We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$34*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great stay at the hostel. Nice hot shower, comfy bed, spacious dorm room, nothing to really complain about! The staff was always helpful. Perfect location. An all ages hostel. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwickes5
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I was so impressed by this hostel as it was fabulously located at the quiet end of the high st and opposite some of the more authentic pubs in town. My room was ready even though I arrived at 10am and staff were really friendly. Room was basic but comfortable and had chest of drawers and towels provided. Only drawback...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tori A
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here recently with some friends! There was 8 of us in total. We could nit have asked for anymore while staying in Kilkenny Tourist Hostel. We were able to book out an 8-bed dorm that consisted of 4 bunk-beds. The room was very spacious and we weren't cramped at all. All staff members were really helpful and friendly. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciara M
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The hostel is very nice and located in the city center , closed to all the shops . Staff are friendly and the whole place looks traditional , rooms are cleaned and the showers are hot . I meet some some beautiful people over there !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Came here with a group of international students (40 people). It was relatively inexpensive. The room was average for a hostel - seemed quite clean. The only downside is that we were having a bit of 'craic' in the shared living room in the evening and got kicked out around 10pm. It was just a little bit awkward as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanna J
Pollock Pines, California
Reviewed 13 September 2016

When we arrived, we were happy to see that we were right in town and able to walk everywhere! We had such a lovely time in beautiful Kilkenny. The staff at the hostel was very polite and we expected on a Friday night that everyone would be loud and we probably would have trouble sleeping but everyone was just as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane and Dave S
Köln
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

The hostel is perfectly situated in the town center, so that everything could be reached by food. The common room as well as the kitchen have a nice atmosphere. Besides the spat out gum on the floor besides my bet and the carpet in the bedrooms I liked the hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ikear
Canton of Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Centrally located, with very friendly and helpful staff, small, but nice rooms, surprisingly quiet, a friendly atmosphere, self-catering possible. We stayed in the family room (four people). A place to recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrischris211
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Staff was very rude and intimidating I came back at 8 o'clock in the morning to sleep until 10 when we had to check out and because my friends brought one guy back to stay in the room where there was a spare bed we were rudely a woken by the staff and we had to get changed straight away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly P
miss A, Manager at Kilkenny Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for letting us know your experience of staying with us. I think your comment regarding your friends bringing guys back and being noisy is explanation enough as to why you were asked to leave early. We do not tolerate this and aim to deal with it as efficiently as possible so that other paying guests are not inconvenienced....

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Lovely hostel in an old building. It was interesting wondering around this building trying to imagine what a house it must have been, once upon a time! They have turned it into a hostel but you can still feel the character of the old house. The place was really clean, the kitchen nice and bright, staff very friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SmagP

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.5 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.7 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,698 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,623 reviews
0.5 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
714 reviews
0.5 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel is the best located Hostel in Kilkenny with great low prices, the friendliest staff and lots of guests from all over the world to socialise with. There's a mix of dormitories and private rooms, free WiFi and computer access, a fully equipped kitchen to cook in, tea and coffee, and lots of information on how to see Kilkenny like a local. Plus there's free lockers, free towels, and a cheap laundry service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Address: 35 Parliament Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: $42 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kilkenny Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kilkenny Tourist Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd go for top floor as kitchen and common room on ground floor is hub for socialising and sound travels...”
toria2014, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 11 is the cosiest room, but stay downstairs in the big dorm if you want wi-fi in the room. It's dodgy anywhere else.”
352heatherm, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The wifi did not reach the rooms, you had to be downstairs”
453amandae, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“road next to room can be a bit loud but nice other wise...”
jordanleew, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“If your looking to have a quieter sleep try get a room at the back of the hostel.”
molliep293, 14 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$34* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$66
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates