We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viking Hotel Waterford

Expedia.comUS$108*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Viking Hotel Waterford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Viking Hotel Waterford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 470: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Rude staff at reception very abruptly checked us in went for lunch in the bar food took almost an hour and the bar was not busy. Also staff having an argument behind the bar while we were paying for food. Not close to town and no late bar for residents. Would not recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norah S
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

HI Norah S Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience whiling staying with us . I noticed that you stayed with us last November ,we upgraded our systems in the middle of November and i cant seem to find what date you stayed on as...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Fab place, ideal location, great staff, food was perfect. Very clean, modern & spacious. Great atmosphere & very friendly staff, very helpful. I can't say enough good things about this lovely hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yellow R
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Gitoverit Thank you for great review of your hotel.We pride ourselves on giving all our customers the old fashion Irish Welcome from start to finish.We are delighted that your enjoyed your time with us.Thank you for taking the time to send in your review.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Darren Byrne

Carlow, Ireland
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Stayed here for 1 night on business, easy access from the motorway with free parking which is a plus. Prompt check in, rooms spacious and clean. Had food in the bar, plenty of choice on the menu. Good nights sleep, hotel is located outside of town so no noise from the street late at night Breakfast was great, plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank molaszka
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi molaszka Thank you for taking the time to send us in your review of your recent stay with us.I am glad you enjoyed your stay.I will pass on your kind comments to our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards Darren Byrne

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Recently had carvery lunch at this hotel. Food was ice cold and tasteless. Tables were filthy and full of plates. Staff were too busy chatting to each other and showing each other stuff on their phones to bother cleaning up obviously. Unfortunately the worst carvery lunch i have ever had. Complete waste of money!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryi
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Maryi Thank you for your feedback , I am sorry we did not live up to our usual high standards on when you were here for lunch which i would like to apologise for.I take this matter very seriously and will have a full investigation about the staff's conduct on the day in question .Can you please contact me...

Carlow, Ireland
Reviewed 6 March 2017

very friendly staff, great food and clean spacious bedrooms.my second visit and i recommend it for a peaceful break. its just off the ring road and away from the busy center. not for young families as there is no swimming pool or gym or kids activity area but for relaxing its perfect. special mention to sarah on the desk as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joerooney
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi joerooney Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.I am delight that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to unwind and relax.I will pass on your kind words about Sarah on reception.Thank you fro choosing the Viking Hotel for your recent visit to Waterford and hope to welcoming you...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 March 2017

The Viking hotel is a good hotel for the business traveler - clean, modern room; easy to get to via car and has parking; perhaps a bit far from the tourist attractions for some. I've traveled to Waterford many times over the past 2+ years and this is my first stay at the Viking Hotel. It is a modern hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steveokeefeMA
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi steveokeefeMA Thank you for sending your review.We do have a lot of business travelers staying with due to our location which is ideal for them as we have free parking onsite and have easy access to all major roads. There is a bus stop located down the road which will drop you to the city.Tank again for taking the...

dublin
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Stayed in the Viking Hotel on Friday 24 February with my other half and two kids. I was a bit surprised by the location but the hotel itself was lovely. The rooms were spacious, clean and the beds were so comfy. The biggest asset this hotel has is its staff, from the girl on reception to the waiting staff, nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smore2102
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi smore2101 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here in the Viking Hotel.We are very lucky with the staff we have here in the hotel and pride ourselves on giving every guest the renowned Irish Welcome and the home away for home feel. We...

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely clean hotel, staff very friendly and courteous, only gripe was our food at dinner, so disappointing and nearly inedible, the sirloin steak was mainly fat and gristle also cold in centre of what was supposed to be a medium cooked one, my fish and chips were also not up to standard, batter was soggy because was put on top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franandbren
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Franandbren Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us but the food didn't live up up to the rest of your stay. I have passed on your feedback to our head chef and i will be investigating your comments to make sure that this doesn't happen again.I am...

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Having looked at pictures of the hotel prior to arrival and seeing its location amongst car sales showrooms we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The hotel is modern and clean. The rooms are spacious with large tv's. We had dinner in the bar and while the food was fine we had to keep looking for service. When we asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Joe M Thank you for sending in your feedback.I glad that you were pleasantly surprised when you arrived and that you enjoyed your stay. I have took on board your comments about the service and have made a few changes to the breakfast buffet, i apologise that your service was not up to our usual high standard.We look forward...

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend and we were delighted with our stay! We were especially impressed by the evening meal which was just sensational. Would highly recommend staying here if you want a casual and relaxed few nights away

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ali S
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Ali S Thank you for review.I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you both were impressed by our bar food.Thanks again for taking the time to send in your great review. We look forwarding to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards Darren Byrne

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
4.6 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,120 reviews
3.9 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,341 reviews
4.0 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,258 reviews
3.9 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,067 reviews
4.5 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range: $81 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Viking Hotel Waterford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“upper floor quietest”
97Foodlover, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“we requested a room away from main road, which we got”
LindaFiona, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in 320 and family were in 319 these rooms were great as there are only 3 floors.Only thing was we overlooked the car workshops.”
georgetQ376TE, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I prefer rooms overlooking the Car Park.”
brendanst, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just Specify What Kind of Room you require and the Staff will help you out, But Every Room in the Hotel is quiet”
ad038, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$108* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$112
TravelocityUS$108
Hotwire.comUS$108
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates