We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clayton Hotel Sligo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clayton Hotel Sligo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Sligo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a famiy meal in the restaurant here and i was very disappointed, I order the roast beef and what came out was beef that must having been stewing all morning. Don't know if the staff carried over from the Clarion but i hadn't any disappointed experiences when it was the clarion. Can do better

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have just returned from a hen weekend here. It's the second hen party I have attended here and it was great! The building itself is very impressive! From arrival to check out I loved this place. The bar staff are top class!! Cillían and Trevor couldn't have been nicer! Lovely place can't wait to return!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sinéad M
ClarionSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Sinead, Thank you so much for your kind review. Thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have mentioned your kind words to both Trevor and Cillian and indeed all the bar team, who are very grateful. We are currently investing heavily in redecorating as you will have noticed. We will continue to do so in the coming...

Malahide, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed recently for two nights here. We had a great time, The lovely staff upgraded our family room to a 2 bedroom suite and made our weekend. The breakfast and dinner was nice. The pool was great and the staff had great knowledge about the area. Only about 3 min drive into Sligo town and with numerous places to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
ClarionSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Louise, Thank you so much for your kind review. Thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The chefs are very happy to hear you enjoyed the new menus we have in place. I have mentioned your kind words to all staff members, who are very grateful. We are currently investing heavily in redecorating as you will have noticed....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself & my partner stayed here last week, I had booked before looking at the reviews, thank god. I wasn't expecting what we got. The hotel was lovely inside and out, we really were delighted with it. All the staff we met were very nice and very helpful. The beds were so comfortable & the room was perfect. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
ClarionSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Pamela, Thank you so much for your kind review. Thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have recently upgraded the leisure facilities and ClubVitae have really raised the bar with the standards applied and products used. It is great to receive this positive feedback. The chefs are very happy to hear you enjoyed the new menus we...

Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was taken away here by my bf for a one nite stay and I have to say the hotel is impressive from the outside.... so checked in efficiently and up to the room we went only to open the door into a huge room ... with twin beds! 😶 he had booked a double 🙄 so back down we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie-anne5532
ClarionSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Julie-Ann5532, Thank you both for choosing to stay with us here during your recent trip to Sligo. Let me try to address some of your issues raised by your review. Apologies for the mishap in which you were placed in the wrong room. You did note however that when you made us aware at reception, our staff member dealt...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed in the Clayton in sligo previously when it was the Clarion and had an amazing experience. This was the reason I booked it again. It is a very impressive hotel on arrival but we were greeted with a very grumpy looking receptionist but I could see past that. Our room was on the second floor, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 007laura007
ClarionSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear 007laura007, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Sligo. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a hotel under transition so hopefully issues will be addressed as they get themselves sorted but it's still shabby in places at the moment. Most of this is liveable with but they've missed a huge trick with the beds. They're old and uncomfortable - most definitely not 4 star standard. I know the new management have only been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tmme
ClarionSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Tmme, We are all thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us here and we appreciate your kind review. We are actually replacing the beds at present in a phased manner. Some are already in place and others are arriving on a weekly basis. We are currently investing heavily in the premises which is already noticeable in our corridors, meeting...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was on business in Sligo so invited the family along as they where on mid term. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was awful! Fish in batter was heavy and hard to eat ! My wife ordered dominoes pizza for night two!( says it all) There is no relaxing area for families either...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brightsparks1
ClarionSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am wondering if you brought this to the attention of either the waiting staff or management team? We have generally being getting favourable reviews about our food and had there been an issue pointed out it would have been rectified. We did indeed have music midweek to cater for the busy mid-term school period. outside the bar...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed over the midterm break and could not praise the hotel and staff highly enough. The family suite was wonderful...we needed an extra bed and got two, which were delivered promptly and with no fuss. We have four kids and felt welcome and appreciated at all times. Had such fun with crazy golf, pool was warm, as were changing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seoirsin
ClarionSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Seoirsin, Thank you so much for your lovely review of our premises. We look forward to welcoming you back any time you are in the Sligo region. The staff appreciate all the kind words. Any needs such as extra cutlery will be quickly resolved by calling a member of our reception team. We have recently changed our name to...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Clarion is situated on an old institution just outside Sligo City. It has the potential to be a magnificent hotel. However from the time of our arrival service was poor. The receptionist was surly, made an error with my CC and I had to phone my bank to realise that the error was hers. There is no information/welcoming pack...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Micheál H
ClarionSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Micheal, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.3 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,538 reviews
2.9 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
337 reviews
1.3 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
387 reviews
9.1 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Hotel Clarion Road, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range: $87 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Clayton Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Hotel Sligo staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Galway, Ireland
Islington
Belfast, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Hotel Sligo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Large size rooms & great food”
 of 5 bubbles GarryOC, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Excellent family suites...but a bit of a walk from reception!”
 of 5 bubbles Seoirsin, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any room, any floor.”
 of 5 bubbles mayOgirl_11, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a clear view of the mountains. On a clear day the view is astounding and you will never forget it in your life”
 of 5 bubbles 383nassera, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“bring a hot water bottle with you”
 of 5 bubbles MorganOF, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5