We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Viking Hotel Waterford

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Viking Hotel Waterford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Viking Hotel Waterford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 434: English reviews
Dublin
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our 7th visit to the viking, I dont know why I did not review it before, the hotel is located on the Cork road at the first roundabout on the way out of Waterford, which makes it the ideal location for touring, Tramore, Passage east, Dunmore East, Kilmeaden mini train, all in easy reach of the viking as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stewartgerry7
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Gerry and Mary thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Viking Hotel. Your kind comments are much appreciated. I have passed on your comments to Louise at the front desk, about whom we often receive glowing references. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel...

cork
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Ridiculous painting going on in the hotel during peak season. Very disturbing especially with young children and the smell of paint. Sheer madness. It's not fair in guests, painting should be done during off peak season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah_hogan
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Sarah_Hogan, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Viking Hotel. As you mentioned we completed a refurbishment programme in the hotel, which included the lobby and the restaurant area. We do use odourless paint and try as much as possible to carry out any refurbishment out of season, and during times where guests...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my son as he was running in the all irelands the next day. check in was fine ,nice frendly staff. Everthing looked lovely from the foyer to the rooms to the restaurant. But my problem occured at night. Myself & my son were trying to go to sleep early (10:00) but there was alot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john b
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear John B thank you for taking the time to review your stay during February. Throughout each winter we carry out a refurbishment programme, and you'll be glad to hear that your room was upgraded since you last stayed. A further refurbishment programme is planned for the coming winter. I hope your son got the result he was looking for...

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at Viking hotel with a visitor from India and we had an excellent stay on all counts. We were very busy getting ready for a major presentation and the hotel went out of their way to help us any way they could. We stayed at some hotels on our way after that in both Ireland and Brussels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear James C, thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at the Viking Hotel. We're glad that we were able to assist in making your business trip as comfortable as possible. We hope to welcome you back to Waterford again the next time you are in Waterford. Kind regards Aideen Murphy Sales Manager

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If, like me, you're a petrolhead, then this is the hotel for you as it's based in the centre of Waterford's car showrooms. Look in any direction and you'll see showrooms for Audi, Ford, Dacia, Renault, Honda, Volvo etc. The hotel is quite spacious and the rooms are large and clean. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesie67
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Jamesie67, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Viking Hotel. Your comments have been passed to the departments concerned and in particular, the Kitchen Brigade have taken on board your comments regarding breakfast. The hotel as you stated, is situated on the Cork Road, close to the industrial estates, WIT, Whitfield...

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Arrived 8:30pm and was met at reception by a lovely girl. No problems checking in and we had a room on the ground floor. It was a triple room but we only booked at double, was a pleasant surprise. Only complaint would be the bar was open but we felt unwelcome when going in to get a drink well before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeaneE
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear LeaneE, thank you for taking the time to review your recently stay at the Viking Hotel. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments, including the fact that you were refused drinks in the bar. This should never have happened. It is certainly not our policy to close the bar early. I can only apologise for this. I...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband a friend and myself stayed in this lovely on 10th June 2014. We were greeted with a lovely welcome from the very friendly lady on reception. We had very comfortable spacious rooms with really big beds. The evening meal and breakfast were delicious, could not fault this hotel at all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Margaret D thank you for your review of your stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. We're glad to hear we made your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again in Waterford. Kind regards Aideen Murphy

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Only stayed 1 night, room was spacious clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast the following morning was a buffet, husband was delighted had 2nd and 3rd helpings☺ staff were friendly and helpful, it is a few miles out of the town but location for me was ideal

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Melissa M thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm glad you both enjoyed your time here and it's good to hear the breakfast buffet was enjoyed by your husband. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Aideen Murphy

Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed 1 night at this hotel and were more than happy with the facilities. We didn't mind that it wasn't walking distance to the centre of town as we were driving anyway. Parking was easy although not under cover. We are dinner in the restaurant and it was good food at a reasonable price. The best experience though was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJWTweedHeadsNSW
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear DJWT Tweed Heads thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Viking Hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you were unwell during your stay, but glad to hear AnnMarie was able to assist. I'll pass on your comments to her. We hope that you are on the mend again and look forward...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 6 June 2014

i stayed 2 nights at this hotel,Unfortunately i was feeling bit unwell before we went to the viking and as we had voucher which was almost expired we decided to chance it and hope everything would be ok the rooms were lovely the showers were brilliant and their was a great choice for breakfast .However instead of improving i got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nuala F
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Nuala F Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Viking Hotel. I'm sorry that you were unwell while you were at the hotel, but glad to hear that Danny came to your rescue. I hope you'll come back again during the summer when you are feeling better and can enjoy all that Waterford has to...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
4.6 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,048 reviews
3.9 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
987 reviews
4.2 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,088 reviews
4.5 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,022 reviews
4.2 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range: $72 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Viking Hotel Waterford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I prefer rooms overlooking the Car Park.”
 of 5 bubbles brendanst, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just Specify What Kind of Room you require and the Staff will help you out, But Every Room in the Hotel is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ad038, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the vending machines which are near the lift”
 of 5 bubbles AnneM124, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Free Parking is a plus”
 of 5 bubbles MaryMunster, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to executive room!”
 of 5 bubbles WonderfulB, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay