We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Breaffy Woods Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Breaffy Woods Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Breaffy Woods Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Checked in on Saturday night last and paid €94 room only. Receptionist Christina was friendly. Gave us a family room 4 beds that had terrible mattresses. Room was Worn looking. Christina said the hotel was 'family friendly'. I could see that by the wear and tear in the room. I knew I should have checked the room before I paid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sean M
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sean M. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay, we welcome all feedback as this helps us improve our level of service and standards. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us, it is a pity that one of the management team did not get to speak with...

Reviewed 4 October 2016

I recently organised a group booking of 42 people to stay in the hotel for 2 nights to include breakfast and dinner on both days. From the time of our arrival we were warmly greeted by a guy named Kamol who went out of his way to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Some of our group had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martina S
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martina S, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay, it was a pleasure to host you and your group, i have passed on your lovely kind words to all the team especially Kamel. It is always so nice to get such feedback of all departments at the Resort. The team and I...

limerick
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We booked in for two nights. The rooms are large and comfortable but feels a little dark. It is a hotel for sport enthusiasts. Staff were very helpful. My only disappointment was I had decided to eat in the bar for my last evening and it was a mad house. It was loud with screaming children running around. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clevercat123
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clevercat123, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay, i was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. Due to the size of our rooms and our entertainment at night we get a lot of families staying with us and sometimes this can lead to the bar been quite busy or...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

At first appearance, the hotel looks very posh. Once inside, I couldn't help but feel like the "posh" was just a surface thing. Our room was on the second floor. Walking down the hall on the old red, rippled carpet, there is this smell that I can't quite put my finger on but its very unpleasant. It's also very noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 49nosuggestionsfound
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 49nosuggestionsfound, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Breaffy Resort, i was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, i apologize sincerely for this. We take all feedback very seriously both positive and negative and this allows us to improve our offering. I have spoken to...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

so we arrived to the hotel and when we got to the room it was freezing! we messed with the thing on the bottom of the radiator to see if it was turned off on that . we turned it all the way up and said wed give it a chance. For dinner we had to leave this hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annette W
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annette W, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Breaffy House Resort, i was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay and i apologize sincerely for that. I would be very gratefull if you could contact Michael Yates Deputy General Manager with your own contact details so we can discuss your...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We tried to book at their sister hotel but no luck so knew that this is a family hotel rather than a couples hotel. On check in I went to the room to realise it was not the accesible room I had asked for. We were given an accesible room but it had a lovely view over the waste bins...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lin652015
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lin652015, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Breaffy Resort. It was regret that i read that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay at Breaffy Woods Hotel, for this i offer my sincere apologies, we always take on board all feedback that we receive both positive and negative and...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Portions are very small and expensive for what you get in Breaffy Woods for adults and kids menu. Apart from that, great for a family visit. Facilities and staff are child orientated but food lets it down. Pool is good and clean. Magician is brilliant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cormac D
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cormac D Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Breaffy Woods Hotel. I am pleased to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and made good use of the facilities during your visit. I regret to hear you were not entirely satisfied with the food and I...

Co. Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights last week in one of the Residences. They are so well laid out with lots of room. Kids entertainment in the Woods Bar every evening was great, Kids really enjoyed the Magic Dan & Captain Jack shows. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. We also had cooking facilities in our room so didn't need to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barcarolafan1
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barcarolafan1 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Breaffy House Resort. I am delighted to hear you and your family had a wonderful time with us here during your stay and that you all had an enjoyable experience at the entertainment shows. Captain Jack, Magic Dan and all the crews go...

Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 12 August 2016

On arrival receptionists were extremely helpful and friendly and booked us in immediately, Myself, my husband and two kids were assigned a nice clean family room, however during our first night on getting into bed we soon realised that the mattress had seen better days extremely uncomfortable and we just couldn't sleep but on complaining the next morning we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank donna h
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna H, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at Breaffy Resort, i was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, i apologize sincerely that the manger on duty did not deal with your complaint in an efficient and friendly manner, this is certainly not our up to our usual...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

On arrival the hotel reception hadn't our booking in their system and after a 30 minute wait while they were faffing about trying to find us a room. I asked for my money back. Which at first was refused to me by the receptionist, who I might add was totally incompetent. She was joined by the hotel manager who seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Daragh M
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darragh M. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, i do apologize that on arrival you were not dealt with in a sufficient manner. Unfortunately sometimes depending on where bookings are made through 3rd party sites we might not have received the bookings, it is with regret that you feel the staff were incompetent and unprofessional,...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
1.8 km away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
806 reviews
18.0 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
776 reviews
0.0 km away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
#5 of 8 in Castlebar
44 reviews
15.3 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
1,195 reviews
16.5 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Breaffy Woods Hotel

Address: Station Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Price Range: $83 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breaffy Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Breaffy Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breaffy International Sports Castlebar
Hotel Breaffy International Sports
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Breaffy Woods Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Duhollow, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Specify if you wish to have a room with a Bath.”
 of 5 bubbles goodchoice, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask to be away from the bar area.”
 of 5 bubbles clevercat123, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“None of the rooms have nets so you are overlooked anywhere on the frontor back”
 of 5 bubbles lin652015, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pool is across the car park at Breaffy house”
 of 5 bubbles Bat100, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay