11 of 77 in Kilkenny
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hibernian House
Hibernian House
#41 of 77 in Kilkenny
104 reviews
0.7 km away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
0.3 km away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Address: Celtic House 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: $111 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Celtic House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Celtic House B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Let them know if you don't want to walk up a lot of stairs or have limitations.”
 of 5 bubbles trekkiecats, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Look at reviews. They offer an insight.”
 of 5 bubbles Jedelatein, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Two floors..ask for first floor if possible”
 of 5 bubbles 799annh799, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Take the top room directly under the roof, you'll have a fantastic view over the town!”
 of 5 bubbles drsaeru, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The top floor had a beautiful view of Kilkenny Castle.”
 of 5 bubbles Erin4230, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5